Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Meatloaf-Haters Meatloaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Meatloaf-Haters Meatloaf

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2002

      I am also a meatloaf hater but this was great. I especially liked the fact that it wasn't as greasy as regular meatloaf. We did change the veal (I don't care for it)for ground turkey and added chopped onion and green peppers (as we add these to anything we can). My hubby thanks you for this recipe since I haven't made meatloaf in over a year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      I love meatloaf and this was a great recipe. I omitted the veal. Cook time was longer than 40 minutes, but I might have had a 'fatter' loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      This is a very good meatloaf recipe. One thing I did was to take peeled potatoes, cut into large wedges, place them in bowl & drizzle with oil. Add garlic powder, salt & black pepper, and mix around until coated. Place around the sides of the meatloaf in a large dish. Drizzle any remaining garlic oil left in the bowl over the meatloaf & bake. Also, use Italian seasoned breadcrumbs in the meatloaf. Serve with salad with oil & vinegar dressing & Italian bread. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      This recipe definitely needs onion which I think will add a little more moisture. Just a wee bit dry. Don't know how ANYONE found it done in just 35-40 minutes. Know my oven temp is correct and it took about 75 minutes. With a couple of tweeks, I'll use the recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      Followed the recipe exactly, baked it for 40 minutes and the middle was still raw. Since my husband was already starving, I just sliced it and microwaved it for a couple of minutes. It was tasty, but not salty enough. Next time I'll add more salt and pepper and cook it for 50 minutes instead. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      Let me set the record straight...we are not meatloaf haters! I chose this recipe as it sounded good and it was! I used just ground beef and pork as we don't care for veal. The meatloaf held together very well and the flavour was very good. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and placed potatoes and onions around the meatloaf while it cooked and that was yummy too. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Excellent! An Italian bent to the classic meatloaf. I cooked mine in a slow cooker with very good results. I placed the loaf on balls of aluminum foil to get it out of the liquid and placed it in a make-shift foil pan with drain-holes in the bottom. Cooked on low in 4 qt cooker for 5 to 6 hours.
      Red

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      I use oats instead of bread crumbs. I'm not a fan of veal or pork. so I just use plain ground beef and ground turkey. My DH loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Great recipe no need to change a thing.... but I only had ground lamb... so that was nice too ... thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Very good meatloaf. It made great sandwiches with the leftovers. I used dried herbs -- forget to buy the fresh ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      I made this for a family dinner last night and served it roasted carrots and potatoes. What a hit....everyone went home happy and full.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Like the other reviewers, it did take longer to cook. I subsituted 1 pound ground turkey for the veal and pork. My meatloaf hating husband thought this was a great recipe. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Good stuff! I added a cup of diced zucchini, used italian-seasoned breadcrumbs, 1# of beef and 1# of pork as I didn't have veal, added 1 tbs dehydrated diced onion and extra garlic. My meatloaf-hating DH really liked it, yay! Mine took about 75 minutes to cook through also, no biggie...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I omitted the veal and used pork sausage. Also used cheddar rather than Parmesan, as that's what I had on hand-- and reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon since I had sausage in the mix. This was extremely good, though maybe a bit dry, so I'll probably put in a few more tablespoons of milk next time. By the way, I divided it into two smaller meatloaves, but they still took one hour to cook through!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This is my most used recipe from this website! I make this recipe often, and our family has loved it every time!!! This recipe responds well to improvisation, which is an excellent attribute to any staple recipe. I always use all ground beef, and at the end I shape mine into a loaf (none of the meatloaf touches the sides of the pan) to facilitate the crispiness of the edges and I usually have to cook it a little longer (I don't usually notice b/c I rely on my meat thermometer so heavily for most cooking). My husband had never had meatloaf before this, and now he asks for it regularly, and loves it always. One last note, do with this recipe what you can, if you don't have flat leaf parsley in the dead of winter, and it's 4.50 for a 1/4 cup at the store, use dried, same goes for the basil, even the garlic, although, I do prefer the real thing when it comes to that ingredient. Thanks for the excellent recipe! Many Happy Meatloafs!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      This was the first time I have ever made meatloaf, never having been a big fan. This was great--full of flavor. You do need to plan more than an hour to cook it. Mine took 1 hr 20 min (but the last 20 was at 350). I used 1 lb. ground turkey and 1 lb. ground beef. I also used only two eggs and added some finely chopped onions and bell peppers. My husband said I could make it again (high praise) and is very excited to have meatloaf sandwiches for lunch this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      Sorry. I made this tonight exactly as directed. I had one bite and disliked it intensely. There was no flavor to it at all. Although DH said it was all right he didn't ask for seconds and neither did my guests. I have a brand new oven and it wasn't really done all the way through even after a hour. I won't be doing this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      This was wonderful a big hit with my kids to I did add a few extra veges and only used beef mince bets any meatloaf I have tried this ones a keeper, we ate it with mashed potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      This recipe is excellant! I used ground turkey instead of veal and added some fresh mushrooms and onion. It is very easy to make, just mix it all up and form into a loaf. It took a little over an hour to bake though, but I have an old apartment size oven that I think is a little off. Great recipe! Everyone enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      all i can say WONDERFUL, very easy to make i did omit the veal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Meatloaf-Haters Meatloaf

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 494.1
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    47%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 213.1 mg
    71%
    Sodium 905.2 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 40.7 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites