Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Meatball Tagine With Herbs and Lemon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Meatball Tagine With Herbs and Lemon

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2011

      These are delicious meatballs! I used ground turkey and left out the onion, otherwise made as directed. Loved the lemon flavor with all those spices, with just enough heat from the cayenne. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      This was fantastic. I made it for a dinner gathering, and 12 of us devoured those tasty meatballs. I made the beef version, and rather than using separate spices I used a "Ras al Hanout" spice mix that I had made previously, and just measured out the same total volume as if I would have used all the separate spices. I didn't have cilantro, so used a bit extra parsley. But I DID have preserved lemon, so loved being able to use it. Also subbed challah for the white bread in the meatballs. Served the meatballs over brown rice, with lots of sauce and bread on the side to soak up the sauce. Yum, yum, yum. Thanks for a fabulous dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      WOW yes the flavours are intense but then I may have upped that due my :oops: moment I added the the lemon juice and most of the parsley in step 9 and then simmered (oh did not use cilantro/coriander as we don't really care for it) and also added about an extra 1/2 cup of stock to the simmer liquid but the big test was the DM she devoured hers and actually asked for seconds. Served with recipe 44180. Made for ZAAR Stars tag game.

      Pat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      We enjoy trying different meatball dishes and this one did not disappoint! Very flavorful. I did not use the optional preserved lemon but did add some freshly grated lemon zest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      I totally forgot to put the parsley on top! Even so, this is delicious and I just wish that I had the preserved lemon to put in. I didn't have a red chili pepper but I did have a yellow-green one that I used 1/2 of and it sure fired up this dish! I loved the seasoning in this. Rice had to serve as it's bed because I discovered that I only had about a couple of tablespoons of couscous. I'm very glad that I tried it :D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I absolutely loved the delicious combination of flavors in the meatballs. I love lemon in and on just about any meat, poultry or fish, so I knew I would enjoy this one! I used 3 pieces of whole wheat bread instead of the 2 white, and it really helped in binding the meatballs better, then followed the recipe. I served it with Lemon Risotto and it was such a nice dinner! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Duonyte! Made for Zaar Stars 1/09 Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      I didn't really care for the meatballs in this tagine but everyone else liked them. I did double the amount of spices used in the sauce & DH sneaked in a tsp of tomato paste while I wasn't looking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      Wow! This is great - I kept to the recipe with the exception that I added a few chickpeas & a little egg to the finished dish (just because that is what DH likes!) I love this tagine & I will make it again - it's actually very similar to one that I make at home so this is a nice alternative. Thanks Duonyte for a winning tagine :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Used ground beef & only 2 tblsp. lemon juice in the sauce. Skipped on the preserved lemons (didn't have any on hand). We had leftovers and it was sooo much better reheated, the sauce had really gotten into the meatballs. Next time I make it, I will make the day before, let it soak and reheat for the next night. Served over couscous, it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      We loved this! I made it according to the recipe using ground lamb. My meat mixture was very goopy so I added 2 more slices of bread. I had the onions cooking while I made up the meatballs and then the sauce was ready for them when I was done. They fit exactly in the bottom of my large stainless steel pot. I was surprised that the liquid seemed to double. This was very flavorful with the cumin and lemon standing out the most. We dipped french bread in it and really enjoyed eating it that way. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      A delicious recipe! I had to use more minced meat (about 25 ounces, as it was defrosted already) and therefore doubled the spices. I didn't change much except what duonyte herself changed: I used (in the sauce) 1 generous teaspoon Cape Malay curry instead of turmeric.(I doubt if the turmeric would have added much oomph). And also in the sauce, I did not have preserved lemon, but used a wonderful Indian bottled condiment called Lime Pickle -- used only the skins as described here, but these skins are definitely saturated by the spices already added in this product. The liquid in the pot was more than enough, and because I made it for dinner, I made almost-normal-size meat patties. I also decided that cous-cous was the best side dish, and added sultanas (golden raisins) and a herbed salt. It was delicious, and as side dishes we had peas, a Zaar cucumber salad plus a tomato salad. Duonyte, this was delicious! I also added a good 2 tablespoons of cardamom, and that really gave it something extra. A GREAT recipe, which I will make again. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Meatball Tagine With Herbs and Lemon

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 502.5
     
    Calories from Fat 330
    65%
    Total Fat 36.7 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 16.2 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 152.5 mg
    50%
    Sodium 326.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 26.9 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes