Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Meatball Sub Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Meatball Sub Casserole

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2002

      I doubled the meatball part and used Bertoli roasted garlic and onion spaghetti sauce. It tasted good but the bread on the bottom was mostly soggy. If you can get past the soggy bread then you should like this recipe. Don't think I'd make this again. One thing I did learn from this is that meatballs with green onions instead of regular onions tastes better. No egg required for your meatballs too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      I have made this casserole numerous time and it is wonderful. It is one of my favorite recipes of all time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      i followed the recipe (mostly) and it turned out really good! as for all the other reviews on the soggy bread... it's supposed to be like that i think...
      what i changed was:
      -regular onion instead of green onions (i don't keep green onions on hand)
      -light miracle whip (even though the recipe says not to, mine still turned out fine)
      -i used whole wheat bread and toasted it
      -instead of leaving the bread whole, i cut it into cubes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      3 1/2 stars! I thought this was good but pretty darned rich! A small portion was enough for me. Also, it took me quite a bit longer than 15 minutes to prep this meal as stated which was unfortunate since it was a weeknight. Surprises me since this came from a cookbook called Quick Cooking. :) I would reserve this meal for a night or weekend where I could prep and stick in the fridge so that I just pop it into the oven the following evening. I substituted ground turkey easily. I eliminated the water in this altogether. I always do that with casserole recipes that call for it. I find that the addition of the water makes the food........well, watery and doesn't really serve a purpose. I baked covered in foil so that it didn't dry out. I used French Bread Loaf - Bread Machine as the bread in the recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      I made this for the first time tonight, and it was so good!! The only I changed was that I used 2 lbs of ground beef, and doubled up the bread crumbs. We eat a lot at our house, so I didn't think 1 lb of ground beef would be enough :) It was a HUGE hit at our house, and I will definitely be adding this to my list of frequent dinner recipes!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      My step-daughter picked this out as the weekly meal that her and I cook together and I'm glad that she did! I made the meatballs as instructed but cut them in half when I put them on the casserole so we had more. I followed everything else as written. The spaghetti sauce that I used was a very thick and hearty sauce so it needed the extra water but I would suggest using less (or none at all) if you have a thinner sauce to avoid the bread getting soggy. I used an Italian loaf that I cubed and let sit out overnight and the next day until dinnertime and the bread on the bottom actually got pretty crispy. I also made sure that I completely covered all of the bread with the cream cheese/mayo mixture to keep the sauce from dripping down onto the bread. Everyone really enjoyed this meal and it is now in our "Make Again" file. The only thing that got complaints was that my husband said when he heated it the next day for lunch, the bread had soaked up the spaghetti sauce and gotten soggy and doughy. It was great the night of but I would suggest making only as much as your family is going to eat because the leftovers were less than stellar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      i think this is probably one of the best recipes i have ever made, made it at home, and shared some with (cooked) 2 other people who also loved it. Gave the recipe to a coworker who also made it with dh and 3 children, she doubled the recipe to serve her family, and told me there was none left. This is my only review ever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      This is a very tasty recipe and will make again. I followed the recipe closely but added crushed red pepper. I followed other reviewers advice and toasted the bread first, but it still turned out a little moist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I made this yesterday for a football party - HUGE success! I toasted the bread first, as many had suggested as I was afraid it would get soggy. Did not add the water. I used homemade marinara instead of out of a jar. This dish was WONDERFUL! I know it sounds crazy, but I also made a vegetarian version with homemade pasta sauce with mushrooms in it. This was also delicious. Just leave out the meatballs and you have a great appetizer for your non meat eating friends.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      I have made this a few times now and just realised I hadn't reviewed it yet. I was a bit scared going in to making this as a lot of reviewers had commented that the bread turned soggy. Before assembling it all I toasted the garlic bread I was using and followed a review that said to completely cover the bread with mayo and cream cheese before adding the pasta sauce. The flavour in this is very yummy and as I bake the meatballs on a wire rack over a baking dish a lot of the fat comes out. I will definately continue to make this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2014

      I have made this twice, once following the recipe as directed but the second time I toasted the bread a little bit first and we prefer it that way so the bread isn't quite as soggy. Next time I will also increase the meatballs to use 1 1/2 lbs. of hamburger as we didn't think there were enough meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

      Great dish for our church potluck. Very very tasty! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      Great!! I used frozen premade meatballs and made my own Italian seasoning but otherwise followed to the letter and it was amazing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      I made this exactly as described and my husband and father-in-law both said the only thing good in this were the meatballs. The bread was soggy even though I toasted it beforehand. I will not be making this again. The cream cheese mixture was disgusting too. I guess being a good cook (with recipes passed down from generation to generation), my expectations were a little higher than they probably should have been.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      I thought the sauce and meatballs and cheeseyness were great. Bread, so so. Next time I would just cook up pasta for the bottom layer. I used a tub of ricotta instead of mayo and store bought meatballs that I microwaved for 5 minutes. Didn't add any water to the sauce. Pretty tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

    • on November 19, 2013

      This was just so amazing to eat my wife, son, and I had a great time making it, an had a great time enjoying all the flavors an just sent us for a ride...lol.... pluse went great with garlic bread stixs..... thanks for the recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

    • on September 27, 2012

      We really liked this casserole and like some of the other reviewers, I made a double batch of meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      This is really good. my kids love this, as do I and my husband. I use store bought meatballs, and just microwave them. Makes prep time very quick. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Meatball Sub Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 533.7
     
    Calories from Fat 296
    55%
    Total Fat 32.9 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 98.5 mg
    32%
    Sodium 944.3 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 24.2 g
    48%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes