Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Memphis Barbecue Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Memphis Barbecue Sauce

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2014

      Overall, a good sauce. I never had Memphis style BBQ sauce before, so I might have expected something different. I think it needs more liquid smoke.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      Love it!!! This is, by far, the best BBQ sauce! Perfect amount of heat and it goes great with pork ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      A really simple sauce to throw together- but with fabulous results.
      We liked the heat in this, but next time would cut back a little on the mustard ( but then I did use a mixture of English and American mustard).
      Used this on chicken, but can't wait to try it on ribs.
      Another triumph Paula- thank you!
      Made for Aus/NZ Recipe swap#71.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      Recipe as written was way too hot for us. The flavor beneath the heat was good. Would half the hot pepper if we try this again. I doubled the brown sugar trying to mask some of the heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I made this sauce every time I cooked ribs last summer. Double the recipe, this stuff is good. The only sauce good enough to put on baby backs. Make just as is no changes needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      This was my first time making barbecue sauce from scratch and this recipe was EXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Thank you for this recipe. I served on chicken thighs and it was really good. This will be printed and put in my Tried and True cookbook. (I'm putting two together for my sons who are now out of the house )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Fantastic! I have tried many different ones. This is the best in my opinion. Some of my family did complain of the heat so I guess I will have to cut back on it but the flavor was out of this world. I will be making this a lot I'm sure. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

    • on September 24, 2009

      Wow! Really good sauce. I've found so many really good bbq sauces on zaar, and this one does not disappoint. Good and tangy, sweet, with just a bit of spice, but nothing overpowering. I made this last night and let it sit in the fridge, and today it's more mellow as far as spice, but the flavors balance nicely. This is going to be used in some sloppy joes tomorrow, as dinner plans for tonight have changed, and it's gonna be great. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe. I used a touch more liquid smoke, as mine was weak, and added a bit of molasses. No other changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Made this for our first official BBQ of the season. Served with burgers and hotdogs. My 8y/o, who normally hates anything with BBQ sauce, smelled it while I was cooking it and wanted to try it. I said,:"you don't like BBQ sauce",she still wanted a taste and loved it! That in itself was miraculous! This sauce has a great blend of flavors and was super easy to make. I used mesquite flavor liquid smoke.This BBQ sauce has a tang that was perfect for the hotdogs we grilled. Next time I might add a touch of molasses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      This is one of the best tasting sauces I've ever had - thank you! I didn't change a thing.. I will use this alot this summer.. highly recommended!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Excellent sauce. Very bold tasting and spices are just right. Makes you lick your fingers good. :) Great with pulled pork. I followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      You have a hit here...and I have been making my own sauces for years. I, too, used half the brown sugar and half molasses. Also cranked up the heat a bit by using a whole teaspoon of cayenne. Good stuff

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      This isn't your run-of-the-mill Kansas City style BBQ sauce. This is as close as I have found to an authentic Beale Street in Memphis mop sauce. I tweeked-it a bit by cutting the sugar in half and adding molasses in its place. Yeah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I cut back to 1/4 c. on the mustard and it worked for us. We grill all the time and we are always looking for new sauces to try, so we came on here to try some of the ones here. So far we have had terrific luck! This one is no exception. Tangy with lots of flavor, we enjoyed it a lot on a couple a racks of baby backs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      Delicious BBQ. Ended up with a very strong mustard flavor - would use less next time. Made a great marinade as well as extra for dipping. Thanks for a great tangy recipe - like I expect for Memphis style.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Very good. I made it as directed the first time but found it too tangy. I suppose that is how Memphis BBQ is supposed to be? The second time I tried it I added a half cup of honey, and that mellowed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

    • on September 23, 2007

      Absolutely Delicious!! An explosion of flavours in every bite! No liquid smoke, but did not miss it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Memphis Barbecue Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (899 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 452.5
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    24%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3254.1 mg
    135%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.3 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 74.5 g
    298%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites