38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are sooo good. Put it all together before I went to bed and set the oven to turn off after 7 hours. The next day it was ready. It would be great to have a couple of packages of this already made in the freezer. I will add a few more beans next time to absorb just a little more of the juices--maybe another 1/4 pound. I won't be going out for burritos anymore when I know I can make the best at home!

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Dawn March 08, 2002

This was excellent! I added a small chopped onion and a chopped jalapeno and also a couple of pureed chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (the smokey flavor really added to it). Also, I cooked it for about 7 1/2 hours in the crock pot and it came out perfectly. I was a bit worried because it seemed too juicy for burritos, but once I shredded the meat and mixed it back in, it was perfect. This is definitely a keeper!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom Sullivan May 28, 2002

This is the best burrito recipe I've ever had! It is so yummy yummy! It reminded me of the burritos you get at the little taco stands you see everywhere in California. Excellent!Thanks so much Sharlene~W for posting such a wonderful recipe! I made it exactly how you said except I did add a small onion to it. I served it with salsa and Guacamole. You can count on me to make this again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB February 19, 2003

I loved this even though DH wasn't all that keen on it. I used l lb. left over pork, pinto beans and added the spices, one can Rotel, homemade salsa verde and let it simmer. Loved all the flavors. Served with tortillas, cheese and guaca-salsa.(Guaca-Salsa - My Recipe -)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound September 25, 2011

This was really delicious! I made it in the crock pot using canned beans, 3/4 cup of broth and less salt. We used it for tacos, but I think I will eat it as "chili" tomorrow since there is plenty of liquid left in it and it is super tasty just plain.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito October 14, 2010

TO DIE FOR!!! we LOVED these burritos!! i made up the spice mixture and rubbed half on the pork and let it sit in the fridge overnight. i live at high altitude, so i soaked my beans for 2 days (and they were still al dente! i'll have to work on that!). i used 2 cans of extra hot rotel and 2.5 cups of roasted green chiles (i buy in bulk in the fall and keep in the freezer). i also added some onions. i used 3 cups chicken broth instead of the 4 cups water. i used my 5 1/2 qt. dutch oven and cooked for 8 hours. was cooked to perfection! i never needed to add any liquids, it was perfect and had enough juice for the pork once shredded. this is a keeper for sure. we all loved this! served with warm tortillas, guacamole, shredded cheese, salsa, and spanish rice! thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD May 20, 2009

This was so hard to stop eating! This is the kind of recipe I try to save my 5-star rating for. Really out of this world, in ease of prep and flavor and nutrition. I didn't have chilies, but the rest I just threw in the crock pot, for an hour on high, then about 8 hrs on low. So very, very good. I'm not too expert with beans, so I was really impressed at how wonderful they turned out! So tender and flavorful. I can't say enough about this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise April 18, 2009

The meat really lacked in flavor, and even after adding some taco seasoning, they weren't well received.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassandra.M August 13, 2009

These were really, really yummy! DH even commented that it was like something he'd order at a restaurant. Mine cooked all day in the crockpot (maybe 9-10 hours) and everything was perfect....I even started off with a frozen pork roast. Leftovers are in the freezer for easy meals in the next month or so. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slingmama April 22, 2009

No kidding, these are to die for good! I can't wait to have them again, and surprise company when they bite into them and owww and ahhhh with every bite! Just fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids April 22, 2009
Mexicali Meat Burritos