Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Melt in Your Mouth Lemon Snowdrops Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Melt in Your Mouth Lemon Snowdrops

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2009

      These were really buttery. I thought they were really tangy, which I love. I halved the recipe and used one stick of butter to make the dough and the filling. I melted the butter for the dough, which may have made it extra greasy. I also used powdered sugar for the filling as well, so it was not too sweet for us at all. I used lemon juice for the dough and increased the juice by a tablespoon. It only took me 8 minutes and I think my oven's temp is pretty accurate. One drop of food coloring really helped the filling. I microwaved the filling to get it to mix together and it ended up being lumpy, which was okay for sandwich cookies, but I'll be more careful next time. I got 16 sandwiches out of a half batch. I want to try use a little less butter and also try them as thumbprints instead, as that would take a lot less work. update: these were so good i had to make them again the next day! the filling turned out fine without butter and i tried it out with a sugar cookie recipe sandwich instead since the shortbread is a little crumbly. stick with the shortbread as in the original recipe, it is much better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      These cookies were good, however a bit time-consuming to make. I used fresh squeezed lemon juice and followed the directions. I was unable to make my cookies as uniform as the beautiful photos as I found the dough to be crumbly even after leaving it in the fridge. UPDATE: My friends and coworkers gave these cookies such amazing reviews for taste I felt that my dough issues were not relevant and this recipe clearly deserves 5 stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Liked it but way too sweet. The cookies fell apart in some instances, and even though the filling smelled great and looked great it added loads to the sweetness factor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      They were pretty good, although I was expecting it to be drop-like and instead it was harder and more buttery. The filling was also not as hard as I thought it would become, but all in all a good recipe :) May try a buttery filling next time instead!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I took these to Christmas dinner and they were enjoyed. I didn't even get to have one! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      I made these for my class and everybody loved them! They were easy to make, I added 2 tsp more lemon juice in the filling (I like it when it's super lemony). The cookie tasted wonderful by itself...I cooked it for 6 mins in my oven. I waited for the cookies to cool, then used around 1/2 tsp of filling to sandwhich the cookies. I'm going to be making these again, thanks for a wonderful recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      These cookies, with their sweet-tart lemon filling, are delicious. I'm so glad to add a new kind of cookie to my yearly Christmas selection. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      I didn't care for the cookie but the filling is pretty good. The cookie is very tough and dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      I am going to attempt these again! They had great potential- but attempted to use Splenda and low-fat marg - which resulted in a very tough cookie! The Lemon Sauce was soo great - I will be going for it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      These are easy to prepare but didn't have much of a lemon taste. I had enough cookies for 22 sandwiches but only enough filling for 20 sandwiches. And I was only able to spread the thinnest amount of filling onto each sandwich. I think these would be better with a bit more filling in each sandwich. A good basic cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      Lemon-licious! These were a cinch to make and tasted fabulous. The cookies really did melt in your mouth and the filling was bursting with lemon flavor. Next time I will make my cookies a little smaller (maybe the size of a quarter) and increase the lemon filling by 1/2 so I’ll have even more lemony goodness per bite. Thanks so much for sharing these fantastic cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      Made these last night for a Teacher Appreciation luncheon. Everyone raved about them and I'm printing the receipe off now for them. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      These are just delicious & so easy to make. My kids helped me make them tonight & they are still droolig over the taste. We had more then 24 serves, which is just as well because they took some to our neighbours to show off their cooking skills. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      Just delicious. You really don't need the yellow food coloring, IMO. Next time I will double the recipe, as I only got about 16 cookies. I obviously made the balls too big but I'd still like more since they are so good and are disappearing so quickly. Thanks so much for sharing, glitter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      I did write this once but I guess I messed up on submiting. These cookies are great.I did use Uncle Bills suggestion of 1/2 cake flour and 1/2 all purpose flour. I made them with marg..but next time I will make them with real butter.For a richer flavor. I found if you flatten them good you get a larger thinner cookie. And make sure you let the filling cool(as CoolMonday said)or it will goo out the sides. I too will try other flavors. This is a yummy cookie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      My lemon loving hubby went wild for these, and they were fun to make. Thanks for a great one that I will make many times

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      Hi Glitter; Too bad that we cannot rate higher than 5 stars. These delicious Melt in Your Mouth Lemon Snowdrops are just that, melt in your mouth lemon snowdrops. I made one change and that is, I used half all-purpose flour and half cake and pastry flour, could be called Cake Flour in the U.S. This made the cookies even meltier if that is possible. Enjoyed making them and the Lemon Filling really hit the spot. Thank you so much for sharing a fantastic recipe. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      I just had to try these with all of the great reviews I kept seeing, and I'm glad I did! I only got 14 out of my batch, using a 1" cookie scoop, but they are delicious indeed. Next time I will make them smaller for sure. I made them without the food coloring and they were beautiful just as they are. I did not increase the amount of lemon juice, and I thought it to be just perfect for us the way it is. Thanks for this delicious recipe! Dianne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      You absolutely cannot eat just one of these! I made this recipe as part of my Christmas cookie marathon and sadly, very few of them actually made it onto cookie platters. DH and I couldn't stop eating them long enough to share them with anyone!! They are so light and pretty and bursting with lemony flavor. We just loved them! I do want to try them with orange flavoring & filling too as someone else suggested. Thanks, Glitter for a fantastic cookie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      Nice cookies, easy to make next time I might try doubling the lemon filling mixture and making my balls a little smaller but a definate keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Melt in Your Mouth Lemon Snowdrops

    Serving Size: 1 (29 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 129.4
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    57%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 21.6 mg
    7%
    Sodium 82.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes