Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexicali Meat Burritos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexicali Meat Burritos

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2002

      These are sooo good. Put it all together before I went to bed and set the oven to turn off after 7 hours. The next day it was ready. It would be great to have a couple of packages of this already made in the freezer. I will add a few more beans next time to absorb just a little more of the juices--maybe another 1/4 pound. I won't be going out for burritos anymore when I know I can make the best at home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      This was excellent! I added a small chopped onion and a chopped jalapeno and also a couple of pureed chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (the smokey flavor really added to it). Also, I cooked it for about 7 1/2 hours in the crock pot and it came out perfectly. I was a bit worried because it seemed too juicy for burritos, but once I shredded the meat and mixed it back in, it was perfect. This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2003

      This is the best burrito recipe I've ever had! It is so yummy yummy! It reminded me of the burritos you get at the little taco stands you see everywhere in California. Excellent!Thanks so much Sharlene~W for posting such a wonderful recipe! I made it exactly how you said except I did add a small onion to it. I served it with salsa and Guacamole. You can count on me to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      I loved this even though DH wasn't all that keen on it. I used l lb. left over pork, pinto beans and added the spices, one can Rotel, homemade salsa verde and let it simmer. Loved all the flavors. Served with tortillas, cheese and guaca-salsa.(Guaca-Salsa - My Recipe -)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      This was really delicious! I made it in the crock pot using canned beans, 3/4 cup of broth and less salt. We used it for tacos, but I think I will eat it as "chili" tomorrow since there is plenty of liquid left in it and it is super tasty just plain.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      TO DIE FOR!!! we LOVED these burritos!! i made up the spice mixture and rubbed half on the pork and let it sit in the fridge overnight. i live at high altitude, so i soaked my beans for 2 days (and they were still al dente! i'll have to work on that!). i used 2 cans of extra hot rotel and 2.5 cups of roasted green chiles (i buy in bulk in the fall and keep in the freezer). i also added some onions. i used 3 cups chicken broth instead of the 4 cups water. i used my 5 1/2 qt. dutch oven and cooked for 8 hours. was cooked to perfection! i never needed to add any liquids, it was perfect and had enough juice for the pork once shredded. this is a keeper for sure. we all loved this! served with warm tortillas, guacamole, shredded cheese, salsa, and spanish rice! thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      This was so hard to stop eating! This is the kind of recipe I try to save my 5-star rating for. Really out of this world, in ease of prep and flavor and nutrition. I didn't have chilies, but the rest I just threw in the crock pot, for an hour on high, then about 8 hrs on low. So very, very good. I'm not too expert with beans, so I was really impressed at how wonderful they turned out! So tender and flavorful. I can't say enough about this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      The meat really lacked in flavor, and even after adding some taco seasoning, they weren't well received.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      These were really, really yummy! DH even commented that it was like something he'd order at a restaurant. Mine cooked all day in the crockpot (maybe 9-10 hours) and everything was perfect....I even started off with a frozen pork roast. Leftovers are in the freezer for easy meals in the next month or so. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      No kidding, these are to die for good! I can't wait to have them again, and surprise company when they bite into them and owww and ahhhh with every bite! Just fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This was really, really, really good. My whole family enjoyed it! Yay! From the picky teen to the sensitive toddler. I did reduce the chili powder to 1T and only used 1/2t cayenne. After 7 hours in a slow cooker, my beans were still very tough - but still totally yummy! I served these on Texas Flour Tortillas, Cappuccino Fudge Cheesecake (Gluten-Free). PERFECTION!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Wonderful! The whole family loved it and I'll be making it often! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      We loved these!! I could smell them all day in the crock pot and I couldn't wait to eat them! We love to eat Mexican types of food at our house and I think this recipe will be put into my regular group of recipes. I love that it makes a HUGE crock pot full and I can freeze the rest in individual bags after you finish one meal. I'm not huge on left overs...but if I can pull it out of the freezer and reheat it quick to eat for supper, I'm all about it!! We love spicy food, so this was perfect maybe even a little tame for us. For most people, I'd say it's probably closer to medium. You could easily cut back on the chili powder and cayenne. I'm thinking of taming it back for my 1.5 yr old and then just adding in some Tabasco to a bowl for us right before we eat it. The only other thing that didn't seem like mine came out like the recipe was that mine seemed to have quite a bit of liquid in it. I use a smart pot and I cooked it mostly on low (maybe an hour or two on high) for the whole time. I probably cooked it for 8 hrs and maybe 2 of those were on high. I just thought I might be able to burn off some of the liquid by putting it on high, and I think it might have ended up being partly how much fat my roast had. Like the author says this is a very versatile recipe. I think I can't wait to put them in as burritos. These will be excellent as enchiladas...I can't wait to have them again! I'm going to share this recipe with all my family and friends...Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Made this for Super Bowl and it feed a crowd. Perfect combination with a nice cold beer and a game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      This was a huge hit. I did follow a few of the other reviewers' suggestions -- I pre-soaked the beans. I used three cups of water rather than four (and still thought it was a bit too much so I drained some of it). I added a chopped onion and a chopped jalapeno, then cooked it all in the crock pot for 7 1/2 hours. It was all I could do to keep folks out of it until supper! Delicious -- a definite keeper. PS I served 6 hungry kids, a hungry husband and myself and still froze enough leftovers to feed us all again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Oh my gosh, thank you so much for the recipe. I put everything, except the beans, I used canned, in a crock pot. I put enough water in to cover the meat, but it seemed like too much after the meat was cooked. I pulled the meat out and boiled down the liquid. It was so wonderful. I had to leave out the chili powder and jalp's though, due to some wimps in the family. Was great even without!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      I added some jalapeno peppers, but other than that followed this recipe exactly. They were as good as any I have ever had! Packed with flavor and zip, we will be making these often. I like the idea of making some up ahead and having them ready in the freezer ready to pop into the oven when hunger strikes! Oh yeah, and I added some Mexican rice into the burrito mix when making them up too. Ann

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Delicious! A freezer full of Mexicali meat means that there is ALWAYS a busy weekday meal on hand. And it's SOOOOO good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      I've made this twice, the first time with flor de mayo beans, since that's what I had, and the second time with pintos. Both times it was delicious! The kids love it and I make up the burritos with sour cream and shredded cheese,wrap in wax paper and freeze. 3 minutes in the microwave and they're ready to go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      Very good. A lot of ingredients, but really easy to put together. I used chicken broth instead of water, chipotle chile powder, 3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, and sea salt. I topped mine with lettuce, cheese, and sour cream. There was also salsa out in case anybody wanted it, but I don't know if anyone used it. The spice level was pretty good, but could have been a touch lower for my family so I may only use 1/2 tsp cayenne next time. Also I didn't need to add any water at all to mine. It came out a little runny, so it was a bit sloppy to eat, but tasted good, so it didn't matter. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexicali Meat Burritos

    Serving Size: 1 (308 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 464.4
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    25%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 77.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1005.0 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    31%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 37.3 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites