218 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

You might now need another review but you get one. I made this recipe tonight and it was delicious! The smell while baking was wonderful too. The sauce poured over the meatloaf before eatting was delicious also. Next time I make it I might add some kick to it, maybe some Chili Powder or red pepper. Thank you for a wonderful dinner. I made Parsley Potatoes and Green Beans to go with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momma213 December 16, 2008

This was sooo delicious! It was so incredibly moist and the sauce had a great tangy and sweet flavor. I did end up with a lot of unused sauce, so I will just half it next time; however I think the fact that the loaf bubbled away in the sauce is what kept it so moist and mouth watering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sniffany November 28, 2008

Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriskyKitty November 25, 2008

I made this last night, exactly as written, except I left out the vinegar in the sauce because hubby hates vinegar. Also, I didn't brush and baste. I poured the sauce on and stuck it in the oven. It baked just fine like that! OMG....this was SO good. I took everyone's suggestion and only made 1/2 the sauce, but next time I make, I'll make the full amount. I got a huge thumbs up for making this and he even said, "I wish you had made 2!" Well, new recipe...I always tread lightly. But thank you Rosemary...you are now a part of my regular rotation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeAfter40 November 21, 2008

good meatloaf! i used bread crumbs instead of cracker. thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiemakin'mama October 22, 2008

Awesome! The kidlets (an the husband) loved it even if I did mess stuff up a little. I wasn't paying attention and thought the water was for the meat instead of the sauce, subbed milk (my great grandmother always used milk in hers), beat it with the egg and threw it in the meat. :D Didn't have crackers and used bread crumbs instead. I like the idea of the oatmeal and will try it next time. I didn't have any onion, but I added some dried minced, lots of garlic, salt & pepper and our favorite herb mix. I forgot to add the tomato sauce to the meat and instead subbed it for the water in the sauce since by this time I'd discovered my error. Used apple cider vinegar and just threw in a splash. Added a little pepper and garlic to the sauce before putting all of it on the loaf and popping in the oven. It came out very pretty, with a light peppery taste and the texture was very nice. My husband has had me add this to our main line-up with the condition that I make it bigger next time. :D Oh, and our loaf was slightly smaller since my meat was closer to 1 1/4 lbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amis October 16, 2008

Turned out great. The vinegar was a bit overpowering and I will half the sauce/vinegar next time, but other than that it was delish! (and I don't even like meatloaf!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
souleap October 07, 2008

This was very good! Followed exactly except used 1/2 93% lean ground beef and 1/2 93% lean ground turkey. A hit with my kids! Served with refrigerated mashed potatoes and some peas for a good comfort-food meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hrfaretra September 14, 2008
Meatloaf