Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mediterranean Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mediterranean Stuffed Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2011

      Delicious recipe! I love orzo pasta and stuffed tomatoes -- the orzo really gave the stuffing substance. I did not use as much basil as the recipe called for and I used crumbled feta vs. cubes. This dish would be a great luncheon item; however, it makes a great side dish as well. Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      Added ground cooked lamb, also used pine nuts rather than pistachios. Very wonderful summer meal! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      WOW! Easy and wonderful. I toasted pine nuts and replaced them for the pistachios. I mixed in some pine nuts with the orzo just before serving so they remained crunchy. Hubby ADORED this dish as did I.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      This was a very tasty dish indeed! Fresh and delicious, this is a keeper. It was made for me at a luncheon and I was told the recipe was easy to follow and well written. Thanks for a yummy dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      The pesto is excellent and combines nicely with the orzo, but I felt this needed something more to round out the filling than just the feta and the olives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2005

      Very tasty and easy to prepare. I have to admit to not liking the look of too-large tomatoes on the plate and opted for 2 smaller ones per serving. The dressing is very fresh-tasting and suited the other ingredients but I wanted one more thing to make this a 'meal'. Next time I will add a small tin of tuna - I think that would fit right in to the spirit of this recipe. Thanks, chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      Thank you for sharing this recipe and good luck to you in the contest. Oh baby, this is excellent and we have had lots of hot weather, therefore, it's a delight to have this for a light meal or with steak. Easy to follow instructions and the longest amount of time spent, is boiling the water to cook the Orzo. Per my post on the message boards, I had a few sips of ouzo, just for Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      The tomatoes were just delicious. The only comment I have is that I always soak my Feta in cold water. This way it is not too salty. I thought the feta combined with the parmasean would be a tad too salty. Otherwise just wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      A very easy recipe to prepare, with a good pesto flavour. Following the recipe exactly as written, I did however notice how much resultant orzo there was. After filling the tomatoes to capacity, there was excess, as much again as was used for six large tomatoes. It is not a hardship, because the orzo overage could be stored in the refrigerator and used in a Mediterranean Stuffed Tomato recipe later. Orzo is a favourite in my pantry; I look forward to enjoying your creation again, chef; thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      I have made several of the RSC recipes, but so far, this has been my favorite!!! I didn't have the pistacios to use in this recipe, but can't imagine it being any better. I will be using this recipe often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      This was served as a side at a luncheon of Zaar chefs, hosted by LoisM! Although I wasn't involved in the preparation, I have reviewed the directions - they appear to be accurate, clear & complete. Our hostess did note that the amount of filling was excessive for the number of tomatoes specified. These tomatoes are great for a hot summer day but I found the filling rather bland - even with the salt from the feta, I felt more was required.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      I really enjoyed these stuffed tomatoes! The pesto mixture smells heavenly and tastes great! 1 1/2 cups makes a lot of orzo! plenty leftover after stuffing 6 large tomatoes, I will use 1 cup in future. An excellent recipe and great presentation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      I really enjoyed this dish, the orzo mixture is way more than what you need to fill 6 tomatoes. I used the leftover as a base for a salad with cucumbers & chopped tomatoes. When I first served this I forgot to add the feta- Don't do that, it needs it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      This is a very flavorful dish. I made two changes to veganize it to fit my diet. First was to use vegan parmesan cheese substitute, the second was to use drained, pressed, marinated cubed extra firm tofu in place of the feta. There was a third change, but this one was accidental. I was making 3 contest recipes at the same time and didn't read the instructions carefully enough, and thought this dish was to be baked, which is what I did. It was a delicious hot dish and having had it hot we all liked it this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mediterranean Stuffed Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (594 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.2
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    44%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 14.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 324.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    salt & fresh ground pepper

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites