Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Meatloaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Meatloaf

    Average Rating:

    143 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 143

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2002

      Great meatloaf! Being that I cook infrequently, I found that it took more than 10 min. prep time, but the result wes well worth the effort. Did not have breadcrumbs on hand so substituted an equal amount of crushed saltine crackers. My wife even stated that this recipe was one of my best efforts. Thanks. Don

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2002

      This was a lovely meatloaf, however, my husband didn't care for this recipe (I'm not a meatloaf person myself so he's the only one that ate it). I discovered that he thought the cumin and sage were a bit strong for his taste, he prefers cracker crumbs to bread crumbs, he missed the chopped green pepper in the recipe that I usually make, and he felt the meatloaf was too dense (don't know if this is due to the milk or the addition of 2 eggs because I use 1 egg in the recipe I make and it's not dense). I've discovered he's a one meatloaf recipe kind of guy and not willing to try new recipes (after giving this recipe a try). Please don't let my husband's comment deter you from trying this recipe, as it all came down to my husbands personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2002

      Oh, Karen was this ever good!!!! I didn't have any regular ketchup so I used 'hot' ketchup. My daughter even wanted it for breakfast the next day!! This is definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      This is delicious! This is the first time that I have tried to make a meat loaf. Easy to eat, soft meat and tasty. I expected the 'pour on after' sauce to sink into the meat and when it didn't I poured on a tablespoon of hot water, popped it back into the oven, the sauce was still on the top but tasted wonderful. This was a favourite with all the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2001

      I have been searching for a good meatloaf recipe, and this is by far the best I've found. It satisfied my picky husband and even my four year old son!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2002

      I thought it was so-so. I decided to try again and this time I added fresh basil, some refried beans, goat cheese, chopped Granny Smith apples and some soy sauce. It turned out moist and flavorful. My girlfriend just loved it and requests it all the time now. MMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      For my first time making meat loaf I have to say you made me look so good! I had friends over for dinner and had a hard time figuring out what to make for them since they are extremely picky. They LOVED it! The only thing I would change next time is to cut the chili powder in half. They thought it tasted great so this is just my personal preference. Thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2002

      Very very tastey. I added finally chopped 4 cloves of garlic. ~kali~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      Just goes to show that 2 people will eat the same thing and have 2 different opinions. I really liked the topping, however I was hoping for a little bit more punch from the Chili and Cumin, a good offset for the sweeter top. I will make this again but add a dash more chili and possibley a tad more salt. It is nice to have a little different swing on the everyday run-of-the-mill meat loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      I am a picky meatloaf eater - this recipe was very good as all the ingredients blended without anything over-powering. Only change I made was I added 1/4 tsp black pepper. The topping is what makes this dish complete. It is probably the only topping I'll use from now on. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I added French Lentils as follows: 1 cup dried lentils covered with 3 cups water cooked 20 minutes on stovetop. Drain. Add to meat mixture. I also cook in a 13x9 pan so it cooks in about 30 minutes. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      I found it to be quite plain actually. This recipe would require lots of tinkering to get the flavors I would like in it. This may be fine for some, but I need more layers of flavor to a meatloaf

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I was surprised that this was so bland considering the amount of spices, but it was. It wasn't bad, but I wouldn't make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      This was excellent! It was my first meatloaf and I was nervous about it turning out dry, but it was extremely juicy! I upped the servings to 8 and used 1 lb beef and 1 lb lamb with marjoram and rosemary instead of sage. I also upped the other seasonings by 1/2 to 1 tsp as most recipes are too bland for my family. The sauce on top was great too. I will definitely be adding this dish to the rotation! Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      This was a great meatloaf recipe! My wife usually makes meatloaf and she asked me to make upe some for sandwiches while I was home. I decided to try something different and used this recipe. Everyone loved it, including my son who usually doesn't like meatloaf. Thanks for a great receipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      I'm not usually a meatloaf lover, but this was great! I didn't have breadcrumbs so I used whole wheat saltine cracker crumbs instead. I also substituted Equal for the brown sugar as am a diabetic. This was so moist & flavourful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Great Meatloaf, ThankYou

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      My husband loves meatloaf but I do not make it often since it is so blah. This was great. I wondered about the chili pwd but you really don't taste it. Great flavor and I love the toping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2003

      Wow this was a wonderful meatloaf. I did not add the Worcestershire sauce.(can not stand the smell of that stuff.) I did use the dry mustard in the ketchup on top. I did add more onions then it called for. but since I am an onion lover. I just hope there will be some leftovers for the husband to try. He is a truck driver so all I have to say is he had better get home fast.... Going to take some to work with me today. Thanks for the recipe I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2002

      This was really good. Alot mositure than my own. I also loved the topping. Recommend this to anyone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Meatloaf

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.2
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    43%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 139.9 mg
    46%
    Sodium 696.5 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 27.5 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites