Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Meatloaf: Hey Virginia! Mine is Better!!! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Meatloaf: Hey Virginia! Mine is Better!!!

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2011

      Sweetloaf. I prefer the original recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      desert dinner, too sweet for us! My southern father in law, couldn't get enough- could be a regional thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      second time i've tried to make a meatloaf, everybody loved this one and asked for seconds! although i will cut the sugar down next time as i found it a little too sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      for a traditional baked meatloaf this was really good. but you should try the boiled meatloaf here on zaar. try it too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      I took a chance on this because it is so different from any other recipe that I have tried but it was much to sweet for me. I have to give it three stars, though, because I liked the oatmeal instead of bread or bread crumbs. Thanks for providing this recipe for my adventurous husband and I to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      I made mine with one part pork and two parts beef I also sub milk for sweetened condensed milk because I had none. We all liked it except for my daughter but she hates everything. I will make this again. I really liked the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I replaced the sweetened condensed milk with plain milk & liked it a lot better. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

    • on March 07, 2010

      Really good. A little sweet for me but all my teenaged boys (and DH) thought it was the best ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Very good! I was hesitant about the amount of sugar in it, so I used maybe a tablespoon less of the brown sugar. Great tasting meat loaf! Boyfriend and his friends agreed - One said I "redeemed" meatloaf for him! I used onion powder (didn't have flakes) but other than that I followed the recipe. I don't like ketchup so I just left the sauce off of mine. Delicious! Thank you! Now I'll have to make the "other" Virginia to compare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Awesome!! Found this recipe a few weeks ago and already made it three times. My family loves it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This recipe convinced me that I need to start making good old fashioned comfort food more often. I thought my husband was going to cry from happiness. Not only that, this recipe is a bit healthier than your average meatloaf due to the oats. (Plus I used 2% milk, and decreased the sugar and it still turned out perfectly.) Thank you for a new staple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Very tasty meatloaf you have here! We all loved it to. Move over Virginia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      You are right on with this meatloaf. I did add some tyme and upped the other spices a bit. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I love the other "Virginia" recipe and can't wait to try this one! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This was wonderful! I used 99% lean ground turkey, so it looked a little funny (more of a tan color than the typical meatloaf-brown!), but it tasted fabulous! I loved the fact that I didn't have to eat around the onions like I normally do! I served this dish with Skinny Mashed Potatoes and green beans for a low-fat, comfort food meal! Thanks for the recipe! We will enjoy this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Oh my gosh, this has to be the best meatloaf ever! I have tried many meatloaf recipes and none even come close to yours. My house was filled with a mouthwatering aroma while baking, I could hardly wait until it was done. The flavor is out of this world - thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Wife and I really enjoyed the meatloaf tonight and look forward to having it many more times. An easy to fix, tasty dish. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I was a bit skeptical about the milk and all the brown sugar. I thought it would make this too sweet. Hey, Virginia! This is the BEST meat loaf. I am throwing away my family's recipe--don't tell them. This is sooooo good--you simply must try it. Thanks for the great addition to my repetroire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      If you're in to a flavorful, but sweet-style type meat dish, this is for you. I made this for a potluck dinner, and kids loved it, going after second helpings. I prefer a more savory type of meat loaf. My favorite recipe is Alton Brown's which includes garlic cloves, garlic flavored croutons, red bell pepper, and thyme, so you can see why this variation wasn't five stars for me. A good family dish though and my husband really liked the next day's sandwich with a little BBQ sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Meatloaf: Hey Virginia! Mine is Better!!!

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.7
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    40%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 87.5 mg
    29%
    Sodium 561.4 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 24.7 g
    98%
    Protein 20.0 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes