Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mediterranean Kalamata Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mediterranean Kalamata Hummus

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2014

      The 3-star rating if for the recipe as is. After the following changes, we would rate it 5 stars. <br/>We roasted the red pepper and removed the skin. However, we found the flavor of the kalamata olives to be very overpowering. To fix this, we added an extra half of a red pepper (raw, not roasted), 2 tablespoons of plain yogurt, 1 extra tablespoon of lemon juice, 1 extra tablespoon of tahini, and 1 extra tablespoon of parsley. It was fine after these additions... and this resulted in more hummus :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      Oh my word, thank you for this absolutely fabulous recipe! I thought it was the best hummus I have ever had the pleasure to have tasted. And I made it!
      The only thing I did to change it was pour boiling water on my chick peas a couple of times, stir it around a bit to get the skin like covering off the peas. The skin coverings float to the top.
      It may take a wee bit more time, but it allows for a more creamier hummus. Again, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

    • on November 13, 2009

      I made it for myself and a couple of moms I had over for lunch. It was sooo delicious. I like the spiciness...just right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      OOOH My goodness this is so so yummy! Try this! My friend loved it too!! I also love #117045, #35625, and #11424.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      this hummus is SOOOOOOOO good! I have been wanting to try this recipe for quite sometime and I'm so glad I finally got to making it, it's just delicious! I increased the garlic and added in lots black pepper, I can't wait to make this again, thanks for sharing this great hummus recipe hon!...Kitten :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      When my local wholesale club stopped carrying my favorite kalamata hummus, I came here looking for a reasonable substitute. This was fantastic! My guests devoured it in no time. Next time I'll have to double the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2005

      this was very good. i made exactly as posted, next time i will lighten up the garlic and eliminate the bell pepper completely

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      mmmm! Hummus!! I could die I love it so much! I added 6 cloves of garlic...and WOW! What a taste! A great recipe that is with pitas or just crackers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

      This is very different from the hummous we are used to. It is very good, served it with pita .. Mine was very runny and I had to serve it in a bowl .. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      This is my 1st attempt at hummus and it's a winner. Dh has never been a big fan but loved this recipe and commented that it's the best he's ever had. I made the recipe "as is" except on the olives, I had searched out pitted kalamata olives with no luck and resorted to a greek mix of pitted olives. I picked out all the kalamata which wasn't quite 3/4 of a cup and filled the cup with a variety of the other olives to get the correct amount - it worked and the taste was superb. I did find that a drained can of garbanzo beans is a scant 1 1/2 cups worth so I went with it. I did not add any water to thin out - it was the perfect consistency for us. I served it with baby carrots, sliced cucumbers and thin sesame rice crackers. I'm looking forward to serving this for company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      This hummus is unbelievable good. It turns a simple dish into heaven on earth. What a combination of flavors. The garbanzo beans hold together all the different single flavors without to smother them. There is the nutty flavor of tahini and the delightful sharpness of cayenne. The capers, garlic and the olives add their own flavors. The lemon juice supported each single flavor and adds freshness (together with parsley). You can really dip anything into this piece of cooking jewellery and you will be excited. I have tried it today with simple pan seared tuna (wonderful). Try it, love and come back here to render homage to ncmysteryshopper for this out of this world hummus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      There's always someone that adds that little 'extra' touch that makes a 'plain' recipe extraordinary. This one's IT for sure!! The ONLY change I made was to double the garlic and use LIME juice instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      i was disappointed when i heard we were having hummus and bread for lunch as i dont care for hummus. This was so good! The flavors are out of this world! Ours was not too runny. we enjoyed this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      I meant to try this & review it for RSC, but time didn't permit. However, I've tried it now, though I admit to using regular black olives as I'm out of kalamatas.This is one of the best tasting hummuses I have tried and I collect hummus recipes. I did find it a little thin, & would probably add more chickpeas next time like Sackville Girl. However, the important thing is the flavor and that was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      This was great -- so good in fact that I thought we'd have one bowl and save the rest but we ended up scoffing 4 bowls of it! I didn't need to add any extra water, in fact if anything I felt the dip was a touch on the runny side and might add more chickpeas next time, but other than that it was perfect. Zingy and easy to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      This was good. It was even bettr the next day. I will be eating this simple but delicious hummus often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      This is a new Hummus Favorite.Something has finnaly replaced my spicy black bean favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      Outstanding Hummus Chef! We all loved it! I made a huge batch of it so I have pleanty on hand. This is so much better than store bought deli hummus!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      This is, for sure, a five star recipe. I put everything but the capers in a blender and pulsed it until it was well blended but still had minced parts. I spread it on a unbaked pizza crust, topped with fairly thick sliced beef tomatoes and sliced swiss cheese and baked! BTW, I put one caper at the tip of what would be each slice. This whole thing was yummy...the tomatoes added the extra moisture needed and the swiss cheese added sweetness. Will sure use this hummus again, but who knows how?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mediterranean Kalamata Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.6
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    62%
    Total Fat 24.7 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 596.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites