Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mexicali Chicken (Slow Cooker) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexicali Chicken (Slow Cooker)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2013

      I disguised all the veggies by blending most of them up after cooking them in the crock pot and my kids never knew! Served with rice and cheese on a tortilla, was delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Wonderful flavor from the salsa (I used Pace Picante), chili, and oregano (had to sub Italian seasoning). All of this bakes into the chicken, and is plate-lickin' good. The ketchup and cumin made for a great sauce. Served with brown rice and corn. Ended up mixing sauce, rice and corn together for a fabulous "spanish rice". Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow!!!:) Made for ZWT5 Zingo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      I don't think I will be making this again. My husband said he rather eat the leftover sloppy joes I made for my daughter. It smelled so good cooking all day! It just didn't WOW us! We ate it over white rice. Update: ate the leftovers for lunch. Left out the rice and just ate it with shredded cheese, sirracha , and a dollop of sour cream. Much better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      My whole family LOVED this one! I had to substitute a few things such as red bell peppers and half salsa verde instead of the recommended salsa. The sauce is really just amazing and it makes you want to eat all the chicken with a whole pot full of rice. Definitely one of my favorite crock pot recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I made this and then added it to corn tortillas with cheese and sour cream. my husband LOVED it!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Very nice, simple recipe. We enjoyed this on a cool fall evening and served over rice. I used all chicken thighs and followed your directions exactly - I did use the suggested cornstarch to thicken it at the end. I think next time I might even add a chopped jalapeno just to give it that extra bite that my family loves. This made plenty and I've got left overs in the freezer waiting for one of those nights when I don't feel like cooking. Thanks Virgina for a quick, simple and delicious meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Very good ~ DH absolutlely loved this chicken. I used skinless breasts and thighs ~ other than that, followed as written. Loved the 'sauce' of ketchup, cumin and salt ~ it really added to the other spices. Served over noodles, and the leftovers served with Mexican Rice. Thanks for a new keeper VCB! Made for the ZINGO round of ZWT5, for the Bodacious Brickhouse Babes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This was so good and easy. I threw everything in the crockpot this morning when I got home from work. When I got up at noon, the house smelled :yummy: I had a very busy day, so I was glad I choose this recipe for today. The sauce was great over Spaghetti. I will make again, Thank you. Made by member of "Cooks With Dirty Faces" for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This was a really good, easy crockpot dinner! I had to work 12 hours today, so it was nice to have such a delicious dinner ready to come home to, aside from the really easy job of cooking up some rice. I used Mexican oregano. Made for the Epicurean Queens, ZWT5: Zingo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This is definitely a 5 star dish. I did not have thighs and legs so I used 4 boneless/skinless breasts. I also used a jalapeno pepper in place of one of the green peppers. I really like this sauce. Made for ZWT5, Dining Daredevils.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      I love the ease of crock pot cooking and the fact that dinner is ready almost as soon as you get home. This dish is loaded with flavor. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and orange and yellow peppers instead of a green pepper. I served it over noodles. Yummy! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      I'm giving this 5 stars although I actually used bone-in chicken breasts instead (I removed the skin) :) We just prefer breasts to the darker chicken meat. I chose bone-in chicken breasts because I know from past experiences that it stays much moister than boneless after a long crock pot cooking time. I cut the recipe in half since I only used 2 breasts and I used a mixture of red and green bell peppers. DH was so hungry when he got home from work that I decided to bring the mixture to a quick boil on the stove top to thicken it up with the corn starch rather than wait the 15 minutes in the crock pot. Served with leftover mexican rice from last night but would be great served on plain rice as well. Very nice, thank you! :) Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      This is so good. I guess that boneless skinless chicken parts would be great. I used bone-in drumsticks and legs. We removed the skin to have less fat. I omitted the salt. The chicken was so tender after 7 hours. It was falling apart. The taste is great. Thanks Vanessa :) Made for the Saucy Senoritas of ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexicali Chicken (Slow Cooker)

    Serving Size: 1 (411 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 417.5
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    46%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 138.0 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1526.5 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 34.0 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites