Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Melt-In-Your-Mouth Barbecued Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Melt-In-Your-Mouth Barbecued Chicken

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2009

      Southern Living knows how to pick a winner - know I picked one with this recipe! Cut the recipe back for two - followed through as posted. Love this combination - so like the kind favoured here on the prairies. How good - it's on for our next gathering.Also thinking to slicing and threading chicken breast onto skewers, with that sauce it will make one wow of a starter or appetizer for our summer cookouts. Thank you Sharon. Made for the Auz/NZ August swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      I scaled back for 2 but my deli girl had a wee counting problem I asked for 4 thighs but ended up with 5 and then after I made up the sauce mix I realized I used a 1/3 cup measure instead of a 1/4 cup but it still turned out great and all cooked up in less than 30 minutes and with cooked rice reheated in the microwave was a quick and easy and very enjoyable meal, thank you Sharon123, made for Name That Ingredient tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      I made this for dinner last night and although it does have a small hint of barbecue, it tasted more chinese to me. I served it over vegetable fried rice and it was pretty good! Cooking it in the sauce, really soaked into the chicken and gave it great flavor. It was just a touch tangy for me. Probably because I was thinking of it being more barbecue than it was, but it was still good and Im sure I will make it again sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

    • on January 15, 2009

      What a coincidence...I made this last night from a clipping from Southern Living. Served with Parmesan grits instead of rice. We love it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      I really liked it! Used boneless skinless breasts and they were not overly tender, but definitely good. Loved the sauce. Will make this again. . .I think I will try the sauce out with some shrimp. . .YUMMY.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Sweet, saucy, slightly spicy and most delicious, and so tender that it was falling apart when stirred to thicken. We had no green onions in the house, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. OZ swap Aug 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      Divine! This was so tender and full of flavor. Sweet balanced with a bit of heat, this was my kind of chicken! It tasted like an American version of Chinese food to me. I forgot the garnish, but the chicken was so pretty it looked like it was lacquered. Thank you Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Yummy! I used boneless skinless chicken thighs. I cooked it 25 minutes like you said. But after 10 minutes I turned the chicken thighs. This is full of flavour. And the chicken is so tender. Thanks Sharon :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I guess I didn't read the ingredients that carefully as I bought chicken thighs but they had the skin on them. I followed the directions directly as written and they were delicious!! My only problem is that two of my 15 yo DS friends unexpectly stayed for dinner and I had only bought a pack of four thighs. I agree with Toni, these are like a mix of BBQ and asian flavored chicken. Thanks for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Part BBQ, part teriyaki -- altogether fabulous. I used a combination of skinless boneless thighs and breasts in what was a fairly effortless meal. The flavors were fabulous not to sweet, not too spicy and a little tangy. Since I used the juice from a can of pineapple chunks, I added some of the fruit itself to my rice which worked really well. Would not change a thing to the chicken itself. 11/18: Wanted to add that I just had the leftovers with sweet potatoes grilled on an indoor grill. The flavor combination was exceptional and a nice alternate to rice. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Good~ for us this turned out really good. I chose to steam our chicken breasts. I can see trying this recipe with our drumsticks. Very easy to throw together in no time at all. Thanks for posting this recipe for us all to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Love, love this recipe. All 4 kids gave this the thumbs up. Since we did not have orange juice, I used 1 cup of pineapple juice to make up for it. I also used palm sugar instead of brown sugar. A new favourite. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Great recipe! The flavor was like a combo of chinese & barbecue foods-if that makes any sense! I liked the addition of fruit juices for sweetness instead of a lot of ketchup, which has a lot of refined sugar. I cut the sauce in half & used 2 boneless, skinlesss chicken breasts. I used Splenda brown sugar, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper & 1/4 tsp ground ginger. I omitted the green onions since I didn't have any. The taste of the sauce had a nice bite from the pepper & sweetness from the juices-a great combo. Chicken was certainly tender & juicy, too! Will have this again for sure :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      Great chicken! We used 4 drumsticks, so we had plenty of sauce/gravy for the rice and chicken. Thanks for sharing another keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      Oh my ~ this recipe is EXCELLENT!!!! I made it for dinner last night and we all ymmed our way through it. I made as posted except I left the skin on six thighs and at the end I skimmed the sauce. There was plenty of sauce for the chicken and rice. This is a great recipe for company. Thank you for posting another great recipe, Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Melt-In-Your-Mouth Barbecued Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 541.6
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    17%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 68.0 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1543.6 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.0 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 26.7 g
    106%
    Protein 23.8 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes