23 Reviews

This is a great soup! I've made it a few times now and keep trying to add a little more flavor and substance. Here's my changes and both my husband and I think this the best version. Instead of six cups of chicken broth, use 8 cups. One bunch of kale instead of one pound. Add 1/2 teaspoon of oregano when the chicken broth is added. Add 1 cup of dry tortellini and simmer and additional 30 minutes. Top with grated parmesan cheese. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynette in Chandler, AZ January 19, 2016

Fine Cooking is also my favorite food magazine and I've been making this recipe for several years. I use half again as much onion, carrot and celery and 12 oz hot Italian turkey sausage. I use 2 (14.5 oz) can beans and put one in the mini food processor with about 1/4 cup of the chicken broth, of which I use 7 to 8 cups. I find that 8 to 12 oz of kale is enough. We grow kale in our garden and I make this often and give some to a friend who is partially disabled and she just loves it. It also freezes well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia37 April 22, 2014

This was a really enjoyable soup. It has become a "keeper". I agree other posters that an extra squeeze of lemon balances it out. For me, I preferred more beans so I muddled about half a cup to give a little more meaty flavor. I didn't want to over do it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PJ99 March 21, 2014

We love this recipe! I will be making it again very soon! Thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bananas October 17, 2011

YUM! Great recipe...everyone loved it! Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kmac August 03, 2011

Wonderful soup and quick to throw together. I doubled the recipe, but only used 1 lb of kale and it seemed to be more than enough. Great on this blustery day we had today! Thank you - I will definitely check out "Fine Cooking!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great!full June 17, 2014

The rating of 5 stars is based on the adjustments I made, so I'm not certain how I would rate the recipe as it is. Adding the lemon juice right before serving makes a big difference and cuts the garlic flavor.<br/><br/>I suggest instead of stirring in the kale and covering the lid to put the kale on top of the pot and let it steam and sink into the pot for the 15-20 minutes. It retains some of its body but takes on the flavor of the broth.<br/><br/>I suggest serving it with rye bread with an herbed (basil) butter.<br/><br/>The changes I made:<br/>* saute 1 green cardamom pod before adding the sausage (and keep it in the pot the entire cooking time - may want to find it before serving though)<br/>* instead of crushed red pepper flakes, crumble a whole dried red chile (with the seeds)<br/>* instead of chicken broth I improvised with the water from a can of canned chicken and the spices hot Hungarian paprika and turmeric. I didn't measure, but you should include a good amount.<br/>* instead of canned cannellini beans, I soaked a cup of white beans for 24 hours and used those - I put all of the beans in the pot on step 5, because the soaked beans don't mash.<br/>* I put the kale on top of everything and let it sink into the pot as it steamed. Leave uncovered.<br/><br/>Note that these changes make it spicier. If it makes you cough and sneeze to smell the vapors before you add the beans and kale, don't worry: the beans and kale tone it way down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jotis154 September 26, 2013

I had never really had kale before this soup, so I'll admit that it will be an acquired taste for me. By the end of the pot, I did grow to enjoy it. I will make this again but I may use a different green than kale. My husband enjoyed this, too, and he usually doesn't like soups. Even the kids ate it without too many complaints!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zee November 05, 2012

Wow! Yum! My family loved it. My first time cooking with Kale. I used 1 pound Beef Kielbasa, added a little extra onion and garlic and drained the beans. Served this delicious soup with Garlic Toasts and there aren't much leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktkate June 06, 2012

Great Recipe. Full of flavor and texture. I did add extra broth as there is a lot of kale and 2 full cans of the white beans with crushing a half of one of the cans to thicken the broth. I also cut the garlic way down as my family is sensitive to it. The lemon zest and juice gave it a great brightness. Will definately make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nurse2be May 11, 2012
Mediterranean Kale & White Bean Soup With Sausage