19 Reviews

this was pretty good. i prefer sauteing the spinach in oil and not water. good with goat cheese instead of feta.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milla January 27, 2002

Found this to be superb & authentic. Reminded me of the foods we ate while touring Italy and Greece. Thank you for sharing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoQu Russell April 23, 2002

Very tasty spinach dish! I loved the combo of flavors and was surprised at someone's comment that the dill made it awful. I used fresh dill and barely noticed it in this dish. I sauteed the onions, garlic and dill with a bit of olive oil...then also tossed in the tomatoes for a minute before removing all from heat. I loved the low fat method of cooking the spinach with water. I tried it and loved it. The pairing of capers and feta with this was also really great. I will definitely make this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl January 27, 2009

Oh My, this was really tasty. Was just looking for something to do with my leftover spinach and thought I would try this. Really glad I did. I sauteed the onions garlic and dill in some oil. Used Campanari (cherry) tomatoes because those are the only ones I find have any real flavor here in this City. After the onions and garlic were done sauteing I threw the tomatoes in for about 30 seconds. Sauteed the spinach in a little olive oil and not water. I really found this a delicious quick salad to put together. Didn't come anywhere near 25 minutes to cook though. And so colorful when put together. Thanks so much for posting Mary. Loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny September 02, 2008

I doubled the garlic and only had on hand about half the spinach. I, too, used olive oil, and would consider trying it with chicken broth instead of the water. I don't like dill, but I stuck to it and used my dried. I also added a breath of red pepper flakes just before step five, added a splash of lemon at the end of step 7 and I DIDN'T discard the liquid. Very tasty. I had it with some leftover swordfish that I flaked and stirred throughout. This would also be nice over rice or pasta, or with some canned garbanzo or white beans thrown in. The feta was the perfect touch. Would also be nice with fresh shredded parmesan, pine nuts or some cumin. What a nice base! Thanks, Mary! I can't wait to expand on this (or just keep it simple....)!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sidMILB March 10, 2004

I did alter this a bit, but we loved it that way. I looked at the other reviews and decided to add oil and lemon. I also barely wilted the spinach (and added much less, because of it), used more fresh dill and capers, and added potatoes, to make a meal out of it. The capers, dill, potatoes and feta went so well together in this. As another reviewer mentioned, it makes a delicious base to potentially add things to (like beans, potatoes, etc.).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito November 02, 2014

We really enjoyed the appearance & the taste of this recipe. I didn't have fresh dill so used dry. Easy to prepare - A definite do again recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy June 30, 2010

I don't like spinach, but my DH really liked this dish. I took it to a party we were going to as I had a ton of spinach in the house that needed to be used up and presentation of this dish is awesome - it looks so yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy March 08, 2010

simple, healthy and tasty, nuff said

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N0_0ne February 02, 2010

Only change I made was to use a regular salad tomato as that's what I had on hand. Made for Going Green for March.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive March 12, 2009
Mediterranean Spinach