222 Reviews

The meatloaf itself was excellent, but I found the sauce to be overpowering. I actually substituted ranch dressing for the tomato sauce, and you couldn't even tell there was anything different about it because the ketchup taste was so strong. If you use this meatloaf, I'd recommend a different sauce to go with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MindWanderer January 07, 2009

I have made this meatloaf three times. It comes out awesome every time. The best part is the amazing sauce that is poured over the top. The only change I made is that I used lean ground veal and bread crumbs in place of the cracker crumbs. It comes out super moist and has my family begging for more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diet Doctor December 29, 2008

I am so sorry I never rated this... I have made this at least 3 times in 2008 alone. I made this ahead of time while prego with the twins, loved it! We enjoyed it so much that I made it again a few more times. It is so moist and the topping is awesome! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celly December 29, 2008

I did not dilute the topping; I just shellacked it on and it came out great! I left out the salt because I thought it had plenty already. I can't wait until I'm hungry again so I can make a sandwich. DH loved it too. I did have to cook it for an hour and a half. Maybe next time I will add more pepper. UPDATE: This is still 5+ stars! I really like the topping 'undiluted' since it makes a fabulous glaze. This meatloaf slices so nicely it is perfect for that leftover meatloaf sandwich!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent December 20, 2008

You might now need another review but you get one. I made this recipe tonight and it was delicious! The smell while baking was wonderful too. The sauce poured over the meatloaf before eatting was delicious also. Next time I make it I might add some kick to it, maybe some Chili Powder or red pepper. Thank you for a wonderful dinner. I made Parsley Potatoes and Green Beans to go with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momma213 December 16, 2008

This was sooo delicious! It was so incredibly moist and the sauce had a great tangy and sweet flavor. I did end up with a lot of unused sauce, so I will just half it next time; however I think the fact that the loaf bubbled away in the sauce is what kept it so moist and mouth watering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sniffany November 28, 2008

Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriskyKitty November 25, 2008

I made this last night, exactly as written, except I left out the vinegar in the sauce because hubby hates vinegar. Also, I didn't brush and baste. I poured the sauce on and stuck it in the oven. It baked just fine like that! OMG....this was SO good. I took everyone's suggestion and only made 1/2 the sauce, but next time I make, I'll make the full amount. I got a huge thumbs up for making this and he even said, "I wish you had made 2!" Well, new recipe...I always tread lightly. But thank you Rosemary...you are now a part of my regular rotation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeAfter40 November 21, 2008

good meatloaf! i used bread crumbs instead of cracker. thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiemakin'mama October 22, 2008
Meatloaf