24 Reviews

Great recipe, Mean! I've been making bread for quite a while, and I'm no expert yet, but this was one of the easiest breads I've ever made. If anyone out there is afraid to make bread, this is a great place to start. VERY easy! I made 2 loaves out of the dough. They took 35 minutes to bake, and were perfect. My kids loved them, too. And my husband was asking me to make more the same day. The bread is very dense and moist, and just delicious. Thanks for sharing, Mean!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao September 02, 2003

This bread was outstanding! I can't believe how easy it was and what a unique taste. The slight sweetness from the brown sugar and mild corn flavor from the polenta was just wonderful. I am making it again tonight for friends, can't wait! I also love how quick it is, very little trouble with to die for results. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue September 01, 2007

I used regular cornmeal as suggested by others but that made the bread came out dense. I guess cornmeal isn't the same as polenta? It still tastes good but it isn't fluffy like the picture above. The next time, I will use polenta and see if it comes out better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB January 27, 2007

Beautiful bread. Dough is so easy to work with and yields a wonderfully textured bread. Tender with a great flavor that didn't need butter or other additions. Used the Kitchen Aid for mixing which made it very easy. Made one loaf and a tray of rolls. Almost skipped the sprinkling a polenta on top and was glad I didn't. Gave some interest to the finished product. We ate this with dinner, and everyone enjoyed them, but these really would make wonderful sandwich rolls. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 25, 2006

I used white cornmeal instead. It was a nice, dense loaf. Will not use white cornmeal again (it was alittle bland),I should have made according to recipe. will try with yellow cornmeal next time. Family loved it with butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefRed September 17, 2006

Beautiful bread and so easy to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busyozmum October 18, 2005

This was a very good dense bread. I followed Mean Chef's bread making class instructions that I found in the Community page under Breads. I think it is necessary to look at this posting because there are more detailed instructions. It was especially helpful on the uniform shaping of the bread. I used whole milk and kosher salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aviva July 17, 2005

This recipe is the easiest, almost fail-proof, yeast dough recipe I have ever tried. First of all, do not be intimidated by the ingredient "polenta". It is simply a specialty grind cornmeal. I used regular ground yellow cornmeal and it worked perfectly. White cornmeal would work also. I mixed mine completely by hand. The dough is sticky, as stated, but when I formed my loaves I did it on a lightly floured surface which helped. I made 2 nice sized loaves and baked them for 30 minutes on a baking stone. The loaves held their shape and rose very nicely. The crust is firm and slices easily. My family really enjoyed this delicious bread. 5 stars for how easy it is to make and 5 stars for taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas June 22, 2005

Very easy to make (my husband even made a batch). Turns out well no matter what temperature, humidity, etc. your house happens to be. Tastes wonderful with a great texture. We made three batches in one week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jet Pilot May 29, 2005
Mesa Grill Bread/Rolls