16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found this recipe to be very good, but only gave it four stars as it called for (in my opinion) way too much celery and onions. I cut the onions back to 1/2 cup and the celery to 1 cup. I also added 1/3 cup grated carrots. My husband loved it!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N Joyner January 08, 2001

I've had this with the lemon juice and without as well as with chicken and with beef broth. Each time tasted great. It does take a little bit of time to cut up the onion, potato and carrot but it's worth it. Great soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 October 26, 2011

Super tasty! And pretty easy to make too. I only had one can of cannelini beans on hand, so I improvised a bit. Reduced the amount of stock used in each of the steps (but used close to 3 cups total). Forgot the lemon juice and it still was delicious! Increased the rosemary since it's my favorite herb. Thanks so much for sharing...I know this will be in the regular rotation as we come into fall/winter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laughing in the Kitchen September 21, 2010

Great recipe! Like others, I pureed one can of the beans and one can was drained and rinsed, then dumped in. I did feel that I had to add quite a bit of sea salt and pepper...I also added a splash of skim milk, paprika, and a little herb de provence. We were scraping the bowls clean with a crusty artisan rye I bought. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snoelle January 12, 2010

Love this soup. First time i made this with homemade veg and chicken stock and 2nd time just homemade veg stock with a chicken stock cube. The first method seemed better

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samantha_Arestia June 23, 2009

This bean soup has become a staple in my house. And it's proof that a bean soup does NOT need pork or bacon in it to be delicious. The only thing I do differently is add an extra potato for more thickness. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janny7 January 21, 2009

Good soup and easy to make. Made a nice light supper with a piece of fresh bread on a cold night. I cheated and used canned beans and only made half a recipe (we still had leftovers!). Used the stick blender in the pot; next time won't puree everything since I think it would be good to have some whole beans. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 November 15, 2008

This was a nice soup! I couldn't find Cannelini beans at the store (FYI- White Kidney beans are the same thing, and I didn't realize that) so I used dried Navy Beans. I didn't puree all the beans, but kept a cup whole and I think next time I will reserve 2 cups. Also, I would suggest a longer simmer time so that the dried herbs can soften and the flavors can blend. Served with Italian Peasant Bread for Bread Machine, Italian Peasant Bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksparker January 21, 2008

I didn't change a thing about the recipe. It was very good. I used canned cannellini beans and bottled minced garlic. I pureed the beans until smooth in a blender. Next time I make this I will add an extra potato and an extra carrot for a bit more substance. This soup would definitely be great on a cold day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bernrome January 13, 2008

Not bad, but not outstanding...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N1kita October 30, 2007
Mediterranean White Bean Soup