55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great tasty recipe! I threw in a small link of chirzo and used one packet of hot and spicy taco seasoning. Just the right zing. I did not add any pepper flakes. I didn't add the bacon and used penne whole wheat noodles. We really enjoyed this one!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill September 12, 2010

Another great one from you! I did only use 1 package of taco seasoning but all the chili flakes.and made it a few hours before and husband threw it in the oven. I did not put any extra cheese on top. Everyone loved it. My husband ate it for two more days. Thank you very much for sharing. I wil def be making this again, maybe in two smaller trays and freeze one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schefersjunk August 01, 2011

I gave this recipe 4 stars my hubby says 5..... I only used one pkg. of taco seasoning and it was plenty spicy for us...I also thru in a can of fiesta corn...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc September 01, 2010

This was a great change for me! I had a pound of ground beef and the urge to try something different. This appealed to me immediately! I added some beef chorizo to the hamburger, added about 1-1/2 cups of frozen corn and a can of black beans (rinsed) with the sauce. Instead of 2 cans of tomato soup, I used only one can and subbed a can of Rotel (diced tomatoes with chili peppers). It turned out great!!! My hubby said he loved it and I should make it again! Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe, Kittenscalskitchen!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KC's Mom June 10, 2010

I would give more stars if it were possible. This was soooo good. My entire family loved it. I used both packets of taco spice and did not find it too spicy at all. Only change I mad was using 1/2 a green pepper and 1/2 of a red one. Will for sure make again. Thanks for another wonderful recipe Kitten.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriM1972 May 27, 2010

Fantastic! This dish was deliciouis. I added only one package of taco seasoning as well and the texture was incredible. My husband loved it as well. This is absolutely a keeper! Also, it is best not to skip the green peppers, because they definitely add a special flavor to the blend. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie Denny April 22, 2010

I LOVED this recipe! I used only 1 tsp of brown sugar. I didn't really see the need for the bacon and probably won't put it in next time. I'm not sure why because I'm a big fan of bacon but I just didn't think this recipe really needed it. I'll definately be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindseykernick January 08, 2009

I was just looking for something to make for dinner that used the ground beef I had thawed. This recipe sounded interessting. It was easy to make in one pot with an oven proof dutch oven. I chopped the bacon & fried it, then drained & removed. Cooked the beef in the same pot then added everthing else according to plan. Instead of transferring to a baking dish I just added cheese & popped it in the oven. Love one-pot meals! DH LOVED this recipe. Just raved like a lunatic about it all through dinner. DS was in full agreement with him, but I personally thought the taco flavor was too strong & I would have preferred to use les taco seasoning & more chili powder. It could be my taco seasoning (store-bought) not Kitt's homemade but I thought the taco flavor was overpowering without the kick of chili powder. I used radiatorre pasta & added in 1/2 teaspoon crushed red chili flakes. I'll be making this again as it was a huge hit but I will use 1/2 a packet of taco seasoning & add a 1-2 Tablespoons chili powder. Thanks for another great recipe, Kitt! Made in John's memory.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** December 07, 2008

Kittencal always makes me look good. This recipe is no exception and I screwed up plenty getting this ready for last week's potluck at work. Bought tomato paste instead of sauce so used stewed tomatoes instead. My salt shaker blew it's lid while I had it tipped over the pan. I scraped a lot out but I still worried. The oven at work I found out doesn't work very well so it wasn't all that hot when I had to serve it. I put it under the broiler though and that helped a lot. The great reviews didn't stop coming and even on Friday, my co-workers were still eating it. I don't normally like spicy but I did taste this and it was great. Might add kidney beans next time but I like to do it exactly as the chef says the first time. Thanks Kitten. As always...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst November 22, 2008

excellent. The whole family loved it. I had to double it, since there are a lot of big eaters and we use last night's dinner for tomorrow's lunch. Fixed the entire thing by the recipe, and have no complaints. It is a recipe that can take adjustments and be good each time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saharann January 17, 2015
Mexi Ground Beef Chili Macaroni Casserole