9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

"Don't lose this recipe!" declared DH. We followed this recipe for Rockfish (Striped Bass), and it was a perfect match! It was too hot to shop, so I substituted 1 tablespoon of dehydrated onion, and shortened the saute to 1:30, and used 1 tablespoon of dry nonfat skim milk with 1 tablespoon water; all worked out deliciously! These were very spicy, but within our tolerance. Best reason to keep Rotel on hand at all times! Made for I Recommend tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL July 30, 2011

Fantastic fish! This is so delicious. I used mahi-mahi and a Mexican-style blend of cheese. We really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing and for adopting me in PAC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 02, 2011

I made this last night using plain tomatoes with added mild peppers & a dash of sambal oelek for heat. The fish of choice was Hake. DH & I enjoyed this easy to make fish dish but don't be like me & forget to spray the pan, mine all stuck so they didn't look the prettiest but they sure tasted good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** October 02, 2008

Reviewed for ZWT3. This was terrific! I used cod instead of flounder, and the fish turned out beautifully firm and flaky. I used a chipotle chili powder instead of "regular" chili powder -- it made it much hotter than I'd expected (but not too hot -- just getting near the edge). And I gave myself a treat tonight; instead of using mozzarella, I used a chipotle-spiced cheddar (just 2 tablespoons). Very yummy -- will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts June 24, 2007

The tast of this dish was good, but the fish turned out really mushy. I think next time we'll try a firmer fish, like catfish. Thought that the batter was a little off as well, it was eggy and grainy. Maybe we'll try flour instead of corn meal next time. But I did like this recipe. The sauce was great and I love how easy it is. So, will make again with a couple of changes. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker February 18, 2006

This was really great! I love finding a fish dish that DH and I both like (he generally likes everything fried) I don't care for fried...this WORKS! I used cod, but other than that followed the recipe! Thank you Paula G!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP November 15, 2005

This was very easy to do and I loved the sauce; however, the next time I fix it I'll use cracker crumbs in place of the yellow corn meal. The corn meal was too "gritty" for the flounder. Also, because we live in Mexico and tend to eat our food quite spicy, I doubled the amount of oinions, red pepper and used Monterey Jack cheese with Jalepeno peppers in place of the mozzarella. (This sauce would also be good with eggs in the morning.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judywhitford August 16, 2005

Very good and a nice spicy change from the usual. We used catfish for this dish and a bit more cheese than specified. I served this with Asparagus, Mandarin Orange Salad Asparagus, Mandarin Orange Salad for a delicious week-day with very little work. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ May 08, 2004

This was wonderful!!!! I used cod instead, and 1/3 cup of mozzarela instead of the 1/2 cup. The sauce is quite spicy but really flavorful. I served it with applesauce, veggies, and baked tortilla chips. Fabulous!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit May 05, 2004
Mexican Baked Fish