28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were really buttery. I thought they were really tangy, which I love. I halved the recipe and used one stick of butter to make the dough and the filling. I melted the butter for the dough, which may have made it extra greasy. I also used powdered sugar for the filling as well, so it was not too sweet for us at all. I used lemon juice for the dough and increased the juice by a tablespoon. It only took me 8 minutes and I think my oven's temp is pretty accurate. One drop of food coloring really helped the filling. I microwaved the filling to get it to mix together and it ended up being lumpy, which was okay for sandwich cookies, but I'll be more careful next time. I got 16 sandwiches out of a half batch. I want to try use a little less butter and also try them as thumbprints instead, as that would take a lot less work. update: these were so good i had to make them again the next day! the filling turned out fine without butter and i tried it out with a sugar cookie recipe sandwich instead since the shortbread is a little crumbly. stick with the shortbread as in the original recipe, it is much better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tyk March 12, 2009

These cookies were good, however a bit time-consuming to make. I used fresh squeezed lemon juice and followed the directions. I was unable to make my cookies as uniform as the beautiful photos as I found the dough to be crumbly even after leaving it in the fridge. UPDATE: My friends and coworkers gave these cookies such amazing reviews for taste I felt that my dough issues were not relevant and this recipe clearly deserves 5 stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 March 11, 2008

Liked it but way too sweet. The cookies fell apart in some instances, and even though the filling smelled great and looked great it added loads to the sweetness factor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Barry January 15, 2007

They were pretty good, although I was expecting it to be drop-like and instead it was harder and more buttery. The filling was also not as hard as I thought it would become, but all in all a good recipe :) May try a buttery filling next time instead!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cabnolen December 31, 2006

I took these to Christmas dinner and they were enjoyed. I didn't even get to have one! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 December 26, 2006

I made these for my class and everybody loved them! They were easy to make, I added 2 tsp more lemon juice in the filling (I like it when it's super lemony). The cookie tasted wonderful by itself...I cooked it for 6 mins in my oven. I waited for the cookies to cool, then used around 1/2 tsp of filling to sandwhich the cookies. I'm going to be making these again, thanks for a wonderful recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PKG December 14, 2005

These cookies, with their sweet-tart lemon filling, are delicious. I'm so glad to add a new kind of cookie to my yearly Christmas selection. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao December 11, 2005

I didn't care for the cookie but the filling is pretty good. The cookie is very tough and dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes June 26, 2005

I am going to attempt these again! They had great potential- but attempted to use Splenda and low-fat marg - which resulted in a very tough cookie! The Lemon Sauce was soo great - I will be going for it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 June 11, 2005

These are easy to prepare but didn't have much of a lemon taste. I had enough cookies for 22 sandwiches but only enough filling for 20 sandwiches. And I was only able to spread the thinnest amount of filling onto each sandwich. I think these would be better with a bit more filling in each sandwich. A good basic cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky May 16, 2005
Melt in Your Mouth Lemon Snowdrops