8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used stew meat instead of short ribs to lower the fat. I also added sliced carrots and golden raisins. I found simmering the soup for 60 minutes after adding the cabbage instead of 30 improved the taste and consistency.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Astarac May 30, 2007

Sooo good and very easy! I added a few extras - celery seed, worchestershire, and caraway seeds. Ate it over hot cooked rice. Everyone loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
malchan January 26, 2012

Very Good Easy to make. Just like the original I use to have at Markons on Lincoln Park West in the 80s. Used sirloin top roast instead of the short ribs cut in small pieces and used beef broth. Otherwise as is. Yum!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coobs December 06, 2012

I ate at Mel's back in the day and haven't found a Sweet-N-Sour Cabbage Soup to match it UNTIL now. Made as written - it is wonderful and I know it will even be better tomorrow. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salesgirl December 22, 2008

I made this soup back in the early 1980s for a dinner party and it received rave reviews. I lost the recipe and now am so thankful to find it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
denisemarie639 December 07, 2008

Really easy to make and flavor is great!! I used Splenda sugar and I couldn't be more happy with this soup. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mindful2004 November 24, 2008

My Chicago deli closed a year ago, and I have been looking for this recipe ever since...perfect Jewish style sweet and sour cabbage soup! I have made it with a hunk of pot roast as well. It is very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicago Girl February 07, 2008
Mel Markon's Sweet-And-Sour Cabbage Soup