22 Reviews

Best meatloaf I've ever had, and so easy to prepare. The stuffing mix gives it just the "right" seasoning! It's also delicious when it's cold and sliced on a sandwich

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM February 14, 2003

We loved this. I sauted onion, celery, garlic, and a bit of left over orange bellpepper. I have used stuffing mix in a salisbury steak recipe I like, the patties come out great, give it a try. I also baked it with strips of bacon, instead of the sauce. I did make a mushroom gravy for my husband, I ate mine without, and found it did not need a sauce. The loaf stays together well, and is very moist. I will make this again. Thanks all for the additional ideas for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kaesey February 22, 2009

I love meatloaf but no one else in our family did until this creation. It is GREAT. I added 1/2 cup each of chopped onion and green bell pepper and made twice the amount of topping. At the end of cooking broil for about 8 minutes to brown up the sauce. Outstanding!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rnickel March 15, 2006

Haven't made this yet, but will & add onion. Wanted to add my raves for using stuffing mix in meatloaf. Have used Pepperidge Farm mixes for yrs in meatloaf & many recipes as a dry bonding ingredient. Works great, tastes great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis March 07, 2006

Very good!! I'm a great believer that all meatloaf should be drowned in ketchup. In fact mine always is but I decided to depart from the norm and try this recipe. At the suggestion of another reviewer, I made brown gravy, Knorr to be exact. Since I was using brown gravy, I omitted the ketchup topping. Used 1/2 of an 8oz container of Stove Top stuffing, upped the eggs to 2 (I don't know why, 1 would have been fine) and browned some onion and added. Nice and firm, sliced well, brown gravy very good for package (Mushrooms would be a good addition to the gravy) and great flavor. And the ketchup stayed on the shelf! BF liked it a lot. Thank you so much for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindyCRNA September 06, 2011

My first experience using stuffing mix in meatloaf turned out to be a very enjoyable meal. I loved the addition of onions and I added chili powder and mustard in with the tomato topping I made for added flavor. This is a great basic recipe to play around with and will do so with this again. Really flavorful and delicious with raves from my hungry bunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janey FL August 27, 2011

Different but tasty. I used a corn bread Stove top stuffing mix that I had on hand. I think next time I will add onions and garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whittingtonkari March 30, 2011

I hope this review actually gets through, (new site,,loads of gremlins) because I feel so strongly about this recipe, this was my first experience with meatloaf, and what a wonderful introduction. I had to alter a few ingredients, only because of my gluten free requirements, but even so, the result was delicious. Thank you, Fluffy, for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WicklewoodWench August 16, 2010

Easy to make but this was the worst meatloaf I have ever made.......it was sooooo dry. We threw most of it away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA June 18, 2009

This meatloaf was awesome. The stuffing mix gave this alot of flavor. We loved it. I will be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom April 11, 2009
Meatloaf