21 Reviews

The 3-star rating if for the recipe as is. After the following changes, we would rate it 5 stars. <br/>We roasted the red pepper and removed the skin. However, we found the flavor of the kalamata olives to be very overpowering. To fix this, we added an extra half of a red pepper (raw, not roasted), 2 tablespoons of plain yogurt, 1 extra tablespoon of lemon juice, 1 extra tablespoon of tahini, and 1 extra tablespoon of parsley. It was fine after these additions... and this resulted in more hummus :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D January 26, 2014

Oh my word, thank you for this absolutely fabulous recipe! I thought it was the best hummus I have ever had the pleasure to have tasted. And I made it!
The only thing I did to change it was pour boiling water on my chick peas a couple of times, stir it around a bit to get the skin like covering off the peas. The skin coverings float to the top.
It may take a wee bit more time, but it allows for a more creamier hummus. Again, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinderelladressmaker July 16, 2012

I made it for myself and a couple of moms I had over for lunch. It was sooo delicious. I like the spiciness...just right!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF.OF.THE.EAST November 13, 2009

OOOH My goodness this is so so yummy! Try this! My friend loved it too!! I also love #117045, #35625, and #11424.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennicarmen January 06, 2008

this hummus is SOOOOOOOO good! I have been wanting to try this recipe for quite sometime and I'm so glad I finally got to making it, it's just delicious! I increased the garlic and added in lots black pepper, I can't wait to make this again, thanks for sharing this great hummus recipe hon!...Kitten :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz December 12, 2006

When my local wholesale club stopped carrying my favorite kalamata hummus, I came here looking for a reasonable substitute. This was fantastic! My guests devoured it in no time. Next time I'll have to double the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2bizzy September 03, 2006

this was very good. i made exactly as posted, next time i will lighten up the garlic and eliminate the bell pepper completely

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears October 27, 2005

mmmm! Hummus!! I could die I love it so much! I added 6 cloves of garlic...and WOW! What a taste! A great recipe that is with pitas or just crackers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Italy October 26, 2005

This is very different from the hummous we are used to. It is very good, served it with pita .. Mine was very runny and I had to serve it in a bowl .. thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa August 26, 2005
Mediterranean Kalamata Hummus