Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mediterranean Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mediterranean Rice

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2014

      This is a great recipe, I made this vegetarian with a veggie broth, we also added a couple of tsp of orange zest, dash of turmeric, some roasted walnuts and chopped mint. Came out a lovely color, incredibly aromatic & amazing flavor...defintely making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      I was a little confused about what size pan to use and exactly how much water to use-instructions said fill to 3/4 full so I am following the rice recipe on the back of my bag for that-should be a good side dish for chicken kabobs :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      Very tasty for such a mild dish. Made as written and served with baked chicken and green beans. Will use the leftover to incorporate into a Mexican rice. Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      I'd planned on making this last night, but when I went to my pantry I found the only rice I had was boil in a bag. Went ahead and used that and before I put the lemon in I couldn't stop tasting it. I didn't have any dried lemon rind, so I used a teaspoon of fresh lemon zest. Unfortunately that overwhelmed the savory flavor I got before adding the zest. Still a great dish worth repeating, just need to be sure to ease off on the lemon flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      A simple and easy rice dish that you can throw together with great result on a weekday. Pairs well with more flavourful meats etc, as the flavour of the rice is subtle and will not compete with the main dish. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Made with brown rice & it was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      Simply delicious made with brown rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      a terrific and simple rice dish, will make it often. I cooked it in the rice cooker and rather than stock powder used real chicken stock instead of water with everything dumped in at the beginning. yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This went great with Mozzarella-Stuffed Meatballs for dinner. My DS and I both loved this rice! I had a hard time stopping at one serving :) Can't wait to have the leftovers! Thank you for sharing this with us Mandy! Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      YUMMY rice recipe. Made this to go with a grilled steak that had lime and cumin and it was perfect. My only question was how much boiling water or what size pot or pan? I cook a lot of rice so i figured it out and it turned out perfectly. Made for Greece in ZWT4. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Wonderful side dish! I love rice and now have another recipe to add to my keepers! This cooked up wonderfully with no problems at all. Great directions. I would like more brothy flavor so I may stir in some extra soup base next time. Thanks Amanda! *Made for ZWT4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Wonderful combination of flavors. Hated the technique, but my pan and my stove are going to be different than yours. On my stove in my pan, this technique almost made me burn the bottom of the rice and have the top still uncooked. BUT! :) I saved it, and the flavor is so amazing, that I am definitely putting this in my keeper file and simply making it the way I would a pilaf normally and it will be a 5 star recipe then! :) This went excellently with the pork tenderloin I served with it, so don't think it only pairs well with fish. :) Thank you for posting, made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      The rice lovers that we are - everyone voted this a five! Read Flying Chefs review and went with the wild rice and agree - it was gorgeous! Going to do the saute and give the rice cooker a go next time around - yes I love my rice cooker! Going to pair it with fish that is in the planning for one of our suppers. Than you Mandy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      I enjoyed this a good deal as a side with some fish that I did for tonight's meal. The main change I made was to use brown rice because that is what I keep in the house these days. It just meant I had to cook it slightly longer but everything else was the same and it tasted good. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Great flavor I used basmati rice and next time will add more lemon. I made on the stove top but next time I will try the rice steamer. Great rice especially with fish. I made with Oven Roasted Tilapia With Tomatoes, Pesto and Lemon and Greek Village Salad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I served this with a lamb fillet and your Tomato Pesto Gravy excellent is all I can say!!! I made this with wild rice and all the flavour in the rice alone was gorgeous and OH my paired with lamb and that delicious gravy it was superb. I am so glad I made this as the side dish myself and hubby totally agreed a definite winner. So simple and easy and it is so full of flavour. A great rice dish Mandy and I will serve this often trying new recipes to pair this great side dish to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This was a nice tasty rice. Added a bit more lemon rind and used basmati rice. Thanks Mandy! :) Made for 123 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I liked the lemon flavor of this. Went well with a roast chicken. I used chicken broth instead of water and chicken powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      I used long grain rice and kept to the recipe as written however I didn't have to drain any water from the rice as it all evaporated. The texture was slightly mushy and the flavour was subtle however it made a yummy side dish tonight, thank you Mandy from OZ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I'm not going to rate this because I used brown basamati rice and didn't end up liking it. The recipe doesn't state the amount of water so I followed the rice directions and used 4 1/2 cups with 2 chicken bouillon cubes. I simmered it covered for 45 minutes and added the lemon zest in the beginning hoping for a stronger lemon flavor. In the end it didn't have much flavor and was mushy. Again this is probably because I used brown rice. Made for Zaar Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mediterranean Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 425.6
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    15%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 16.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.9 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites