222 Reviews

Great meatloaf...just like my mom used to make without the brown sugar topping. Thanks for posting a great meatloaf recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUGARBAKER03 September 21, 2010

I have made this meatloaf several times now and it's a hit every single time. Hands down the best meatloaf I have ever ate. I don't add water to the sauce mixture and a little more brown sugar than the recipe calls for because we like that sweet flavor it gives. I also saute up some green peppers and throw them into the meat mixture. We love this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WVU-Chef July 10, 2010

this is the best meatloaf recipe I have found! It had the slightly firmer texture that we like. I too used panko instead of cracker crumbs. Next time I will make half the sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sho enough March 05, 2010

This is really good and makes a large amount. We ate this and ate this for several days (2 adults and 2 very small children.) We had it w/ mashed potatoes and we had it on toasted kaisers. I'll make it again, but w/ the following changes: saute the onions a bit b/f adding to the mix (a bit *crunchy* for me), halving the water in the sauce mix (great flavor, very thin, agree that the caramelized/burnt sauce bits were delicious!!) and I'd like to intensify that!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
firealarmqueen July 07, 2009

This was an excellent meatloaf!! The only criticism I have of it is that the onions either need to be finely chopped or saute'd first because they were a bit uncooked ( chopped them into 1/4 to 1/3 inch pieces. My family all raved over the flavor though

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gillian Spence March 27, 2009

I adjusted this recipe to use 2 lbs of meat. I cooked this in the crockpot and it turned out great. All the sauce in this recipe made it perfect for the crockpot. I used half whole wheat breadcrumbs half whole wheat saltine crackers. I think using partial saltines or other crackers are a must for the most flavor because of the added salt. Mine sliced nicely as leftovers for meatloaf sandwiches.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
richabby February 10, 2004

Just made this meatloaf day before yesterday,it was so yummy!!!I loved the glaze on the outside it was so good.Actually the glaze was the reason I tried this recipe,and it was exactly as good as it sounded. Thanks,Darlene

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers January 12, 2004

Very, very good. I, too, had too much sauce and will cut it in half next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ November 16, 2003

This tastes exactly like the meatloaf I had when I was growing up and is the best meatloaf I've ever had. My children will even eat this and my husband has requested about once a week since I first made it. Absolutely fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tham November 11, 2003

I had to come back here and change my rating of this recipe from 4 stars to 5. I have not found a recipe for meatloaf that I like any better. It does make a lot of sauce, but most everyone was putting on top of their mashed potatoes and loved it. Thank you for sharing this recipe! I plan to make this our regular meatloaf.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keen5 October 15, 2003
Meatloaf