Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Memphis Style Baby Back Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Memphis Style Baby Back Ribs

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2010

      Paula G, thank you for this great recipe. We made it for our dinner group and boy where we the talk of the neighbor. We also used the Memphis Barbecue sauce that you recommend. The only thing we did different was cook them for about 5 hours and the meat just fell off the bones, I think that is what impressed our dinner guest. Thank you for making our night a big success.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      Excellent ribs right here! If you haven't tried them, you should!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      The absolute BEST barbque ribs I have ever had. It was cold & rainy the first time I used this recipe so I cooked them in the oven instead of grilling them as recommended for the last 5-7 minutes. I also used a bottle of Grandma Hoerners Barbque Sauce from Kansas instead of the Memphis style. My husband said I had outdone myself & sometimes he can be brutally honest so that was a big compliment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

    • on February 11, 2009

      We love Sweet Baby Rays around here, so that is what I used for the sauce. The ribs were falling off the bone tender, and some of the best flavored ribs I have ever had! We all loved them and I look forward to making them on our grill when the weather is better, but for now the oven worked just fine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I am rating this more for the cooking technique than for the rub or sauce suggestions. I used leftover "Rudolph's Barbecue Spareribs" rub and Damon's bottled sauce and these were fabulous tasting and cooked perfectly. I will always use this technique for baking baby back ribs from here on out! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Wonderful! I made the recipe exactly - while baking in the oven I thought they smelt too salty but they were perfect! Used with the BBQ Sauce - entered them in a friendly - Rib-Off one second place! out of 22.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Bar none, this is the most fantastic recipe for ribs ever. Everyone will rave, even people who aren't huge rib fans. The only ingredient I cut out of the rub mixture was celery seeds. The meat absolutely falls off the bone by itself, and a lot of the fat seems to melt away--a great side benefit of this cooking process. Definitely use the sauce PaulaG recommends - #99023.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I changed it to 2 servings and used one rack of Farmer John baby back ribs. I removed the membrane on the back and all the fat on the front, and since my husband doesn't like "hot" I only used 1/4 teaspoon of the cayenne pepper. Oh my gosh! They were the absolute best baby backs that we've ever had! I was able to do yard work while they were baking in the oven, and then I put them on our little Weber grill with mesquite wood to finish. My husband says, in his very best Elvis voice: "Thank You Very Much!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

    • on September 02, 2007

      SO DELICIOUS! I made these with Memphis Barbecue Sauce for the BBQ sauce contest and my family was so happy with these ribs and the sauce. I didn't even get to let them "sit" for any amount of time. I rubbed them with the spices and then baked them. I used a little less cayenne and made them with Country style pork ribs. I used a roasting pan with a lid and cooked them for 2 1/2 hours. DH then put them in an open aluminum container on the grill and at the end, he put them on the grill directly. We just loved these! Thanks a ton!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Wonderful! Sweet yet spicy, not sure how that happened, as all this recipe called for was spice. Truely delicious!!! I cooked my for four hours in the oven and only a few minutes on the grill as they were falling off the bone! so tender, no need for flossing when done!!!! Guests ranted and raved. Definately will make again and try the recommended sauce next time. Great post and it does remind me of Memphis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      Wow! My family loved this recipe. I have never made baby back ribs before. My husband bought two nice packages of pork ribs and we used Sweet Baby Ray's bottled sauce. The cayenne pepper adds a bit of spice that livens up this recipe perfectly without being too hot. This is really as close to perfect as ribs can be for us. It's also very easy and leaves almost no cleanup if you use a foil throw-away pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      My husband loves bbq but I never can get it right. This recipe is wonderful and simple. I would definitely make the bbq sauce that goes with it. I hesitated but I am sooo glad I did. It was spicy but a good spicy. Thanks for the help in my bbq dept!! UPDATE: I just had to post a photo of these amazing ribs! Plus, I don't think that I did justice to how tender and delicious they are! The ribs are fall off the bone good! Thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      My 16 yr old made this for dinner last night and it was awesome. Best ribs we've ever made at home. He added extra rub to the bottled barbecue sauce I had at home- it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      These ribs are fantastic! We actually fought over who would get the last couple of pieces :) I did cook them too long in the oven so I couldn't get them out of the aluminum foil since they were faling apart so we just slid them on the grill still on the foil, slathered on the BBQ sauce and they grilled up very nicely. I did make only half of the rub because I only had I rack ~ worked great and I had just enough. Thanks for posting a keeper, Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      Wonderful! This was the second time I made it. I only had to bake the ribs for 3 hrs before it was very tender. My husbands and our guests loved this recipe. Very flavorful! Our guests asked for the recipe. One of them said that she was not a ribs person, but it was soo tasty that she will have to make it. I make extra rub and put it in a seal zip lock bag so I would not have to mix it again next time. This recipe will be used quite often as summer is coming. Thank you so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      YUM! These were outstanding! I cut back on the spice and skipped the onion powder, and these were just so delicious. The timing was perfect too. They were done after 3 hours at 375. I didn't grill them, just basted the ribs in the sauce (I used 59772) then baked them for a few more minutes, and they were just perfect and fell off the bone. I'm definitely making this again, but with MORE ribs!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      I've using this rub for over a year now, and it really makes the ribs pop. Instead of grilling the ribs, I broil it in the oven. My mother has assigned me to make these ribs at every party we have, and no one is ever disappointed. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      Adding to my review: The evening we had the ribs, we also had a guest. He said the were the BEST ribs he had ever had, SO... for someone who really likes sweet sauce and not much heat, this is a truly great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Memphis Style Baby Back Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (524 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1405.9
     
    Calories from Fat 883
    62%
    Total Fat 98.1 g
    151%
    Saturated Fat 35.4 g
    177%
    Cholesterol 381.0 mg
    127%
    Sodium 2121.3 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 105.0 g
    210%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites