21 Reviews

Fantastic salad. The chickpeas make it filling enough to be a complete meal. I made this according to the recipe and included the optional capers and added some sliced onion. Simple but great. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* July 15, 2013

Just the kind of salad my whole family enjoys eating! I had boiled up a batch of chickpeas and cannelini beans to make hummous and used equal amounts of each of those. All the veggies were great - each bite was delightful and different, and the dressing was fabulous. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 17, 2011

This was a huge hit, and as it was so quick to make too that made it a hit all round. I made half the batch, exactly as written (ok, yellow pepper instead of red...), and I had a tin of mixed beans instead of just chickpeas. My daughter nearly finished off the entire batch. I imagine cutting the oil back would be equally good, but as is was nice and rich and I liked that the vinegar didn't overpower the dressing. Thanks Dreamer, I'm sure I'll make this again again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner June 07, 2011

Loved this salad! The flavors complemented each other very well. I used some giant garlic stuffed green olives and extra capers. I could eat this every week! Thnx for sharing, Dreamer. Made for KcK's Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter November 16, 2010

OMG - this is delicious!!! It makes a super lunch to pack and is very portable. I made it exactly as written, except I did not use stuffed green olives, but a olive combination that included green, kalamata, etc. and I increased the olives to a full cup (because I love olives). I also did not julienne the peppers, but chopped them instead. Anyway...this was delightful and will be made regularly. Thanks for posting. Made for All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! December 15, 2008

I pretty much live off this dish, and can't believe I haven't reviewed it yet. It is awesome! I omit the olive oil, while pretty much increasing everything else (an extra clove of garlic and a little extra dijon and vinegar). I eat it with lettuce and tomatoes, and it is dee-lish! Thanks for this gem!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HPsauce October 22, 2008

How could I not LOVE this with both chickpeas and green olives! Really, this dish is many of my favorite things all rolled into a great salad to take along to a family gathering. I used 3T olive oil and thought maybe 2T would be sufficient without changing the rest of the measurements. I used the optional capers and they were very much enjoyed! Made for Zaar Stars tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI August 16, 2008

I took hints from other reviewers & cut back to 1/2 the amount of dressing I made for this salad & didn't include the optional capers (although I will include them another time)! Everything else came together quickly, & I had a great salad, thanks to you! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my partners in the vegan part of Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 04, 2008

I served this salad over a mix of greens, baby spinach and herbs. Very fresh and pretty with the color of the chickpeas contrasting with the julienned peppers. I also added some rd onion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate July 21, 2008
Mediterranean Salad