12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I should have paid closer attention to the other reviews and used much less BBQ sauce than the recipe suggested. I used an entire bottle for 2lbs of meat and the BBQ flavor was too overpowering for us. We liked the onions and peppers, that added a nice twist. I don't think that I would make this again, but if I did, I would use MUCH LESS BBQ sauce than suggested.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DJ February 16, 2003

Yummmm! What a great way to make meatloaf. I doubled the recipe to make sure we would have leftovers and used a *lot* less BBQ sauce than called for. I probably used half a bottle for 2 lbs of meat and it was perfect. I used KC Masterpiece because it's my favorite and it's very strong so maybe that had something to do with it. I also used a red and a green bell pepper for coloring as suggested. My wife said this was the best meatloaf she had ever had. Definitely a keeper!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrinkDawg October 17, 2002

This is a very tasty meatloaf recipe! I also added the chopped onions into the mixture, vesus on top. I omitted the peppers b/c of personal preference and used Onion soup mix - didn't have French Onion on hand. I used "diana's own gourmet bbq sauce" and it was terrific!! I served this recipe with cheddar scallop potatoes and brussel sprouts - my hubby ate the leftovers the next day for lunch - the other "half" of the meatloaf! This is a keeper - I highly recommend this!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert May 02, 2002

Yummy! I made this for Worldwide Recipezaar Day. I doubled the recipe and it JUST served 6 people, unfortunately, there were no leftovers to test the next-day sandwich theory. I chopped up the onions and peppers and put them all into the meatloaf mix instead of placing half on top. Next time I'll add a red pepper for color as well.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj February 12, 2002

Loved this meatloaf. I also reduced the amount of BBQ sauce. There was no mention of the size of bottle and our favorite BBQ sauce comes in a 32oz bottle. This would have been way to much so I used 1/4 cup in the meat mixture and another 1/4 cup on top. It turned out perfect. This is a definate keeper. Thanks Leona.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rocket_j_dawg November 19, 2006

Good recipe. I also used less BBQ sauce. I used probably 1/2 bottle and 1 lb of beef. It was very tasty and didn't last long.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Z* June 26, 2006

Mrs. D I reduced the barbacue sauce also. I used less than half a bottle for 11/2 Ibs of ground beef. I had it the next day and it tasted even better. I also used hickory flavoured barbecue sauce. It gave it a great taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
florence duggan July 01, 2004

I've already made this several times, and each time it was a hit! I used both red and green peppers and half a bottle of bulls eye quality barbeque sauce (adding a little water to the sauce because of it's thickness and strong flavour). My boyfriend is very picky with food, but now he claims this is his favorite meatloaf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
micdr8 May 01, 2003

This is a really great tasting meatloaf. I've added BBQ sauce before, but never this much. Absolutely great. Family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carmen B. January 27, 2003

A big hit with the familly! Great flavor! We altered some of the amounts: 14 instead of 18 oz of barbeque sauce, 1/2 of large onion, 3/4 of green pepper. We will definitely be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
t-hak January 19, 2003
Meatloaf Twist