226 Reviews

You did it again Mysterygirl! I thought the Melt In Your Mouth Pumpkin Bread was the best but this one is outstanding! If I could I would give it 10 stars! I made one and when we tasted it I just had to make two more. Can't you tell we are all banana lovers ; ) After I made the recipe your way I added a few additions to the next two. One I changed the French Vanilla Pudding to Banana Cream Pudding and added nuts. The other I added nuts and chocolate chips. Another winner and a keeper, Thanks Mysterygirl! Truely, melt in your mouth!

87 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut March 05, 2002

This was the best banana bread I've ever made! It was so moist and delicious! It did take about 1 hour 15 minutes to cook. I noticed some said it fell apart. Just make sure you test it before you take it out of the oven. Tester was almost clean(just a little "stuff" on it) when it was done. One hour would not have been enough. But is it ever yummy! My mother is a Jiffy mix banana bread person, and doesn't like any others, but she LOVED this one! Even my kids did! :o Thanks for sharing, and I CAN'T wait to try your pumpkin bread!

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao August 14, 2002

Loved it!! The cake was GREAT!! The second time I made it I added toasted walnuts and believe it or not it was EVEN BETTER! I mixed it in throughout the cake and sprinkled it on top!!! FANTASTIC!! Everyone at work loved it too!!

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veenav April 16, 2002

Since this was the first time I bake, I followed the recipe word by word. However, being a nutty nut, I couldn't refrain myself from adding some chopped walnut. The baking pan I borrowed from a friend was well seasoned, so the cake looked perfect. Everyone in my family agreed that the taste was exceptional. So "You did the time (typing the recipe) and I get the price (receiving all credits)" :-). Thanks for sharing your recipe.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan May 02, 2002

This is the best banana bread I have ever made. I would never have thought of using pudding mix but it makes such a huge difference. Hey, if it works for cakes, it should work for breads. It is so moist and it really does melt in your mouth. When I have made banana bread in the past, I have always had the problem where the outside of the bread is burnt by the time the inside of the bread was done. I did not have that problem at all with this recipe.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelcakes April 03, 2002

I made this last night. I have 2 complaints. First, the bread stuck. I did not add anything or take anything away from the recipe. I followed it to the letter and I am a very experienced cook. Second, after 1 hour in the oven, the middle was still very raw. I had to bake this for an additional 30 minutes and it still isn't really done.

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharmin Abbott April 25, 2002

Easy to make, did not stick to the pan . I did use 3/4 cup sugar and added 1/4 cup flour because the first time I made it I thought it was too sweet. Pretty good.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyrene May 13, 2002

very good and moist i made this for my 1 yr old he loves it

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southern chef in louisiana March 26, 2002

Very easy, real moist and tasty. Glad you posted it. =0)

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yawzah March 26, 2002

Made this for a homeowner's association meeting, and it was fabulous! We paired it with a cinnamon, walnut, honey cream cheese. We made the bread a week in advance, froze it, then put it in the fridge to thaw for about 36 hours. It still tasted and looked great. Followed the recipe exactly, and had no problems with the bread sticking or taking too long to bake. The flavor and moistness were exceptional, plus it's an easy recipe. I'll definitely use this recipe from now on (can't wait to try toasted nuts, maybe the banana cream pudding, chunky peanut butter, etc).

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette May 06, 2002
Melt in Your Mouth Banana Bread