22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This reminds me of a recipe I use to make for my family, except you added 4 cups of Corn Flakes in it, and baked it for 5 min. longer. This is a good recipe when you are trying to watch your fat in-take.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nadine Cherry January 26, 2003

This was a really great recipe and I will do these again. If you have problems with the whites not coming to a peak it's usually because there some oil or fat of some type in the bowl or on the equipment. The lipids will prevent the egg white and air from incorporating properly. Grease free is a must!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HDUNN January 29, 2009

Nummy Good! I flavored this with cotton candy flavoring, put into pastry bag with #23 tip & piped into little clouds. As well, I put blue, pink, and yellow color paste for a little drama. They were a hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krsi Sue December 11, 2005

I was looking for a lighter version of coconut macaroons. I decided to try modifying this one with almond extract instead of vanilla and adding shredded sweetened coconut after reaching stiff peaks. Worked wonderfully! It pushed the calorie count up but they are stilll lighter than usual macaroons both in texture and calories. Besides I got quite a work out as I do not have a hand held mixer, couldn't think of a way to get a double boiler into my stand mixer and had to beat with a wisk! Whew! The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is the double boiler part. Thank you Abby for the great recipe and others for the helpful suggestions and recommended alterations.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CArabbit February 10, 2009

If you have problems getting your meringue to peak, you should add a small amount of cream of tartar. It should fix the problem.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperSpike December 27, 2007

I choose this recipe because of the pretty picture. I divided the meringue into 3 parts and flavoured them 1 part with rose essence and coloured it pink. pinapple essence coloured it yellow and raspberry essence and coloured it red. Dh loved them and thought I was a Gr8 chef.The only thing is I found this stove top method messey and stickier then other recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lemoncurd June 07, 2006

Quick and easy. I love that I had everything on hand. I made 16 large meringue's with 4 egg whites, just left them in a little longer. I probably could have left them in longer still, but I really enjoyed them hot out of the oven with a crispy crust and a gooey interior. Yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne August 05, 2012

These didn't really taste how I imagined them to taste... believe it or not they tasted and smelled just like campfire marshmallows! They were fun to make just not the flavor or texture I'm looking for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margieline December 17, 2010

This turned out well and was a hit with the teens, except they called it "purple bird poop" due to the food coloring and way I shaped the stuff. The taste and wonky shapes was a huge giggly appeal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siava January 01, 2010
Meringue Cookies