Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mediterranean Kale & White Bean Soup With Sausage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mediterranean Kale & White Bean Soup With Sausage

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2014

      Fine Cooking is also my favorite food magazine and I've been making this recipe for several years. I use half again as much onion, carrot and celery and 12 oz hot Italian turkey sausage. I use 2 (14.5 oz) can beans and put one in the mini food processor with about 1/4 cup of the chicken broth, of which I use 7 to 8 cups. I find that 8 to 12 oz of kale is enough. We grow kale in our garden and I make this often and give some to a friend who is partially disabled and she just loves it. It also freezes well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      This was a really enjoyable soup. It has become a "keeper". I agree other posters that an extra squeeze of lemon balances it out. For me, I preferred more beans so I muddled about half a cup to give a little more meaty flavor. I didn't want to over do it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      We love this recipe! I will be making it again very soon! Thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      YUM! Great recipe...everyone loved it! Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2014

      Wonderful soup and quick to throw together. I doubled the recipe, but only used 1 lb of kale and it seemed to be more than enough. Great on this blustery day we had today! Thank you - I will definitely check out "Fine Cooking!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      The rating of 5 stars is based on the adjustments I made, so I'm not certain how I would rate the recipe as it is. Adding the lemon juice right before serving makes a big difference and cuts the garlic flavor.<br/><br/>I suggest instead of stirring in the kale and covering the lid to put the kale on top of the pot and let it steam and sink into the pot for the 15-20 minutes. It retains some of its body but takes on the flavor of the broth.<br/><br/>I suggest serving it with rye bread with an herbed (basil) butter.<br/><br/>The changes I made:<br/>* saute 1 green cardamom pod before adding the sausage (and keep it in the pot the entire cooking time - may want to find it before serving though)<br/>* instead of crushed red pepper flakes, crumble a whole dried red chile (with the seeds)<br/>* instead of chicken broth I improvised with the water from a can of canned chicken and the spices hot Hungarian paprika and turmeric. I didn't measure, but you should include a good amount.<br/>* instead of canned cannellini beans, I soaked a cup of white beans for 24 hours and used those - I put all of the beans in the pot on step 5, because the soaked beans don't mash.<br/>* I put the kale on top of everything and let it sink into the pot as it steamed. Leave uncovered.<br/><br/>Note that these changes make it spicier. If it makes you cough and sneeze to smell the vapors before you add the beans and kale, don't worry: the beans and kale tone it way down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      I had never really had kale before this soup, so I'll admit that it will be an acquired taste for me. By the end of the pot, I did grow to enjoy it. I will make this again but I may use a different green than kale. My husband enjoyed this, too, and he usually doesn't like soups. Even the kids ate it without too many complaints!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      Wow! Yum! My family loved it. My first time cooking with Kale. I used 1 pound Beef Kielbasa, added a little extra onion and garlic and drained the beans. Served this delicious soup with Garlic Toasts and there aren't much leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      Great Recipe. Full of flavor and texture. I did add extra broth as there is a lot of kale and 2 full cans of the white beans with crushing a half of one of the cans to thicken the broth. I also cut the garlic way down as my family is sensitive to it. The lemon zest and juice gave it a great brightness. Will definately make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2011

      Wonderful recipe. I doubled the recipe with no issues. I also allowed it to cook for a longer amount of time and added the beans and kale for the last 20 minutes. Great flavors, will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      This was a great soup--I left out the celery (didn't have any) and used 1 1/2 lbs of sausage formed into little meat balls. (We will use the extra sausage next time too, but the more flavorful the sausage the better--ours seemed a little bland.) I couldn't find kale at the store and so used spinach instead. This soup definitely needs the entire pound of spinach--and might be able to use a bit extra. (The spinach might cook up more than the kale?) Thank you for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      One of the best heartwarming soups I've ever had. there are so many subtle surprises; the tang of lemon, sweetness of the sausage (I used Sweet Italian with Fennel and Basil) & the slight crunchiness of the Kale. I removed the casing from the sausages and browned it well and used two whole cans of beans. I happened to have just roasted a small turkey, and used the pan juices after removing the fat to make the broth. It is a meal in itself with some crusty fresh bread. I have also used Sweet Chicken Italian type sausage with fennel, and that was just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      DH claimed this recipe World Class. I used hot turkey sausages; probably more veggies than it called for and used both cans of whole beans. I think the key is the fresh lemon zest and juice at the end. We heated up the leftovers the next day adding a can of chicken broth%u2026 wonderful!!!! Thank you for such for this great recipe. I had to promise my DH that we will be making this recipe again, soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      First time using kale, and I liked it more than I had anticipated. Loved it, actually! I used hot Italian sausage, and the kids declared it too spicy, but I thought it was perfect. I think I'll be making this again on a cold winter night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Wow, this soup is amazingly good! Even the pick 4 yr old enjoyed it. I did go with more broth for a total of 4 cans of chicken broth, and used the full 2 cans of beans because I dislike having partial leftovers to figure out what to do with - it is delicious and healthy. I didn't have lemon on hand but it was fine without. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This is an outstanding soup for a cold winter evening. I made this using hot Italian sausage and 2 cans of cannellini beans. I substituted fresh collard greens for the kale. Served this with french bread for a hearty and warming dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      I cannot stop eating this very flavorful, healthy soup. It's really good! I made the recipe as stated, with one small addition of 1/4 cup chopped Italian flat leaf parsley. Also, I did not add the lemon juice or zest, and instead, sprinkled it with grated Parmesan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      I made half a recipe and wish that I would have made the whole thing. I hadn't used kale in a soup recipe before and enjoyed it very much. Be sure to cut it up into bite sized pieces so it is easier to eat. I did use navy beans but don't think that changed the flavor any. Great soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      I have made this soup 4 or 5 times. I made the following changes to suit my tastes. I used 64 oz. broth and 19 oz. cans of beans (drained). Mashed one can of beans. I don't eat pork, so I used 3 links of chicken sausage (removed from casing). I used a dash of cayenne instead of pepper flakes. And, I found the plastic bag of cut kale easier (and less messy) to use. Great soup for cold winter days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Very good soup. Reminds of the one that Olive Garden sells but they use potatos and cream. I will be making this again. I doubled the amount of beans since made a lb of dried beans in my pressure cooker. I served it with some crusty bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mediterranean Kale & White Bean Soup With Sausage

    Serving Size: 1 (347 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.1
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    47%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 21.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 968.6 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    26%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 19.1 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes