37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am also a meatloaf hater but this was great. I especially liked the fact that it wasn't as greasy as regular meatloaf. We did change the veal (I don't care for it)for ground turkey and added chopped onion and green peppers (as we add these to anything we can). My hubby thanks you for this recipe since I haven't made meatloaf in over a year.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W November 12, 2002

I love meatloaf and this was a great recipe. I omitted the veal. Cook time was longer than 40 minutes, but I might have had a 'fatter' loaf.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
St. Paul Eric December 29, 2002

This is a very good meatloaf recipe. One thing I did was to take peeled potatoes, cut into large wedges, place them in bowl & drizzle with oil. Add garlic powder, salt & black pepper, and mix around until coated. Place around the sides of the meatloaf in a large dish. Drizzle any remaining garlic oil left in the bowl over the meatloaf & bake. Also, use Italian seasoned breadcrumbs in the meatloaf. Serve with salad with oil & vinegar dressing & Italian bread. Yum!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmludo February 14, 2009

This recipe definitely needs onion which I think will add a little more moisture. Just a wee bit dry. Don't know how ANYONE found it done in just 35-40 minutes. Know my oven temp is correct and it took about 75 minutes. With a couple of tweeks, I'll use the recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marcia.ad February 18, 2009

Followed the recipe exactly, baked it for 40 minutes and the middle was still raw. Since my husband was already starving, I just sliced it and microwaved it for a couple of minutes. It was tasty, but not salty enough. Next time I'll add more salt and pepper and cook it for 50 minutes instead. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace Lynn December 16, 2003

Let me set the record straight...we are not meatloaf haters! I chose this recipe as it sounded good and it was! I used just ground beef and pork as we don't care for veal. The meatloaf held together very well and the flavour was very good. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and placed potatoes and onions around the meatloaf while it cooked and that was yummy too. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word March 27, 2013

Excellent! An Italian bent to the classic meatloaf. I cooked mine in a slow cooker with very good results. I placed the loaf on balls of aluminum foil to get it out of the liquid and placed it in a make-shift foil pan with drain-holes in the bottom. Cooked on low in 4 qt cooker for 5 to 6 hours.
Red

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Apple Guy August 24, 2012

I use oats instead of bread crumbs. I'm not a fan of veal or pork. so I just use plain ground beef and ground turkey. My DH loves it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ryleigh.Rhodes July 19, 2011

Great recipe no need to change a thing.... but I only had ground lamb... so that was nice too ... thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YnkyGrlDwndr April 20, 2010

Very good meatloaf. It made great sandwiches with the leftovers. I used dried herbs -- forget to buy the fresh ones.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
<Ming> March 29, 2010
Meatloaf-Haters Meatloaf