8 Reviews

Made a 1/2 recipe of this and cut each tomato in half so we each got a half with Greek Chickpea & Tuna Pitas for lunch. Really good, bright flavours here. I especially enjoyed the addition of pistachios here. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 16, 2010

Yum! This was great. I've never had a tuna salad before that didn't have mayo so this was a refreshing contrast. After reading the previous reviews, I added a few more pistachios that I really enjoyed. Since I halved the recipe the ingredients were too few to reach the blade in my mini processor, lol, so I just manually crushed them a bit. Thanks Susie for a nice treat. Made by an Unruly Under the Influence for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme June 15, 2010

mmmm....I loved it especially since it has some of my favorite ingredients in it. I didn't have pistachios nuts though :(. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassafrasnanc June 17, 2008

Delish Susie!! DH loved them as did I. Served them with your Julia Child's Herb Biscuits, a lovely match! I just made half a recipe for the two of us and used walnuts as that is what I had. It was a lovely cool supper and i will be making them again, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf September 18, 2007

Susie, the presentation of this salad is far more worth than 5 stars! BF wants us to make them as part of a buffet for 100 people because they look SO GREAT! The stuffed tomatoes taste as good as they look, although I won't include the pistachios next time, as I couldn't taste them at all. However, maybe I should have bought the salted ones that are usually served as an appetizer? I used green pistachios without shells that I bought that way. They might be smaller and more delicate than the salted variety. Well, I could try those or add toasted pine nuts (maybe leave them whole) or hazelnuts. The taste of the salad was very similar to the tuna salad I usually make which contains onions, olive oil, capers and lots of fresh parsley. However, it never occured to me that I could serve it in tomato flowers! Well done, Susie! I assume it was a RSC submission, wasn't it?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerduck June 13, 2006

Great salad! I love tuna and capers so this is my salad. I left out the pistachios because I didn't have any and also left out the sugar. I took a byte yesterday and save the rest for my lunch today! EXCELLENT. I will have it often in the future.Thanks SusieD!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia June 08, 2006

What a good dish! Since it is too early for good tomatoes here, I made this in appetzer portions, using Roma tomato halves. I did use Italian tuna in olive oil, a little more garlic than called for and skipped the sugar. I garnished with slices of black olives and extra capers. They were gobbled up instantly! Thanks, SusieD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate May 11, 2006

This is a really nice change of pace from the typical mayo based tuna salad. Very attractive and a nice combo of flavours. Big plus is that it is all South Beach diet legal since I used light parmesan and didn't use the optional sugar. I cut this recipe in half and made it for the two of us for lunch. The amount it made was just perfect, a very nice lunch for a summer day. Thanks for sharing this recipe and good luck in the contest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* July 02, 2005
Mediterranean Tuna Stuffed Tomato