Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexican Bean Hotpot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Bean Hotpot

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2013

      Good! But this tastes very similar to Spicy Black-Eyed Pea Skillet, which is much faster to make. I was disappointed because I was looking for something different. I would like to tweak it so the sweet chili sauce is a more pronounced flavor in the final dish.<br/>5/24/13: Better- 1/4 cup sweet chili sauce, smoked paprika instead of cumin, and a tablespoon of bbq sauce. A whole different recipe, I guess... but very delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Who would think that kidney beans could taste so good? Not only was it delicious, but the chunkiness of the vegetables and bits of bacon made this have a great "mouth-feel". I used a green capsicum which added contrast to the red beans. tomatoes, and orange carrots. It went very nicely with tacos made from Mexican Beef and Cheesy Salsa Rice. Thamks bluemoon downunder. Made for Ali Baba's Babes for ZWT5 and will make this way again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      absolutely lovely recipe! apart from cutting down the portions I followed the recipe to a T! made a perfect accompaniment with pork sweet chilli burgers! Thank you bluemoon. Makes the beans in Blazing saddles look tame!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      I loved these beans! They had such wonderful flavors, especially since I love anything Mexican. I made these to go with Island Pork Tenderloin, and we enjoyed the combination. These beans are great any time of year. I plan to have them another time with hot dogs and burgers off the grill. Thank you for sharing with us Bluemoon! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game 4/09 Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This is a very tasty bean dish. I should have drained the grease after cooking the bacon but was in a hurry and didn't think about it until I had dumped a can of beans in!! It really didn't taste greasy but I knew the grease was there. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will drain it. I do think the bacon adds a nice flavour. My husband has a 'thing' about cumin so I left it out and it still tasted great. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      My husband, a man of few words, slurped this down and then uttered 'Food was good, I could eat that all again'. For him, that is like a five star review and so that is exactly what I shall give. The recipe was really easy to put together. I kept it veggie but simply leaving out the bacon and doubling up on the carrots. I used one can of kidney beans and one can of pinto beans and that turned out to be a nice pairing. I am sure we will be making this again and next time trying some qourn sausages in the mix. Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonder tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      We really really enjoyed this stew. I used canned cannelinni beans and chickpeas as that is all I had. We added vegetarian sausages and ommitted the bacon. Served it with cornbread. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      Oh my this was good. BunnyMom and I seem to have similar food habits. I replaced the bacon with about a half cup of soy sausage crumbles and drained but did not rinse the beans before adding. To replace the lost liquid, added 3 tablespoons of tomato paste diluted with a cup of water. Also added a chopped poblano which added a little smokiness (along with the cumin) and color without changing the heat level on this which is low and even has a touch of sweetness from the chili sauce. Will make this again and again. Thanks bluemoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      I made this for lunch to day along with Sharon123's Corn Yeast Rolls. That a nice combination. For the hotpot, I omitted the bacon to make the dish vegetarian. Also, since I have this strange aversion to the juices in cans of beans, I drained the beans, and replaced with some tomato sauce. I try to keep my fiber intake up and my fat low, so this recipe really fits the bill, so long as I skip the bacon :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Bean Hotpot

    Serving Size: 1 (392 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 572.8
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    43%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 34.2 mg
    11%
    Sodium 466.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 17.8 g
    71%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 25.2 g
    50%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rindless bacon

    sweet chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites