Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Merle's Horseradish Salmon Log Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Merle's Horseradish Salmon Log

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2011

      Yummy appetizer that practically puts itself together (except for the pulling out the bones part!) I must admit to being somewhat lazy cook, so instead of forming into a log, I lined a bowl with clear plastic wrap, put the salmon mixture in that. When it had chilled and set up, I inverted the bowl onto a serving plate and 'patted' the nuts and dill into the mound of salmon; surrounded the salmon with crackers and voila' a star is born! Thank you echo echo for a great appy. I agree that the liquid smoke 'makes' it. If I had had my thinking cap on, I would have used the smoked salt I have in it, too. Next time ... and there will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This was a tasty and attractive appetizer. I thought it was a little fishy tasting, but I have never used canned salmon before. Thanks, echo, for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      This recipe was the star of Thanksgiving 2009! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Stumbled across this looking for a way to use the canned salmon in the pantry. This is SO close to my Mom's recipe, a Thanksgiving favorite that I make now and then. First, kudos on the liquid smoke. Without it, this can tend to taste like tuna. Now it tastes more like "lox" Second, after cooling the salmon, we "roll" it in a mixture of dried parsely and chopped walnuts. Let it sit for a few hours before serving, and both the herbs and nuts soften a bit and become integrated intot hte outside. Thanks for reminding me what a good, easy, and cheap app this can be. (If you do have leftovers, mix it up and use it as you would tuna sandwich filling)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      This was very good! The liquid smoke really added to the taste. We will make this again for the holidays (and other times too).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      I love this! I made this for a small gathering with friends and every single person who tried it asked me for the recipe. I used the liquid smoke and would definitely recommend using it each time. The smoky flavor really enhances the salmon. I might try increasing the horseradish next time I make this as I love the punch of flavor it adds. Thanks for posting this echo echo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      Made this the night before a potluck and it was truely delicious. There was tons of food left over but not this one!! Thanks echo echo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      Delicious flavor and easy to make ahead!!! Next time I will probably make a 1/2 recipe and shape as a ball. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      I love this salmon log, and have served it three times this month for various get togethers with great success. Not only does this appetizer taste delicious, but it can be made ahead in just a jiffy. And...it's a fairly healthy recipe, especially if you use low fat cream cheese. I didn't use the liquid smoke, but will think about it for next time. If you have a small gathering, I suggest you cut the recipe in half like I did the second time I made it, since the log is pretty large and I hate throwing away something so delicious. For now, this is my favorite dish to bring to a party. Kudos to the chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      UPDATE! This went over great at my church potluck! Everyone that had it loved it. I tried what was left this morning and it is better the next day so my advice is to let it sit overnight, the flavors meld together perfectly! This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      This is excellent, easy to make and very tasty. I served it for our Christmas Day and everyone raved about it. Loved the addition of the liquid smoke and the crunch of the pecans. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      I made this for one of our Christmas appetizers..so easy to put together and tastes and looks great. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Fantastic! I halved the recipe, using a 6-ounce can of skinless, boneless salmon, and fat-free cream cheese. The fat-free version does not set up as firmly, but worked out fine. I had to use dried dill weed, and forgot about chilling again after forming the log and rolling it in the nut mixture--we just dug right in and the entire log disappeared in a hurry! We loved it--thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Merle's Horseradish Salmon Log

    Serving Size: 1 (13 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.6
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    90%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 15.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 82.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    canned salmon

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes