12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! Broth is savory, zingy, and yummy. The meatballs are super tender and flavorful. I used the food processor method to make them. I made it without the cilantro because it tastes like soap to me. I used the 1/4 t. cayenne in lieu of a fresh chili. It is just the right amount of heat. I will be making this again. I served it with couscous to soak up the broth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halima Dances February 03, 2015

These are delicious meatballs! I used ground turkey and left out the onion, otherwise made as directed. Loved the lemon flavor with all those spices, with just enough heat from the cayenne. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof December 29, 2011

This was fantastic. I made it for a dinner gathering, and 12 of us devoured those tasty meatballs. I made the beef version, and rather than using separate spices I used a "Ras al Hanout" spice mix that I had made previously, and just measured out the same total volume as if I would have used all the separate spices. I didn't have cilantro, so used a bit extra parsley. But I DID have preserved lemon, so loved being able to use it. Also subbed challah for the white bread in the meatballs. Served the meatballs over brown rice, with lots of sauce and bread on the side to soak up the sauce. Yum, yum, yum. Thanks for a fabulous dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too October 16, 2010

WOW yes the flavours are intense but then I may have upped that due my :oops: moment I added the the lemon juice and most of the parsley in step 9 and then simmered (oh did not use cilantro/coriander as we don't really care for it) and also added about an extra 1/2 cup of stock to the simmer liquid but the big test was the DM she devoured hers and actually asked for seconds. Served with recipe 44180. Made for ZAAR Stars tag game.

Pat

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 12, 2012

We enjoy trying different meatball dishes and this one did not disappoint! Very flavorful. I did not use the optional preserved lemon but did add some freshly grated lemon zest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms January 06, 2011

I totally forgot to put the parsley on top! Even so, this is delicious and I just wish that I had the preserved lemon to put in. I didn't have a red chili pepper but I did have a yellow-green one that I used 1/2 of and it sure fired up this dish! I loved the seasoning in this. Rice had to serve as it's bed because I discovered that I only had about a couple of tablespoons of couscous. I'm very glad that I tried it :D.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 13, 2009

I absolutely loved the delicious combination of flavors in the meatballs. I love lemon in and on just about any meat, poultry or fish, so I knew I would enjoy this one! I used 3 pieces of whole wheat bread instead of the 2 white, and it really helped in binding the meatballs better, then followed the recipe. I served it with Lemon Risotto and it was such a nice dinner! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Duonyte! Made for Zaar Stars 1/09 Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen February 01, 2009

I didn't really care for the meatballs in this tagine but everyone else liked them. I did double the amount of spices used in the sauce & DH sneaked in a tsp of tomato paste while I wasn't looking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh August 31, 2008

Wow! This is great - I kept to the recipe with the exception that I added a few chickpeas & a little egg to the finished dish (just because that is what DH likes!) I love this tagine & I will make it again - it's actually very similar to one that I make at home so this is a nice alternative. Thanks Duonyte for a winning tagine :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia February 05, 2008

Used ground beef & only 2 tblsp. lemon juice in the sauce. Skipped on the preserved lemons (didn't have any on hand). We had leftovers and it was sooo much better reheated, the sauce had really gotten into the meatballs. Next time I make it, I will make the day before, let it soak and reheat for the next night. Served over couscous, it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Canadian Chef January 12, 2008
Meatball Tagine With Herbs and Lemon