77 Reviews

Even though I changed up yur recipe a little I wanted to make sure I gave it a 5 star rating. These are the changes I made; I toasted bread for breadcrumbs and then pulsed them in the FP along with a clove of garlic. I used 2 lbs of meat and 3 eggs, but kept the measurements of the other ingredients the same and included a few shakes of worcestershire sauce. To finish it off, I made a 50/50 mixture of ketchup and bbq sauce. Baked for 1.5 hrs and let it rest for 15 mins. Came out perfect! I think the technique of soaking the breadcrumbs really makes this recipe stand out. Thanks for posting, I'll be using your recipe again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 11, 2012

I have made this many times but just got around to writing a review. Instead of breadcrumbs, I use the Kellog's Cornflake crumbs, so delicious! And I omitted the sage,to me that is only for stuffing at christmas and being from the south, can't imagine that in meatloaf. I also use small can of tomato sauce with a sprinkle of brown sugar.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dumplin February 13, 2007

Just tried this recipe, to be honest it was way to moist, gonna try it with less milk next time. Other than it being to moist it was delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red D. May 13, 2015

This turned out great! My meatloaf(Liptons Onion Soup recipe) is always so dry! This was moist and delicious. I added some Worchestire sauce too. I only used the ketchup on top though, cuz I knew DH wouldn't like the sweetness on top, and it still turned out great! Thanks for the recipe this will be what I make from now on!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee September 25, 2003

First time in my life making meatloaf and was the best, my 6 year old grandson had 5 helpings, I added one slice of bread broken up, very moist. delicious,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billisbusy March 02, 2010

This classic loaf itself deserves 5 stars; the glaze good but is much sweeter than we're accustomed to. I liked the bright red color. This recipe is probably one that both kids and adults can enjoy. I also used very lean beef and was intrigued with the use of sage. The flavor and texture of the loaf was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TommyGato July 14, 2003

I have made variations of this nice little recipe using grond turkey--b-b-que sauce on top and substituted celery salt for salt. Fin to play variations on this theme!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejriii April 03, 2003

Great, basic meatloaf, excellent flavor and texture! I used extra lean ground beef.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurieSLC January 19, 2003

I like Lucky's better. Instead of using bread, try oat meal soaked in milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
downbeat1 January 03, 2016

Definitely the best meatloaf I've ever had! We loved it and the whole loaf was almost gone within a few hours! The glaze - oh my word, it's so good! As for the meat part, I like the fact it's not overly seasoned and you can really taste the beef. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog January 08, 2015
Meatloaf