Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Meatless Hopping John Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Meatless Hopping John

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2013

      I've never had hopping john before, but this is quite good. I forgot to buy corn so I had to leave it out, but I otherwise followed the recipe exactly. In addition to the hot sauce, I topped the dish with a bunch of pickled sliced jalapeno peppers- SO GOOD. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      Just loved it!! I simmered the vegetables in the tomato juice rather than using oil in order to cut down on fat and used low sodium tomatoes and peas - making a healthy dish even healthier. This dish is a nutritional gold mine - and it tastes sooo good!! Thanks Sharon123 - this is a winner!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      I really had no idea what a hoppin John was, but I now know this one is delicious! What a colorful, tasty and filling dish. I had some rice prepared previously and just scooped in what seemed like the right amount. I also used a can of mixed beans in place of the black-eyed peas. But what a great dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      A neighbor couple for whom I sometimes cook expressed an interest in Hopping John, so I've tagged several recipes to make for them over the next week or two! Although they got the largest amount of it, I did keep 2 small sides here for the 2 of us, & we thoroughly enjoyed it! Spicy, but not too much so, & in every way it jazzed up our meal very nicely! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      I really liked this. I made it exactly as written and it was very satisfying and healthy too. I made it as a side dish and everyone liked it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Although maybe not the BEST Hopping John I tried, it was still very good. I made no changes to this recipe except for adding some vegetarian bacon. I think it was all the extra vegetables that put me off a bit (it's not that I don't like vegetables, I love them), though I have to admit it made this much more healthful. Added a lot of extra hot sauce to serve. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Yum, yum, yum!!! Sharon, this is soooo good! DH said, "If this is someone's recipe, give it 5!" I must admit, I forgot the corn, and then added it in after the dish was done - at the same time, I tossed in some veggie sausage, which added an interesting smokey taste. I tripped on the red pepper flakes (intentionally), so it was good and zippy! I do wish I had a green pepper - I used one red and one yellow as that's what I had on hand. Couldn't find canned black eyed peas, so I cooked up a cup of dried ones. Perfect lunches for the week! Made for PRMR Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Very colorful and made a filling, healthy lunch. Easy on the budget, too. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Delicious endorphin meal! Just enough hot, spicy flavor for me, but easy for DH to add more to suit his taste. I even messed up and realized at the last minute that I didn't have a can of diced tomatoes. I added a large fresh tomato to the saute and it was still wonderful. We ate it as the main dish and had just enough left for us both to have a lunch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      I'm going to echo everyone else--this is healthy, colorful, surprisingly hearty, and very very tasty! It came together very quickly, too, which is always a bonus. I noticed that the flavor got better and better as the meal went on, so I imagine it is really tasty if made ahead. I won't be able to find out this time--between DS, DH, and I we cleaned the pan! We enjoyed it with Stewed Okra and Tomatoes. This might serve 10 as a light side dish, but as a vegetarian main I would say it serves more like 4-6. Thanks for posting! Made for Healthy Choices 2009.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I have read recipes and heard about "Hopping John" in my handful of years on "Zaar, but had never tried or made it before. This had all the ingredients that I had on hand and bf and I liked all the ingredients listed (except bf isn't too keen on brown rice lol), but he said he would try this with me. I used ingredients I had on hand; 1 cup shredded carrots for the sliced, and green, red and yellow peppers which I had previously julienned and frozen, and 1/2 of a small sweet onion, 2 tsp jarred, minced garlic, a heaping tsp of dried parsley, the dried thyme as stated, and a bit less salt. I estimated the diced tomatoes because all I had was a 28 oz can. I cooked up 1 cup of brown rice since that's how the rice dirs read, but approximated the cooked rice when adding in to the dish. Bf doesn't like hot sauce and I felt the red pepper flakes added enough nice zing for my tastes. I had the rest of the ingredients, and used them as directed. This makes a very hearty, colorful, delicious meal! I have never had black-eyed peas, but they were good in this. My finished Hopping John looked like the pic. Bf seemed to like this too. :) Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game. Thanks for sharing, Sharon123. :) P.S. I did not feel deprived of meat at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      5 Stars, wonderful mix of fresh flavors, and "where's the meat" DH was even enthusiastic about having this for dinner. I made the recipe as written, but did not need any hot sauce, the red pepper flakes added enough "zing" for us. FYI, 3/4 cup raw brown rice converts to 2 5/8 cups cooked brown rice. I was happy to have a heavy 5-quart nonstick everything pan to make this. This round is pegged for my lunch at work, so I will freeze in individual serving containers, glad to hear from Queen of Everything that this froze well. I will make DH beg for this! Made for veg*n swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      This is very tasty and wholesome and easy to put together! I used a green pepper only as the cost of the red and yellow peppers was sky high. Except for the pepper I used organic ingredients including Muir Glen organic tomatoes which I far prefer to commercial brands.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      This was really delicious and healthy, not to mention economical. I left out the corn as I don't care for it, otherwise made the recipe as written. I packaged the leftovers in disposable plastic containers and froze them for homemade frozen/microwave lunches. I let thaw in the refrigerator for about 4 hours and then heated on high for 2-3 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      Made this for our New Years Dinner and served with Cornbread Sticks what a great dinner, full of flavor and good for you to boot. Great way to start the new year. This is the first time I've ever had this let alone made it but it sure won't be the last. Afraid I did make one major change (which did NOT change all the flavors it came with) I added chunks of ham left over from our Christmas Dinner and I think it just added to the flavor. This makes a LOT, so be prepared for that. A specially good meal if you've got lots of company. Goes together quickly despite the list of ingredients - we'll be having left overs tonight and I'm betting it'll be as good or better than the first night. Made for "Please Review My Recipe Games"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      I loved this dish! next time I will double the red pepper flakes as I felt it needed a little more. I left out carrots because I didn't have any but I will make sure to add them when I make it again. im a vegetarian so this was a main meal for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      We enjoyed this easy, healthy, very colorful dinner tonight. We used quite a bit of Tabasco in order to get it to the level of spice we like, and this gave it a nice zip. The only modification made was that we used long-grain basmati as I was out of brown rice. Great weeknight meal, as it came together fairly quickly. Made for Sun and Spice 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Meatless Hopping John

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.9
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    14%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 265.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes