26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good. It did taste like the one they serve at the Melting Pot, but ours was a little too thin. We followed the recipe exactly and it still came out a little soupy. Next time we may use less beer. Still a good recipe. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda December 13, 2009

We really enjoyed this! Made as directed, using Tillamook sharp cheddar and Jarlsberg swiss. It's important not to use pre-shredded cheese. Used a Bud Light and didn't find the beer flavor at all overpowering. In fact my 7 year-old son tasted and loved it. Served with bread cubes, multigrain and sourdough, rye pretzels, mushrooms cut in half, and baby carrots cut in half. Thanks for the sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 15, 2009

I'm fairly new to fondues. I thought this was teriffic! It was definitely a bit strong though, next time I will probably look for an alternate way to cook it. Perhaps less beer or using milk instead... like a couple of other reviewers mentioned. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene September 10, 2008

This is really close to the Melting Pot's cheddar fondue (a lot closer than the others on this site), but the cheeses are reversed. At the Melting Pot it's 2 parts sharp cheddar and 1 part Emmenthaler cheese. I've been going to the Melting Pot since the '80's and have made it many times at home, so I know the recipe well. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzeeQ May 12, 2014

Right now I'm sitting here wishing I didn't eat that much. Wow was this good!..I used a block of Smoky Cheddar/Swiss with a side of swiss. It was not thin, it was perfect and I can't believe we just ate a half a loaf of bread. Worth every Bite! Made exactly as posted and I will make this again next year after I walk it off-LOL! Thanks for posting! Most excellent!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's October 15, 2013

After reading some of the complaints of it being watery and soupy I thought I would mention this. When I went to the Melting Pot the waiter said the trick to keeping a good thickness is sprinkling a dash of corn starch on the cheeses to dry them out....otherwise you will have a ball of cheese and runny mess. Since I don't drink, we used bullion instead. Came out perfect and still so delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
callmelitldebbie June 18, 2013

It was so delicious. U had to subsitute the beer for milk though and i added more cheese to it but everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sldoerrer May 21, 2012

I started mine in a sauce pan, then transferred it to the fondue pot and it was perfect! Just use a medium flame on the stove (4-5 out of ten). It was a huge hit. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii January 03, 2012

This was a huge disappointment! I have eaten at the Melting Pot and made cheese fondue before, and this was by far the worst! Despite following all directions and ingredients to a T, the fondue was runny and had an overwhelming beer taste. The cheese never even fully melted, just clumped at the bottom. We added more cheese and flour to try to thicken the liquid, but to no avail. Such a disappointment!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie126_7220285 December 31, 2011

Made this as written except we cooked it in a heavy pot and then transferred it to the fondue pot to keep warm. The flavors were really good. The kids enjoyed it too. The main problem was that it became soupy after a short time. The cheese all clumped in the bottom and couldn't be stirred back into the mixture. It was just a stringy lump. Tasted good just hard to get cheese onto the dipping items.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denise November 06, 2011
Melting Pot Swiss Cheddar Fondue