Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mediterranean Scampi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mediterranean Scampi

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2011

      I chose this recipe last night because of all the votes. I am not normally such a creative chef, but our dinner guests requested Meditteranean so I gave it a try. SO glad I did! I ask my husband to rate my new recipes on a scale from 1-10. I've usually gotten 8,9 or 10- but this recipe got a 12! A first! The guests loved it too. Not only was it aromatic and flavorful, the presentation was nice, too.

      I made a few subs- I used chicken broth instead of wine (actually think it would be okay without it), I used regular tomatoes instead of plum, I used half the butter, I only had one roasted red pepper so I used jarred for the other, I only put in a few tablespoons of olives and about 1 (or less) TBS of capers (I was nervous about them). Even after ALL those substitutions, everyone still loved it. Served it with salad and a crunchy bread.

      It took me about 2 hours to make from start to finish- the major time killers were roasting the red peppers (1 hour total, but super easy, you can be doing other prep while you wait), and peeling, crushing and chopping all that garlic. Both of these things can be done the day before (store red peppers in oil), so I will be doing that next time. Now that I've done it once, it will be a breeze to do over, which I certainly will (again and again!).

      THANK you for this recipe, I loved hearing what a great chef I am! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Seriously - this took me FOUR hours to make from start to finish. I have never been so irritated with a recipe in my entire life. I don't know how anyone could possible prep this in 20 minutes (as it's listed). It was good, but certainly not great. That is 4 hours of my life I will never get back. I would highly recommend against making this. If you decide to make it, use canned tomatoes, bottled roasted peppers, ez-peel shrimp, and bottled minced garlic. Thank God that I got lucky with the olives - when I opened the jar, I was surprised to find that they were already pitted. I never want to see this recipe again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      This was amazing! The prep time did take a while but it was a whiz once that was done. I cut the butter in half and saut?ed the garlic first for about 1 -2 minutes then added the onions and took them out together. I added about 3 T of olive oil before adding the tomatoes. I used probably twice as much oregano and basil. Followed everything else as written. Served with piping hot Fenech baguette and feta cheese. Beyond Delish!! Happy New Year indeed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      A lovely variation on scampi, I halved the recipe and substituted regular tomatoes for the plum as i had a ton from my garden.I served this with caesar salad, Ev's baked feta (#67949)and hot french bread.DH said this was "slap your Mama" food.Its a keeper!!
      just made this recipe again..timed myself..took 20 mins start to finish.did use jarred red peppers.but still fabulous recipe.and really quick to whip up..maybe im a really fast chopper .lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      I think it took over an hour even with my shortcuts below, but well worth it. I used chicken (husband doesn't eat shrimp), 2 tblsp olive oil and 1 tblsp butter, garlic from the jar, a jar of roasted peppers (chopped), canned, crushed tomatoes, cilantro (no flat-leaf at the grocery store), no capers, no lemons. I also used a couple of squirts of bottled lemon juice. And it turned out FANTASTIC. I tasted before and after the olives (my husband is not a fan of those either), and they really made the difference. I forgot, I also added about 1 tsp of crushed red pepper. It needed salt to taste and we ate over pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      This was absolutely delish! My boys had never eaten Mediterranean anything before and were wowed by how great all of the flavors melded together, me too! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This is possibly the best dish ever! The house smells like a 5* Italian restaurant. Seriously, make this, then go outdoors for a minute and come back in. WOW! I figured if this tasted half as good as it smells, it will be a winner. Well it tastes TWICE as good as it smells. No two bites taste the same. You get a kick from a medley of ingredients that somehow magically changes with each bite. We took tails off before cooking which is definitely the way to go. Otherwise it would've been a mess to get the tails off while eating. Served over steamed rice. 50 bazillion million gagillion stars!!!! Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      In one word, "excellent"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Wow! I made this last night for a BBQ (as an appy) and it was not only a beautiful presentation- but delicious! I will keep this in the keeper file!! Thank you so much for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Let me just say that after my guests tasted this dish last night, they tried to convince me to open up a restaurant... Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Lovely, fresh, flavorful. Used jarred roasted bell peppers and dried basil- but otherwise followed your recipe exactly. Served over linguine. Mmmm- So, so delicious!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Everybody raves about this recipe, and I have to make it for all parties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Awesome! Don't know how I missed reviewing this fabulous recipe! While I only made half a recipe it was super easy to put together. The garlic easily prepped and sauted - the tomatoes given a quick hot dip to remove the skins and on to some quick chopping. Other then using a touch less of the olives (because that is all I had on hand) I made as directed with winning results! Definitely a winner. Only change I will make next time around is to make the whole 2 pound recipe and share with my shrimp loving family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      I had printed out this recipe long ago. I just ran into it again, sounded good, so I made it (without reading any reviews). My DH, friend and I all thought it was terrific. I did make a few changes: used half butter, half olive oil, regular onion, red peppers that were not roasted, half the tomato. I sauteed the garlic, onion and red pepper together and didn't remove them. Followed the directions from here on, used thawed, pre-cooked shrimp. Served over brown rice. I would definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      I thought this was a good recipe but I didn't find it to be great. In all fairness, I used jarred roasted red peppers rather than fresh (since I couldn't get to the store to get peppers) and I cut the butter in half per previous reviewers recommendations. I actually think I would have preferred a bit more butter to thicken this up (and that says a lot coming from me who cuts the fat in all recipes everywhere possible!). On the flip side...my husband thought it was GREAT! I think feta cheese would have been a great topper for this but I didn't have any on hand to confirm this. I would give this 3.5 stars...my husband would give it 4.5 stars so it's a 4 from us. Neither of my kids (age 2 and 4) liked this much but my 2 year old did enjoy the shrimp out of it. I will try this one again and increase the butter a bit, add REAL roasted red peppers and top with feta and report back! Nice change of pace from regular scampi!!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      I doctored this one up some replaced the tomatoes with Sun-Dried Tomatoes, and replaced one pound of the shrimp with scallops. Man it was GOOD. If you like scampi, you will LOVE this recipe! I also cut down the butter in 1/2 too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This is a fabulous full flavored dish. I paid heed to the reviews and reduced the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      My family really enjoyed this dish! I normally do not make dishes this high in fat, but occasionally it is worth the calories. I found the directions clear and the dish easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      This was amazing! The only thing I changed was I used chicken broth instead of wine. I will be making this version alot. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      Pretty good. My bf said it was a bit "fishy" and I thought the capers stood out too much, but other than that we enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mediterranean Scampi

    Serving Size: 1 (376 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.4
     
    Calories from Fat 253
    49%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 15.2 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 347.5 mg
    115%
    Sodium 1713.9 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 36.6 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes