Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mermaid's Tender Roast Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mermaid's Tender Roast Chicken

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2007

      Yum-o. This is smack your momma good. I added a strip of bacon over each breast, as suggested in some reviews, and loved the extra smokiness. Nice adopted kid, Riffraff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Made this the other night. Great recipe! Followed as written, but also sprinkled onion and garlic powder over the skin. Didn't baste as I wasn't home but still was juicy. Also roasted sweet potatoes, beets and onion with the chicken. Will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      I guess I'm the odd-ball as I thought it was just as juicy and tasted just as good as my chicken normally is and I just season the skin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This recipe makes for a very tender, juicy bird! A definite improvement from my past attempts. I also read somewhere basting the bird makes it soggy instead of juicy. I didn't baste this time around and ended up with juicy meat and yummy crisp skin (I'm partial to crispy skin). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Thank you for a good roast chicken recipe. My family eats alot of chicken and this will be a regular on our table......Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      Made as directed with the addtion of rosemary and sage. It was excellent. Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      My mom made this for my birthday dinner this year. It was so tender and good! I think the addition of herbs would be good under the skin as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      We thought that the breast part of the chicken was still dry. The rest of the chicken was moist. I added some herbs for more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      Great way to prepare chicken, and this will be the only way I roast a chicken from now on. Next time will broil for five minutes before serving to crisp up the skin. Everytime we cut into it, the juices ran out all over- very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      WOW! This recipe is simple, moist and delicious!! I've made this several times now, just as directed. Juices make an amazing gravy. I've served with cous cous, beans, potatoes, broccoli...but anything would tast good next to this chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      I used this method to prepare the chicken for Roast Chicken With Tomato-Olive Sauce. The bird was juicy and flavorful. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      This was very delicious! Everyone in the family loved it! It was very juicy! I will make it again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      I have to agree with everyone else, this makes a very moist and flavourful chicken. Easy to put together too. I added a few extra cloves of garlic under the skin with the butter and added an extra onion to the pan. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      Wow!! This was my first attempt at roasting a chicken, and it turned out moist, flavorful and just perfect! I had a 3.5-pound chicken, and followed the recipe exactly. The *only* change I'd make in the future is to decrease the amount of oil (I used olive oil) -- it was too much in the bottom of the pan, IMO. I roasted this on a Monday night after dinner, and then refrigerated until Tuesday, reheating in the oven for about 30 minutes -- it still turned out divine! My entire chopped onion didn't fit inside the chicken, so I also threw some onion just into the pan, which made it carmelize. DH raved & raved & raved about this! Great adoptee, Riff :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      We really like the flavor of this roast. Next time I will add a little more garlic and put some bacon in it for more of a smokey flavor. Thanks for posting such a tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      Mermaid, My DH thought this was delicious. We had it for dinner last night.I had the rest today in a sandwich...mmmmmm!Thanks, I'll be looking for more of your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      We loved it! I am always looking for recipes with simple ingredients and great flavor. This fit the bill to a T!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      YUMMY!I roasted 2 chickens in the oven and it was a great treat for supper after Church.Easy to prepare and the taste was excellent.Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2005

      Wonderful! I made this with leg quarters. I put butter and onions under the skin and sprinkled the garlic on top of each piece. Then, I mixed some cream of mushroom soup with a little vodka (gives it a nice woody taste) and poured over top. It was absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      Wonderful recipe! I made the recipe as posted and roasted for the entire 2 hours. The flavor was very good and the meat was tender! Thank you for posting the recipe ~ it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mermaid's Tender Roast Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 782.5
     
    Calories from Fat 557
    71%
    Total Fat 61.9 g
    95%
    Saturated Fat 19.6 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 236.7 mg
    78%
    Sodium 276.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 50.7 g
    101%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites