219 Reviews

I can't believe I haven't rated this yet. I use this recipe as the starting point for a low-carb version of meatloaf. I follow the recipe with the exception of using 3/4 cup of almond flour and 1/2 cup of grated parmesan cheese as a binder instead of breadcrumbs. For the sauce I usually just use the remaining tomato sauce and mix it with some ketchup to pour on top. Everyone I've made it for has enjoyed it, even people who say they "don't care for meatloaf." Thanks so much for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vdm86 June 01, 2012

This is the best meatloaf! I have made it several times now. After the first try, I now use ketchup in place of the tomato sauce and only 1/2 cup water for the sauce. Adding vinegar to the sauce was something new for me and I like it..you get sweet & sour, which is yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peppergrrl March 30, 2012

OMG, THIS IS GOOD! Best meatloaf I've ever made. DH said it's the best he's ever eaten. Used about 2 1/2 pounds ground beef and increased other ingredients accordingly, baked in two loaves @ 325 for about an hour and 10 minutes. Only change to meat mix was addition of celery. For the sauce, I used 3/4 cup Tabasco hot catsup, 2 tablespoons hickory farms sweet hot mustard (from a Christmas gift box), 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar, and omitted the water and brown sugar. Sooo good, perfect complement to meat loaf...ladled on additional at the table. Served it with mashed potatoes and a green salad. A keeper, for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefcharleegirl January 18, 2012

This was so easy to make and absolutely delicious! I have tried other recipes before, but none as perfect as this. I used a sweet onion, seasoned breadcrumbs, and I omitted the water from the topping, as was suggested by some other reviews. I just spooned the sauce over the loaf and baked (at 350F) never needed to baste it. My husband, who is extremely picky, said it was the best meatloaf he has ever had. Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SKEMommy December 16, 2011

I didn't have fresh onion or crackers on hand so I used dehydrated onions and Panko crumbs. --Followed the remainder of the recipe as published and made two 1.5lb loaves. The result was a moist, soft-textured meatloaf. It was a change from the usual rougher texture loaves that we make. My wife and I really enjoyed it. She was crazy about the tomato-based glaze but I would have liked a bit more mustard for a bite. I'm going to make this one again. I forgot to mention that I upped the oven temp to 400 for the last 15 minutes to allow the glaze to setup.

Update: Dec 8,2011 -- I've now prepared this five additional times. We love it! I know that Meatloaf is very subjective, and linked to one's childhood, but this recipe works! It's not only terrific on it's own but is a great basis for other variations. My dear wife is a spice wimp so I make one to the letter then make another with a copious amount of cayenne or hot curry. The curry version is so good that I can eat an entire 1.5lb loaf in one sitting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomhensr December 08, 2011

This was really good! I used Schar gluten-free bread crumbs in place of the cracker crumbs and cut the water back to 1/2 cup for the topping sauce. Next time I will omit the water for the topping as some of the previous reviews have stated,only because we prefer a thicker sauce. My family requested that I make this again. Thanks for sharing Rosemary!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DownHomeDinner October 31, 2011

Oh wow this was so good! I made it exactly as stated, except added some garlic to the meat. It does make a ton of sauce but I liked it that way. The meat cooked in it and really soaked up the juices so it was very flavorful and moist. For as good as that sauce is, I'm not sure why anyone would complain about having too much of it! Will make again and again. Awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StaceyLyn78 October 17, 2011

I made this meatloaf out of ground turkey. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly as written....It is so good..I ate too much :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB October 11, 2011

A real winner. I listened to the reviewers and made 1/2 the sauce, and now I'm sorry!!! Make the whole batch. If you don't use, I'm sure you can freeze and use next time. DELICIOUS and easy to cook. Best thing - you probably have all of the ingredients needed in the cupboard already. Thanks so much for a fabulous, moist, meatloaf. Beats mine hands down!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea700 September 25, 2011
Meatloaf