33 Reviews

Paula G, thank you for this great recipe. We made it for our dinner group and boy where we the talk of the neighbor. We also used the Memphis Barbecue sauce that you recommend. The only thing we did different was cook them for about 5 hours and the meat just fell off the bones, I think that is what impressed our dinner guest. Thank you for making our night a big success.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Golf Gal April 07, 2010

My oh my can I give this recipe more stars! Made it with country style boneless ribs add granulated garlic powder(can you make food without it?) 1/2 the salt. Cooking time 3 hours was right on. Grilled it without sauce,didn't need it. What differance grilling made. Took it pass 5 stars. Couldn't wait to get a plate after getting it off the grill. A great hit at my house. Can't make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LibraryCon January 21, 2005

I thought this recipe would be too spicy paired with the sauce #99023 But it was delicious! I halved the rub recipe for one 2.75 lb. slab and it was just enough. Cooked for 3 hours meat side down, membrane removed and they came out juicy and fall off the bone tender. I love back ribs and have cooked them dozens of ways trying to perfect them, and this recipe makes it easy. Try them with the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dchefincharge May 30, 2015

Excellent ribs right here! If you haven't tried them, you should!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babbsy August 19, 2011

The absolute BEST barbque ribs I have ever had. It was cold & rainy the first time I used this recipe so I cooked them in the oven instead of grilling them as recommended for the last 5-7 minutes. I also used a bottle of Grandma Hoerners Barbque Sauce from Kansas instead of the Memphis style. My husband said I had outdone myself & sometimes he can be brutally honest so that was a big compliment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janetollis May 26, 2010

We love Sweet Baby Rays around here, so that is what I used for the sauce. The ribs were falling off the bone tender, and some of the best flavored ribs I have ever had! We all loved them and I look forward to making them on our grill when the weather is better, but for now the oven worked just fine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idaframe February 11, 2009

I am rating this more for the cooking technique than for the rub or sauce suggestions. I used leftover "Rudolph's Barbecue Spareribs" rub and Damon's bottled sauce and these were fabulous tasting and cooked perfectly. I will always use this technique for baking baby back ribs from here on out! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 June 15, 2008

Wonderful! I made the recipe exactly - while baking in the oven I thought they smelt too salty but they were perfect! Used with the BBQ Sauce - entered them in a friendly - Rib-Off one second place! out of 22.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sho enough February 11, 2008

Bar none, this is the most fantastic recipe for ribs ever. Everyone will rave, even people who aren't huge rib fans. The only ingredient I cut out of the rub mixture was celery seeds. The meat absolutely falls off the bone by itself, and a lot of the fat seems to melt away--a great side benefit of this cooking process. Definitely use the sauce PaulaG recommends - #99023.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancysFancies January 25, 2008
Memphis Style Baby Back Ribs