9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a slightly modified version of "Cheese and Nut Loaf" from "The Greens Cook Book" The original recipe calls for dried mushrooms (soaked) and fresh mushrooms. We have made this loaf several times and it is fantastic! If you like mushrooms, chop some soaked shiitakes or porcinis (1 oz dry) and add them. If you ever get a chance to eat at "Greens" restaurant in San Francisco, do it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ranch-girl September 12, 2008

I enjoyed this very much. I finely blended all of the ingredients, so that they all mixed evenly... but other than that followed it to a 'T'. Thanks for a delicious, healthy spin on Meatloaf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene September 04, 2008

I have been looking for a meatless loaf recipe and I was hopeful because of all the positive reviews. Unfortunately, I did not like this. I thought the rice was too much of an influence on the taste. It did not taste bad but I will not make this again. Alas, my search continues...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ayiti_cherie July 22, 2008

I'm always looking for meatless food for my husband, and well, me too. This was VERY good. It is very tasty, the consistency is good, and the flavors are excellent. This is the meatless meatloaf recipe I'll use from now on. Thanks! It was excellent :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandrisima September 02, 2007

I AM a meat lover but my step kids are vegitarians. I made this recipe and they loved and and I thought it was GREAT!!! Wonderful flavor!! Thankyou so much will put in my list of favorties.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy Jase August 27, 2007

I'm glad I listened to the previous reviews. Incredible! Makes great sandwiches!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
76sarah February 21, 2006

Oh wow. Just -- wow. This was soooo yummy. I don't like regular meat loaf and was looking for a good sub, well I found a fabulous one! Hubby and I gobbled this one right down and it's going in my Favorites file. Thanks, Geema!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodid January 27, 2006

I thought this was an outstanding no-meat meatloaf, Geema. Held together well and the nuts and brown rice gave it a very distinctive and delicious flavor. The combination and amounts of spices were just right. I made a light cream sauce to go with it. An excellent meal. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' April 30, 2004

Well, I just loved this dish! The taste was great and I served it with Sechuan-Style green beans. I didn't have marjoram, so upped the thyme a bit. Thanks so much for a lovely main dish! I chose this for the Chef of the Day game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 30, 2004
Meatless Meatloaf