37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for a family dinner last night and served it roasted carrots and potatoes. What a hit....everyone went home happy and full.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy of Glendale Ohio February 04, 2010

Like the other reviewers, it did take longer to cook. I subsituted 1 pound ground turkey for the veal and pork. My meatloaf hating husband thought this was a great recipe. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Delaney February 03, 2010

Good stuff! I added a cup of diced zucchini, used italian-seasoned breadcrumbs, 1# of beef and 1# of pork as I didn't have veal, added 1 tbs dehydrated diced onion and extra garlic. My meatloaf-hating DH really liked it, yay! Mine took about 75 minutes to cook through also, no biggie...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJ-Montana December 09, 2009

I omitted the veal and used pork sausage. Also used cheddar rather than Parmesan, as that's what I had on hand-- and reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon since I had sausage in the mix. This was extremely good, though maybe a bit dry, so I'll probably put in a few more tablespoons of milk next time. By the way, I divided it into two smaller meatloaves, but they still took one hour to cook through!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook November 11, 2009

This is my most used recipe from this website! I make this recipe often, and our family has loved it every time!!! This recipe responds well to improvisation, which is an excellent attribute to any staple recipe. I always use all ground beef, and at the end I shape mine into a loaf (none of the meatloaf touches the sides of the pan) to facilitate the crispiness of the edges and I usually have to cook it a little longer (I don't usually notice b/c I rely on my meat thermometer so heavily for most cooking). My husband had never had meatloaf before this, and now he asks for it regularly, and loves it always. One last note, do with this recipe what you can, if you don't have flat leaf parsley in the dead of winter, and it's 4.50 for a 1/4 cup at the store, use dried, same goes for the basil, even the garlic, although, I do prefer the real thing when it comes to that ingredient. Thanks for the excellent recipe! Many Happy Meatloafs!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Stimpfle January 11, 2009

This was the first time I have ever made meatloaf, never having been a big fan. This was great--full of flavor. You do need to plan more than an hour to cook it. Mine took 1 hr 20 min (but the last 20 was at 350). I used 1 lb. ground turkey and 1 lb. ground beef. I also used only two eggs and added some finely chopped onions and bell peppers. My husband said I could make it again (high praise) and is very excited to have meatloaf sandwiches for lunch this week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CongoGirl November 03, 2008

Sorry. I made this tonight exactly as directed. I had one bite and disliked it intensely. There was no flavor to it at all. Although DH said it was all right he didn't ask for seconds and neither did my guests. I have a brand new oven and it wasn't really done all the way through even after a hour. I won't be doing this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst April 06, 2008

This was wonderful a big hit with my kids to I did add a few extra veges and only used beef mince bets any meatloaf I have tried this ones a keeper, we ate it with mashed potato.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maudstar April 04, 2008

This recipe is excellant! I used ground turkey instead of veal and added some fresh mushrooms and onion. It is very easy to make, just mix it all up and form into a loaf. It took a little over an hour to bake though, but I have an old apartment size oven that I think is a little off. Great recipe! Everyone enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bongo979 January 07, 2008

all i can say WONDERFUL, very easy to make i did omit the veal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizztgang702 December 05, 2007
Meatloaf-Haters Meatloaf