75 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this many times but just got around to writing a review. Instead of breadcrumbs, I use the Kellog's Cornflake crumbs, so delicious! And I omitted the sage,to me that is only for stuffing at christmas and being from the south, can't imagine that in meatloaf. I also use small can of tomato sauce with a sprinkle of brown sugar.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dumplin February 13, 2007

This turned out great! My meatloaf(Liptons Onion Soup recipe) is always so dry! This was moist and delicious. I added some Worchestire sauce too. I only used the ketchup on top though, cuz I knew DH wouldn't like the sweetness on top, and it still turned out great! Thanks for the recipe this will be what I make from now on!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee September 25, 2003

Even though I changed up yur recipe a little I wanted to make sure I gave it a 5 star rating. These are the changes I made; I toasted bread for breadcrumbs and then pulsed them in the FP along with a clove of garlic. I used 2 lbs of meat and 3 eggs, but kept the measurements of the other ingredients the same and included a few shakes of worcestershire sauce. To finish it off, I made a 50/50 mixture of ketchup and bbq sauce. Baked for 1.5 hrs and let it rest for 15 mins. Came out perfect! I think the technique of soaking the breadcrumbs really makes this recipe stand out. Thanks for posting, I'll be using your recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 11, 2012

First time in my life making meatloaf and was the best, my 6 year old grandson had 5 helpings, I added one slice of bread broken up, very moist. delicious,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billisbusy March 02, 2010

This classic loaf itself deserves 5 stars; the glaze good but is much sweeter than we're accustomed to. I liked the bright red color. This recipe is probably one that both kids and adults can enjoy. I also used very lean beef and was intrigued with the use of sage. The flavor and texture of the loaf was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TommyGato July 14, 2003

I have made variations of this nice little recipe using grond turkey--b-b-que sauce on top and substituted celery salt for salt. Fin to play variations on this theme!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejriii April 03, 2003

Great, basic meatloaf, excellent flavor and texture! I used extra lean ground beef.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurieSLC January 19, 2003

Definitely the best meatloaf I've ever had! We loved it and the whole loaf was almost gone within a few hours! The glaze - oh my word, it's so good! As for the meat part, I like the fact it's not overly seasoned and you can really taste the beef. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog January 08, 2015

This was a basic meatloaf. The texture was good. Left the sage out. Used half catsup and half Ray's BBQ sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc January 02, 2014

I hate giving such a low review but this was almost mush. I liked the flavor profile but I baked it an addition 20 minutes in hopes of it firming it up.... no dice. I would try it again, with half the milk OR upping the breadcrumbs significantly. Thanks for posting Boies, I love the sage, who knew? Just not my loaf of meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja October 15, 2013
Meatloaf