78 Reviews

The first time I roasted a whole chicken, it came out dry, so I was scared to try again... but now I'm so glad I did! I rubbed a mixture of tarragon, garlic salt, and rosemary underneath the skin and let it marinate in the fridge for about 3 hrs. This turned out SO moist... Will definetly make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin4GoodLookin August 30, 2008

Hoo boy! I have never before eaten half a chicken & gone back to pick the carcass clean... My honeybunny did too... Wow, I added sliced shallots to the cavity with half a yellow onion, & about 6 garlic cloves, chopped. To mix them up well I melted a couple tablespoons butter with them in the microwave & then stuffed the cavity. This is worth a try folks, you won't be disappointed! Skin was crispy & delicious and even the breast meat was tender & juicy. I served it with my Shallot-Ranch potatoes & they were both a big hit! Thanks riffraff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babychops July 15, 2008

Gorgeous and juicy. VERY easy to make and will be a permanent part of my repertoire.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul July 09, 2008

I always thought my roasted chicken was tender to begin with. Adding butter underneath the breast made it absolutely succulent. Thanks for the good tip, riffraff. I also like to sprinkle Emeril's Original Essence on the chicken rather than just salt and pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers June 30, 2008

I made this a while back but noticed today while I was looking for this recipe in "my reviews" that I never left a review. This chicken in delicious and moist. I plan on making it again for dinner tonight and the leftovers will be used for a casserole later this week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. April 15, 2008

Simple is the best! The chicken was tender & moist as promised. The leftovers were used in a casserole & retained their moistness. Thank you Riff this recipe was enjoyed by the family. I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit^..^ty Of Canada January 30, 2008

This did turn out tender. I used margarine (already soft so I didn't need to wait for butter to soften) and added some herbs & garlic to it to be inserted under the skin. I omitted inserting anything into the cavity of the chicken, and it turned out ok. I put a foil tent over this to keep it moist, and uncovered it during the last half hour to brown.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manna_from_Heaven January 29, 2008

I learned a valuable hint from my MIL this Thanksgiving. Whenever she bakes poultry, she starts with the bird on it's back for only 30-45 minutes and then the rest of the roasting time, she turns it breast-side down so that all of the juices collect at the breast (which tends to be the first to 'dry-out') she also covers it in cheesecloth at this point so that it doesn't 'scorch'. I didn't use cheesecloth, but I DID turn my bird over for the last hour and 15 minutes of roasting. Don't know if it helped with the amount of moistness or not, but it was JUICY and DELICIOUS! I also added 5 small potatoes (quartered) and poured in about a cup of chicken broth. Once it was done, I 'tented' it with foil as it rested on the stovetop for about 30 minutes and that helped the potatoes 'steam' into yummy-land. We will have this once or twice a month.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jVo January 05, 2008

This is super yummy!!! After all the rich food of the holiday season, we just craved a nice roasted chicken. This recipe was perfect! It was very flavorful, tender, and moist. There are times we want a chicken "star" recipe. This time we wanted a "comfort chicken." This was it, although it could have been a "star" if we had prepared extra-special things to go with it. We enjoyed it very much and will use this cooking method often. The directions were clear and were right for even our 6 lb. bird. The thermometer showed that it was done after exactly two hours. Thank you, riffraff, for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisherself January 02, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed this very much. I followed the recipe exactly except for replacing the oil in the pan with Pam. Definitely will roast chicken this way again. Update: Made again 12/5/07. This time I hd a 7lb. chicken which I stuffed with Cornbread Sausage Dressing with Dried Cranberries by Mark H. #104737. The butter inserted under the skin is really the secret to this tender chicken. Also sprinkled some Lawry's seasoning salt on the skin. Baked it covered for the first 75 min., and poured a little broth into the bottom of the pan with some celery. Took lid off after 75 min., baked uncovered for another 45 min. basting several times. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PugGrannie December 08, 2007
Mermaid's Tender Roast Chicken