Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Meatloaf from Good Eats Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Meatloaf from Good Eats

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2010

      This was kind of so-so. The only change I made was to use half ground pork and half ground beef. I thought that the thyme flavor was a bit too strong as well as the cumin in the glaze. The directions do not state how long to cook the meatloaf, but mine took about 1 hour and 45 minutes. I was getting tired of waiting, so I eventually turned up the heat to 375 degrees to bump up the cooking time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      Great meat loaf! I wasn't sure how I would feel about the carrots in it, so I made sure I chopped the veggies as finely as possible without actually pureeing them. We loved the kick of the glaze, but I only added 1 teaspoon cumin (a tablespoon seemed like too much to me). I did bake it a bit longer. Very much enjoyed around here--thanks for posting the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      I thought this was great and my husband loved it, too. (He who swears no one can EVER make better meatloaf or lasagna than his mother) He even commented a couple of times about how great it was and that he went back for seconds. I did make some changes but nothing too drastic. I only had lean ground beef so I used that. I didn't have enough garlic croutons so I toasted some bread and used that to make up the difference. Someone used up all my thyme (husband) so i used a mix of marjoram and basil, with an extra shake of basil thrown in (I like basil). I also added one of those small boxes of frozen spinach (thawed and squeezed very dry). I put that in the food processor with the garlic and other veggies. I did not have any bell peppers so I left that out. Also, in the sauce, I omitted the cumin, put a few shakes of ground ginger in instead (maybe a 1/4 to a 1/2 tsp), and added several dashes more of the hot sauce and worchestershire because I couldn't taste it in the mix. I baked mine at 350 for 30 minutes, then brushed the sauce on, then I baked it for another 50 minutes and it came out measuring 180 degrees. I probably could have bumped the heat down, or something for the last round of baking. Still it didn't seem overcooked. It was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      This is hands-down the BEST meatloaf I have ever had. Far from your ordinary meatloaf!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      Texture was very good, but there were just too many flavours. IMO, the chili powder, thyme and cumin were just not a good combo in those quantities and it almost tasted like some sort of sweet hamburger curry... my hubby didn't even like it, and he usually wolfs down everything in sight. I will make this again, but I'll definitely omit the chili powder and halve the amount of cumin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      This recipe is worth 5 stars. I'm giving it 4 stars because I made changes in this recipe. 1) used 32 oz mt. 2) used bread soft bread cubes, 3) cut back on the spices, because of the amount of mt. 4) used 2 eggs. 5) made mini meatloafs, baked in large muffin pan for 35 minutes. this recipe is fantastic, the best meatloaf I ever had, moist and flavorful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Pretty tasty! I decided to make this at the last minute, so a few substitutions had to be made. I didn't have any croutons, so I used two pieces of dried bread (that were about to be turned into breadcrumbs) with a bit of garlic powder. I also only had 2lbs of 96/4 ground beef, so the end result was a little crumbly, but good nonetheless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Best meatloaf ever! Alton Brown is always spot on. Use the Semifreddie's brand Super Garlic croutons if you can get them - they're by far the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Best meatloaf EVER!!!! Good flavor and nice moisture....use a probe to get it to 155...comes out perfect!!!! Easy and satisfying! Happy cooking!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Really good! I used a mix of ground sirloin, 85/15 beef, and turkey. Also used tangy BBQ sauce instead of ketchup. I'll always go to AB for classic recipes like this! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      This is a fantastic recipe, and it's only 8 Weight Watcher's points a serving, which isn't bad at all for so much flavor. I like it with cauliflower "mashed potatoes" and some steamed peas. Just like grandma used to make, only healthier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      I've had this posted on site for a while. It truly is the best meatloaf recipe I've ever tasted. Thanks again, Alton!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      My sons call this Taco Meatloaf. I omit the garlic, enough flavor from the spices. I bake it in my Baparoma (Artisan French baking) non-stick pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      This recipe works well for me. I usually use 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 ground pork and omit the cayenne and hot pepper sauce. You can "tune" the spices to suite your taste. Good quality ground meat on the lean side works best for me. The croutons can be left in their bag and worked with a rolling pin if you don't have a foor processor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      My favorite meatloaf (and I have made so many different variations)!! I have been making this since I saw the episode on the Food Network. I love the croutons and the glaze is fabulous!! It is a large loaf, so I freeze thick slices so that my DH can nuke and make a sandwich or whatever later. As far as the ground chuck/ground sirloin goes, I just use around 2 1/4 pounds of lean ground beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Meatloaf from Good Eats

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.0
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    49%
    Total Fat 22.1 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 110.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 827.8 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 27.7 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites