Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mermaid's Tender Roast Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mermaid's Tender Roast Chicken

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2003

      Oh me oh my, what a great recipe!!!!The chicken came out so tender I could cut it with a fork. I have to be honest, I did not cook a full bird, with the two of us in the house, I decided to try it out on two boneless skinless chicken breasts, and I must say I am very pleased with the results. I just put the butter on top, sprinkled the onions and garlic on top then popped it in the oven. I baked covered with foil for about an hour, then for the last 15 mins I took the foil off so it would brown up nicely. Thank you sooooo much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      Awesome recipe. I used a 4.5 lb chicken and increased the oven temp to 350 degrees and cooked for the full 2 hours. Made gravy with the drippings. What a great tasting dish and so easy too! I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      What a great recipe! So easy, and very flavorful! My kids absolutely loved it, and it makes a great gravy to pour over your taters...I did my bird in a roaster, and cooked the first hour covered, then uncovered and basted as directed for a wonderfully browned and crispy skin. Thanks Mermaid! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2003

      Loved this M! I had a chicken just shy of 4 lbs. Followed your recipe to the letter, and it was perfect! I think I'll roast chickens like this from now on. And I can't wait to have sandwiches with the leftovers! Thanks M! See, told you I was making it! :lol:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      Delicious and tender! Great for low-carbing, too! I followed directions exactly, and roasted uncovered for the entire time. (I suggest being sure to baste frequently if you do this). I'll remember the trick of putting the butter under the skin - it really works!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2003

      This is a great recipe. It is very easy and very tasty!!!! My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      Perfect roast chicken. Crispy skin, tender meat, very well seasoned. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      This chicken got good reviews from my family. I am fasting so did not partake but it was very tempting. I made two whole chickens (trying to minimize my time in the kitchen), so what was left from the one chick I chopped up to make a little over two cups which I intend to use in a chicken tetrazzini (sp?) also I scraped up all the onion and garlic from both chicks to use in this future dish. Thanks for the easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      I made this chicken recently and thought it was a simple and tasty recipe. I think one improvement I would make is adding some herbs to the butter or to the cavity in the future. Thanks for posting, riffraff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Very Very moist and Very Very simple! What more could you ask for? My parents thought I was crazy when they saw me roasting without a foil tent and didn't say a word while they where gobbling it all up! Thanks for a recipe that will stay with my family for a long time to come. However, we just call it Mermaid Chicken. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      After finding this recipe I forgot to save it and only remembered that butter was stuffed under the skin. Forgot the onion and garlic part. Anyway, I rinsed the bird, dried it, filled the cavity with S & P then applied the butter. Baked it at 350 at 20 minutes per pound. It was awesome!!! Can't wait to make it again with the onion and garlic. Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      Tender & juicy and right up there with Swiss Chalet chicken - which Canadians love!! I sprayed Pam on the bottom of a roasting pan and omitted the oil/butter in steps 4 & 6 to reduce colesterol. I covered the chicken for the first hour but next time, I'll leave it uncovered since I like the skin crispy. Thanx Mermaid!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      Delicious, I followed the instructions exactly and it turned out crisp and tender.<br/>Update (1/23/14): This recipe has effectively become my "standard" treatment for poultry (even Turkey). It pops out a delicious tender and juicy bird almost every time. I don't know how many times I've reprinted and hand copied this recipe but after doing it (yet again!) it seemed wrong to not acknowledge what a great recipe this is and how much I've used it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2012

    • on October 07, 2011

      Even though I cooked it for 2.5 hours, it still seemed under-done, and this chicken was extremely greasy. TOO MUCH BUTTER AND OIL. I think next time I'll just buy a rotisserie chicken from the grocery and call it good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      Tucked in a few herbs and just witnessed an interesting sight...a grown made crying over his dinner plate. As for me, I can't afford to cry all over my keyboard. Made for Gluten-Free Recipe Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      This makes a PERFECT roast chicken, juicy but with crispy skin, and full of flavor! I added some seasoning salt to the salt and pepper called for and it was a great addition. Used a little more butter under the skin than called for. My kids went crazy for this. This is going in the "keeper" file and will be made often at my house. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Great chicken. I did as written except I cooked it in my clay cooker. Wonderful flavor and so juicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Mine was yummy; chicken was about 5 lbs so I let it go a little longer. I also added a bunch of fresh thyme inside mine. Turned out really well and was relatively easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Very good!! The breast really was tender, will definitely keep this as my standard Roast Chicken recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mermaid's Tender Roast Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 782.5
     
    Calories from Fat 557
    71%
    Total Fat 61.9 g
    95%
    Saturated Fat 19.6 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 236.7 mg
    78%
    Sodium 276.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 50.7 g
    101%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes