Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mediterranean White Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mediterranean White Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2001

      I found this recipe to be very good, but only gave it four stars as it called for (in my opinion) way too much celery and onions. I cut the onions back to 1/2 cup and the celery to 1 cup. I also added 1/3 cup grated carrots. My husband loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      I've had this with the lemon juice and without as well as with chicken and with beef broth. Each time tasted great. It does take a little bit of time to cut up the onion, potato and carrot but it's worth it. Great soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      Super tasty! And pretty easy to make too. I only had one can of cannelini beans on hand, so I improvised a bit. Reduced the amount of stock used in each of the steps (but used close to 3 cups total). Forgot the lemon juice and it still was delicious! Increased the rosemary since it's my favorite herb. Thanks so much for sharing...I know this will be in the regular rotation as we come into fall/winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Great recipe! Like others, I pureed one can of the beans and one can was drained and rinsed, then dumped in. I did feel that I had to add quite a bit of sea salt and pepper...I also added a splash of skim milk, paprika, and a little herb de provence. We were scraping the bowls clean with a crusty artisan rye I bought. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Love this soup. First time i made this with homemade veg and chicken stock and 2nd time just homemade veg stock with a chicken stock cube. The first method seemed better

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This bean soup has become a staple in my house. And it's proof that a bean soup does NOT need pork or bacon in it to be delicious. The only thing I do differently is add an extra potato for more thickness. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Good soup and easy to make. Made a nice light supper with a piece of fresh bread on a cold night. I cheated and used canned beans and only made half a recipe (we still had leftovers!). Used the stick blender in the pot; next time won't puree everything since I think it would be good to have some whole beans. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This was a nice soup! I couldn't find Cannelini beans at the store (FYI- White Kidney beans are the same thing, and I didn't realize that) so I used dried Navy Beans. I didn't puree all the beans, but kept a cup whole and I think next time I will reserve 2 cups. Also, I would suggest a longer simmer time so that the dried herbs can soften and the flavors can blend. Served with Italian Peasant Bread for Bread Machine, Italian Peasant Bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I didn't change a thing about the recipe. It was very good. I used canned cannellini beans and bottled minced garlic. I pureed the beans until smooth in a blender. Next time I make this I will add an extra potato and an extra carrot for a bit more substance. This soup would definitely be great on a cold day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      Not bad, but not outstanding...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      YUMBERINI as can be! Pureed entire soup in blender so onions hubby did not see! :) Cannot simply beat this low-fat recipe! Definately a keeper for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      Great recepie, the thyme and rosemary add a lot of flavor. I used chicken stock and added a bit more lemon juice. Easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      We enjoyed this bean soup, I used 2 large potatoes and used my stick blender for the beans. The added lemon juice gives it a great flavour. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      Very good soup! I used all chicken broth and skipped the lemon juice. I only blended 1 can of beans and left the other one whole. I like texture in soup. Also I like a thicker soup so at the end I added a couple of big tbsps of vegetarian refried beans. This soup is a must with grilled cheese and bacon sandwiches! I love this recipe and I will be making it often. Thank you, Carla!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      Good Soup! The only things I did differently was I used half vegetable broth and half chicken broth since I didn't have enough of the vegetable broth. I used canned beans. Mine came out initially thinner than I usually prefer, so I let it simmer down a little to allow it to thicken just a bit. The lemon juice is a nice addition. It was super easy to make. I just ate it with some crusty bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2002

      Excellent soup. My husband loved it and he is very particular about his bean soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mediterranean White Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (362 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 342.3
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    10%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 28.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.4 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 13.5 g
    54%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 19.1 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes