Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mesa Grill Bread/Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mesa Grill Bread/Rolls

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2003

      Fabulous bread! I made this during Mean Chef's bread making class and was amazed at the results -- a beautiful, rustic, bread with an incredible crust. It rose nice and high and the flavor was out of this world. I think the polenta added a lot of flavor and texture to the bread. We ate it right out of the oven along with a salad for dinner. Wonderful! Mean, thanks for sharing the recipe and your time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2003

      Thanks so much for walking me through the bread making process MEAN! I have never had success before with using yeast, and this was the first time baking "bread" not rocks! hehe The bread has just a hint of sweetness, and is quite hearty. My family thoroughly enjoyed it! Thanks again! You have conquered my yeast fears. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      This bread ROCKS! I was a little nervous when I saw how sticky the dough was - nearly a batter! But I just let it rise - beautifully, I might add! - and then formed a loaf, let it rise, slashed the top, and baked. It took about 40 minutes to bake fully. It is awesome, Mean. I absolutely love it and it was easy and I WILL make this again. Perfect with my baked potato soup! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      Great recipe to go with a salad and any rustic type meal. Tis recipe didn't take hours which is my usual gripe about bread recipes and it rose well even though the ambient temperature was a little lower than normal. Great flavour. I made this with wholemeal stoneground flour which made for a dense but very yummy loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2003

      I too have to thank you Mean Chef for guiding us through all the steps. I made the bread and it turned out really good. My husband loves it!! So now he wants homemade bread more often!! Thanks again Poppy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      This bread has a really great flavor! We had leftovers with breakfast and noticed they have a flavor reminiscent of english muffins. I am giving this recipe 5 stars, because the flavor was so great. I had some problems, but they were not because of the recipe. I live in Florida and the humidity was horrible the day I baked the bread. I ended up needing quite a bit more flour (about 4 cups!). I plan to make this again on a less humid day. I know better, but REALLY wanted to make this recipe!!! The taste is amazing...reminded me slightly of sourdough....which is odd since it is so quick to make!!! Thank you Mean Chef!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      Wow! My first homemade bread, and even without having to use my new, unused breat machine :) I am sorry to say I am new here and missed the bread making lessons from Mean Chef, but I am so grateful to have found this recipe and to have had such a fabulous result! This was our bread for Easter dinner, and my husband and I agree it is the best bread we have ever had. Easy too!!! I am no longer intimidated :) Thanks so very much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      Let me start off by saying that in the past I've had no luck with yeast breads. At all. My past attemps failed miserably, but this turned out great. I started off using the dough hooks in my mixer, but that didn't work out too well.. so i finished it by hand. Also, half way through, i realized we had no milk, and i had to mix up some milk powder in water.. I was a little worried, but kept going, and got 2 loaves, one made in a loaf pan and one hand formed. Perfect, the closest thing to bread my family buys is wonder bread, so i claimed this as my own. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      I am LOUSY at bread making but this turned out perfectly. I made as directed, but used soy milk instead of regular milk and didn't have an egg in the house (if you can believe that!) so I brushed the top with melted margarine instead of egg wash. Turned out crispy on the outside, moist and chewy on the inside. Thanks Mean Chef for another wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      Delicious, hearty bread that I am sure will be a regular on our table in the fall with stews and soups. I made it into rolls, and loved how quick it was to make. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      Great recipe, Mean! I've been making bread for quite a while, and I'm no expert yet, but this was one of the easiest breads I've ever made. If anyone out there is afraid to make bread, this is a great place to start. VERY easy! I made 2 loaves out of the dough. They took 35 minutes to bake, and were perfect. My kids loved them, too. And my husband was asking me to make more the same day. The bread is very dense and moist, and just delicious. Thanks for sharing, Mean!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

    • on September 01, 2007

      This bread was outstanding! I can't believe how easy it was and what a unique taste. The slight sweetness from the brown sugar and mild corn flavor from the polenta was just wonderful. I am making it again tonight for friends, can't wait! I also love how quick it is, very little trouble with to die for results. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      I used regular cornmeal as suggested by others but that made the bread came out dense. I guess cornmeal isn't the same as polenta? It still tastes good but it isn't fluffy like the picture above. The next time, I will use polenta and see if it comes out better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Beautiful bread. Dough is so easy to work with and yields a wonderfully textured bread. Tender with a great flavor that didn't need butter or other additions. Used the Kitchen Aid for mixing which made it very easy. Made one loaf and a tray of rolls. Almost skipped the sprinkling a polenta on top and was glad I didn't. Gave some interest to the finished product. We ate this with dinner, and everyone enjoyed them, but these really would make wonderful sandwich rolls. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      I used white cornmeal instead. It was a nice, dense loaf. Will not use white cornmeal again (it was alittle bland),I should have made according to recipe. will try with yellow cornmeal next time. Family loved it with butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      Beautiful bread and so easy to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      This was a very good dense bread. I followed Mean Chef's bread making class instructions that I found in the Community page under Breads. I think it is necessary to look at this posting because there are more detailed instructions. It was especially helpful on the uniform shaping of the bread. I used whole milk and kosher salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2005

      This recipe is the easiest, almost fail-proof, yeast dough recipe I have ever tried. First of all, do not be intimidated by the ingredient "polenta". It is simply a specialty grind cornmeal. I used regular ground yellow cornmeal and it worked perfectly. White cornmeal would work also. I mixed mine completely by hand. The dough is sticky, as stated, but when I formed my loaves I did it on a lightly floured surface which helped. I made 2 nice sized loaves and baked them for 30 minutes on a baking stone. The loaves held their shape and rose very nicely. The crust is firm and slices easily. My family really enjoyed this delicious bread. 5 stars for how easy it is to make and 5 stars for taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      Very easy to make (my husband even made a batch). Turns out well no matter what temperature, humidity, etc. your house happens to be. Tastes wonderful with a great texture. We made three batches in one week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mesa Grill Bread/Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (1387 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1476.8
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    51%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 3577.1 mg
    149%
    Total Carbohydrate 301.5 g
    100%
    Dietary Fiber 12.3 g
    49%
    Sugars 20.6 g
    82%
    Protein 42.6 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites