7 Reviews

Extraordinarily easy. Excellent with addition of rice and refried black beans. Did add some extra white onion and a clove of garlic with the salsa to great effect...awesome for a college student on a budget with rudimentary kitchen skills! 4 stars only because while strongly flavored, a bit one-dimensional and a little too tomato-ey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janellecole.bmr January 30, 2016

Excellent! I used 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper and it still had quite the zing to it, but we like it like that, but I was trying to make it more mellow for the kids, which did not really work out. I also added 1/3 cup of long grain rice which made a lot of rice along with the salsa. Had to add a bit of chicken broth to be able to cook the rice until tender, perhaps my skillet was too large. I sprinkled with cilantro and green onions just before serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini December 01, 2010

Easy and so delicious! I omitted the salt (personal preference). We loved the flavors from the seasonings and salsa. Excellent. I took Andi's suggestion of adding in some rice, and it was absolutely wonderful with the chicken, soaking up all the salsa and juices. I got a great deal on chicken leg quarters, so I threw in thighs & drumsticks - loved it. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews May 04, 2010

As much as I like chicken breast, and after reading the reviews I figured I would be the first to use chicken thighs. This is the kind of chicken for me at least, nice and spicy. Love the salsa here too. I made some rice to go along with this and cooked together. I also heated the salsa separately and poured over the chicken . This was an excellent combo. Made for 1-2-3 hits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker January 20, 2010

I didn't have thighs, and used boneless skinless chicken breasts. I'm sure this detracted from the taste somewhat, but this was really good with chicken breasts. 2 large chicken breasts would definitely serve 4! This recipe has a lot of flavor and spice, so if you don't like that, I wouldn't try it. But if you do, this is the recipe for you. I think Andi's idea of adding the rice to the skillet would work out great...my sauce was runny, and the rice would definitely soak that up! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 29, 2009

I hate chicken thighs! I love this recipe! I accidently bought the thighs and chose this recipe to "cover up" the flavor. The whole family loved it. It was super easy to make. I used regular onions, less cayenne, and no lime wedge. The flavors were delicious and I'm going to start buying the chicken thighs now that I know they can taste good! Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dandy Sandy September 08, 2009

Tis' one of those dishes that just comes together to be a *5* star without even trying. The ease coupled with the delightful taste is over the top in all respects. I followed this exactly, and since I was serving this with rice, I thought, "What the hey" I might as well put the rice in too, instead of cooking in separately. So whilst the chick was bubbling happily away, I hit two ants with one marble. When the chicken was done, so was the rice, in this oozing full of goodness dish. A must, must try. You will never want to stop out a carryout again. :) Made for *Everyday is a Holiday July 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm July 08, 2009
Mexicali Chicken Skillet