218 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was awesome!!!! My family loved it, and we are not big meatloaf eaters. Very tasty and easy to make. Thank you for posting it!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie LaBrake December 05, 2002

i've never been a big fan of meatloaf, but this was fantastic!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patty m October 31, 2002

This was absolutely delicious!!! My 4 year old son helped me make the loaf and had a blast doing it. The only thing I changed was that I used Apple Cider Vinegar instead of white vinegar because I love the taste of it. Will be making this again many, many times!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefanie828 November 18, 2010

I have been making this for over 40 years. My mother before me. I always use beef, pork and veal. And, now, I use corn flake crumbs instead of crackers due to celiac. It is still the same taste and texture (no one even notices). You can use tomato soup instead of sauce for a lighter taste, too.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sher440 November 02, 2010

This is a great recipe!! I followed some of the reviews, I didn't add water to the topping and used Italian Panko instead of bread crumbs or crackers. I also used a meatloaf mixture instead of plain hamburger and only had 1.25 pounds instead of 1.5. I made it into a loaf on a broiler pan like a previous review said. I baked it for an hour and ten minutes and it still wasn't cooked all the way through, I think next time I make this (and there will be a next time!!!) I will turn the temp up a little. Also, even without the water in the topping, there was still too much of it. I think I will cut that in half. Smells so good in the oven, it's hard to wait until it's ready to eat!! Thanks for a great recipe that I will make over and over for sure :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdubb07 October 11, 2010

This was okay but not tasty enough for my liking. The sauce was good- but as other reviewers had mentioned, it was a bit watery and there was 'too much' to spread on the meatloaf. Also, I made this in a loaf pan so it took an extra 30 minutes to cook through.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlamAtomic April 22, 2010

Made this last night and I have never liked meatloaf but this was AMAZING. DH cleaned his plate... twice. The sauce was delicious though I only made 1/2 the quantity and still have pleanty leftover. I cooked mine in a loaf pan but the fat from the hamburger (used 15%) was all over the meat. Next time I'll try shaping it into a loaf and putting it on a broiler pan. Will DEFINITELY be making this one again and again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindyP679 November 19, 2003

The mustard and vinegar in the sauce, along with the sweetness of the brown sugar and ketchup, make the flavor unique and delicious. (I omitted the water in the sauce.) I used low-fat ground beef and the meat was juicy and flavorful. I've tried many meatloaf recipes over the years but my search is over - this is the keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristobel June 24, 2011

My DH and son give this 5 stars! I used Panko bread crumbs instead of cracker crumbs and substituted our favorite BBQ sauce (Sweet Baby Rays) for the tomato sauce and ketchup. I then mixed EVERYTHING (topping ingredients as well) together, shaped it into a loaf and baked it. A winner!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieCHopp February 13, 2011
Meatloaf