Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mennonite Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mennonite Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2014

      The whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

    • on January 22, 2013

      This was actually pretty good, we rarely eat sloppy joes (not too fond of them) but this has a subtle sweet/tangy taste and not overly "sloppy". I could see this going into occasional rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I used lean ground turkey cause it was on sale.... We loved this. Not too sweet and not too sloppy, just right for our tastes. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      These were good - the sauce was flavorful. I was also told it would make a good BBQ wing sauce. They weren't very "sloppy." I really did not like the lean ground beef because it turned out chewy. Also, I would never try to serve six people with one pound of meat. This is four servings. Perhaps I would make this again using ground chuck, proportioning 1.5 times the sauce ingredients to 1 lb., to serve 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I've been making the same sloppy joes for as long as I can remember, a concoction that my family and I love. I was looking for something a little different that would incorporate items that I ALWAYS have in my pantry, and this one did not disappoint me! I doubled all ingredients except the salt, and I added a couple extra dashes of worcestershire sauce, otherwise made the recipe as written. I will definitely add this to my cookbook, especially since it's an actual recipe that other members of the household can follow when the need arises as opposed to my own which is in my head and based on if it "looks" right! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Yumm-o! My kids and I really enjoyed these. Easy to make and less gloppy than Manwich (which I hate anyway, LOL).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      It was goooooood! Had them today for lunch. I enjoyed along with some dill pickles. Will be making again for sure! Thanks for sharing Puppity

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I made these b/c DH2B informed me that Sloppy Joes were one of his favorite dishes. Everyone loved them. Our 5 year old purchased lunch the next day because Sloppy Joes were on the menu and he said they were okay but that the ones i made were WAY better :) I added garlic powder to the recipe and didn't bother adding the salt. The recipe says it makes 6 servings, but I only got 4 Sloppy Joes out of the pound of beef... maybe our buns were bigger..... Thanks puppitypup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

    • on September 10, 2007

      I have been looking for a long time for a homemade Sloppy Joe recipe and this is it! I used onion powder instead of onions and doubled the recipe as there were 7 adults. What I didn't know was that Alanna and Brenna (my 1-year old identical twin granddaughters) would eat an adult share!! They loved it, as did everyone else. It is so nice that this recipe is made from things I always have on hand and I will make this often! Thanks Puppitypup for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      These taste very good and they are very easy to make. It's great when you are in a hurry and need something quick to make. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      This is a good, standard sloppy joe recipe, using basic ingredients that most people have in their pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mennonite Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.4
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    29%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 905.3 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    49%
    Protein 19.6 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes