218 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is a fantastic recipe! we loved the savory, rich taste of the sauce with only a hint of tangy tomato sweetness. i didn't have cracker crumbs so i used breadcrumbs. pure comfort food.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luckycloud29 October 15, 2003

This was really good the Sunday night I made it, served with macaroni and cheese and a mixed veggie. However in our family, meatloaf means sandwiches the next night and cold, this meatloaf just didn't cut it for sandwiches. It completely fell apart. Maybe it was the cracker crumbs. (I usually use breadcrumbs). Next time I'll substitute breadcrumbs and see if that makes a difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cher Jewhurst October 10, 2003

This was a great meatloaf recipe. My husband even thanked me for the leftovers. This one is definetly a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marguerite214 April 16, 2003

My husband said to throw out the old recipes. Finally, a recipe that everyone loves! Best we've ever eaten and smells wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl Collins January 13, 2003

I hate when this happens!! All these good reviews and I am the one not to like it. Giving it 3 stars cuz my husband liked it. I was skeptical from the start cuz of the brown sugar. I don't like sweet meatloaf but I wanted to try it cuz off all the good reviews. Didn't have crackers so I used italian bread crumbs. That was a little bit hard to mix so I added a little bit of milk and 4 garlic cloves. Halfed the sauce and didn't use a full tablespoon of brown sugar or vingear. Added only a tablespoon of water. Now I have all this leftover meatloaf! Ginna have to pawn it off on my brother.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel December 24, 2014

Yum! I've made this a few times now. I don't have a broiling pan, so I used a casserole dish and cooked it an extra half hour. Love the sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amiable December 13, 2014

Perfect meatloaf. Moist, tender, didn't fall apart. Loved the tangy sweet sauce. Bonus--makes excellent meatloaf sandwiches the next day. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 19, 2014

Its been so long ..searching for the perfect meat loaf..the kind I remember as a child. This fits the bill 100%.. Family rate was oh mum bookmark this!!<br/>Couple things I did though...I cheated and bought a couple small foil tins..cheat clean up lol.<br/>One for our wonderful dinner tonight and one for sandwiches for a couple days..and am I glad I made extra..<br/>I used ritz crackers for the cracker.<br/>I made no changes..except I drained when they were almost cooked. Kept it from being mushy and made a nice crust on top.<br/>I cooked along side double baked potatoes and fresh green beans<br/>Thank you for a wonderful keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed & Cheryl July 07, 2014

Really pleased with this. The only change I made was subbing chili sauce for tomato sauce. It was super moist but held together well and I will definitely be keeping this as my go-to recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryMama June 12, 2014

This is the best meatloaf recipe ever! After 25 yrs of refusing to eat meatloaf, I was able to get my husband to taste this recipe and he liked it! He even said he'd eat it again! That's great news for me because I LOVE meatloaf, especially this recipe. Woo Hoo! Meatloaf on the menu after 25 years!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinAnneS April 09, 2014
Meatloaf