145 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great meatloaf! Being that I cook infrequently, I found that it took more than 10 min. prep time, but the result wes well worth the effort. Did not have breadcrumbs on hand so substituted an equal amount of crushed saltine crackers. My wife even stated that this recipe was one of my best efforts. Thanks. Don

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don Wray January 10, 2002

This was a lovely meatloaf, however, my husband didn't care for this recipe (I'm not a meatloaf person myself so he's the only one that ate it). I discovered that he thought the cumin and sage were a bit strong for his taste, he prefers cracker crumbs to bread crumbs, he missed the chopped green pepper in the recipe that I usually make, and he felt the meatloaf was too dense (don't know if this is due to the milk or the addition of 2 eggs because I use 1 egg in the recipe I make and it's not dense). I've discovered he's a one meatloaf recipe kind of guy and not willing to try new recipes (after giving this recipe a try). Please don't let my husband's comment deter you from trying this recipe, as it all came down to my husbands personal preference.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn March 27, 2002

Oh, Karen was this ever good!!!! I didn't have any regular ketchup so I used 'hot' ketchup. My daughter even wanted it for breakfast the next day!! This is definately a keeper.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitina June 27, 2002

This is delicious! This is the first time that I have tried to make a meat loaf. Easy to eat, soft meat and tasty. I expected the 'pour on after' sauce to sink into the meat and when it didn't I poured on a tablespoon of hot water, popped it back into the oven, the sauce was still on the top but tasted wonderful. This was a favourite with all the family.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Sara March 08, 2002

I have been searching for a good meatloaf recipe, and this is by far the best I've found. It satisfied my picky husband and even my four year old son!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierMomOf5 December 10, 2001

I thought it was so-so. I decided to try again and this time I added fresh basil, some refried beans, goat cheese, chopped Granny Smith apples and some soy sauce. It turned out moist and flavorful. My girlfriend just loved it and requests it all the time now. MMMM!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobo April 20, 2002

For my first time making meat loaf I have to say you made me look so good! I had friends over for dinner and had a hard time figuring out what to make for them since they are extremely picky. They LOVED it! The only thing I would change next time is to cut the chili powder in half. They thought it tasted great so this is just my personal preference. Thank you so much for this recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexi's Mom March 24, 2002

Very very tastey. I added finally chopped 4 cloves of garlic. ~kali~

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kali Grinter January 17, 2002

Just goes to show that 2 people will eat the same thing and have 2 different opinions. I really liked the topping, however I was hoping for a little bit more punch from the Chili and Cumin, a good offset for the sweeter top. I will make this again but add a dash more chili and possibley a tad more salt. It is nice to have a little different swing on the everyday run-of-the-mill meat loaf.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TammieV January 06, 2003

I am a picky meatloaf eater - this recipe was very good as all the ingredients blended without anything over-powering. Only change I made was I added 1/4 tsp black pepper. The topping is what makes this dish complete. It is probably the only topping I'll use from now on. Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady June 30, 2010
Meatloaf