24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fabulous bread! I made this during Mean Chef's bread making class and was amazed at the results -- a beautiful, rustic, bread with an incredible crust. It rose nice and high and the flavor was out of this world. I think the polenta added a lot of flavor and texture to the bread. We ate it right out of the oven along with a salad for dinner. Wonderful! Mean, thanks for sharing the recipe and your time.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama March 13, 2003

Thanks so much for walking me through the bread making process MEAN! I have never had success before with using yeast, and this was the first time baking "bread" not rocks! hehe The bread has just a hint of sweetness, and is quite hearty. My family thoroughly enjoyed it! Thanks again! You have conquered my yeast fears. ;)

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl March 12, 2003

This bread ROCKS! I was a little nervous when I saw how sticky the dough was - nearly a batter! But I just let it rise - beautifully, I might add! - and then formed a loaf, let it rise, slashed the top, and baked. It took about 40 minutes to bake fully. It is awesome, Mean. I absolutely love it and it was easy and I WILL make this again. Perfect with my baked potato soup! Thanks for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
P4 March 31, 2003

Great recipe to go with a salad and any rustic type meal. Tis recipe didn't take hours which is my usual gripe about bread recipes and it rose well even though the ambient temperature was a little lower than normal. Great flavour. I made this with wholemeal stoneground flour which made for a dense but very yummy loaf.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat March 19, 2003

I too have to thank you Mean Chef for guiding us through all the steps. I made the bread and it turned out really good. My husband loves it!! So now he wants homemade bread more often!! Thanks again Poppy

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
** Poppy ** March 20, 2003

This bread has a really great flavor! We had leftovers with breakfast and noticed they have a flavor reminiscent of english muffins. I am giving this recipe 5 stars, because the flavor was so great. I had some problems, but they were not because of the recipe. I live in Florida and the humidity was horrible the day I baked the bread. I ended up needing quite a bit more flour (about 4 cups!). I plan to make this again on a less humid day. I know better, but REALLY wanted to make this recipe!!! The taste is amazing...reminded me slightly of sourdough....which is odd since it is so quick to make!!! Thank you Mean Chef!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerkitten D May 12, 2003

Wow! My first homemade bread, and even without having to use my new, unused breat machine :) I am sorry to say I am new here and missed the bread making lessons from Mean Chef, but I am so grateful to have found this recipe and to have had such a fabulous result! This was our bread for Easter dinner, and my husband and I agree it is the best bread we have ever had. Easy too!!! I am no longer intimidated :) Thanks so very much!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pianolady April 21, 2003

Let me start off by saying that in the past I've had no luck with yeast breads. At all. My past attemps failed miserably, but this turned out great. I started off using the dough hooks in my mixer, but that didn't work out too well.. so i finished it by hand. Also, half way through, i realized we had no milk, and i had to mix up some milk powder in water.. I was a little worried, but kept going, and got 2 loaves, one made in a loaf pan and one hand formed. Perfect, the closest thing to bread my family buys is wonder bread, so i claimed this as my own. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
89240 February 10, 2004

I am LOUSY at bread making but this turned out perfectly. I made as directed, but used soy milk instead of regular milk and didn't have an egg in the house (if you can believe that!) so I brushed the top with melted margarine instead of egg wash. Turned out crispy on the outside, moist and chewy on the inside. Thanks Mean Chef for another wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl October 01, 2003

Delicious, hearty bread that I am sure will be a regular on our table in the fall with stews and soups. I made it into rolls, and loved how quick it was to make. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie September 07, 2003
Mesa Grill Bread/Rolls