104 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I doubled the meatball part and used Bertoli roasted garlic and onion spaghetti sauce. It tasted good but the bread on the bottom was mostly soggy. If you can get past the soggy bread then you should like this recipe. Don't think I'd make this again. One thing I did learn from this is that meatballs with green onions instead of regular onions tastes better. No egg required for your meatballs too.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott Keith September 02, 2002

I have made this casserole numerous time and it is wonderful. It is one of my favorite recipes of all time.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sml212 August 02, 2002

My step-daughter picked this out as the weekly meal that her and I cook together and I'm glad that she did! I made the meatballs as instructed but cut them in half when I put them on the casserole so we had more. I followed everything else as written. The spaghetti sauce that I used was a very thick and hearty sauce so it needed the extra water but I would suggest using less (or none at all) if you have a thinner sauce to avoid the bread getting soggy. I used an Italian loaf that I cubed and let sit out overnight and the next day until dinnertime and the bread on the bottom actually got pretty crispy. I also made sure that I completely covered all of the bread with the cream cheese/mayo mixture to keep the sauce from dripping down onto the bread. Everyone really enjoyed this meal and it is now in our "Make Again" file. The only thing that got complaints was that my husband said when he heated it the next day for lunch, the bread had soaked up the spaghetti sauce and gotten soggy and doughy. It was great the night of but I would suggest making only as much as your family is going to eat because the leftovers were less than stellar.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness January 11, 2012

i followed the recipe (mostly) and it turned out really good! as for all the other reviews on the soggy bread... it's supposed to be like that i think...
what i changed was:
-regular onion instead of green onions (i don't keep green onions on hand)
-light miracle whip (even though the recipe says not to, mine still turned out fine)
-i used whole wheat bread and toasted it
-instead of leaving the bread whole, i cut it into cubes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jnmoonprincess March 17, 2011

3 1/2 stars! I thought this was good but pretty darned rich! A small portion was enough for me. Also, it took me quite a bit longer than 15 minutes to prep this meal as stated which was unfortunate since it was a weeknight. Surprises me since this came from a cookbook called Quick Cooking. :) I would reserve this meal for a night or weekend where I could prep and stick in the fridge so that I just pop it into the oven the following evening. I substituted ground turkey easily. I eliminated the water in this altogether. I always do that with casserole recipes that call for it. I find that the addition of the water makes the food........well, watery and doesn't really serve a purpose. I baked covered in foil so that it didn't dry out. I used French Bread Loaf - Bread Machine as the bread in the recipe. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus June 17, 2010

I made this for the first time tonight, and it was so good!! The only I changed was that I used 2 lbs of ground beef, and doubled up the bread crumbs. We eat a lot at our house, so I didn't think 1 lb of ground beef would be enough :) It was a HUGE hit at our house, and I will definitely be adding this to my list of frequent dinner recipes!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie H. March 10, 2014

i think this is probably one of the best recipes i have ever made, made it at home, and shared some with (cooked) 2 other people who also loved it. Gave the recipe to a coworker who also made it with dh and 3 children, she doubled the recipe to serve her family, and told me there was none left. This is my only review ever.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fox667_11904623 March 10, 2011

This is a very tasty recipe and will make again. I followed the recipe closely but added crushed red pepper. I followed other reviewers advice and toasted the bread first, but it still turned out a little moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KevCo May 17, 2010

I made this yesterday for a football party - HUGE success! I toasted the bread first, as many had suggested as I was afraid it would get soggy. Did not add the water. I used homemade marinara instead of out of a jar. This dish was WONDERFUL! I know it sounds crazy, but I also made a vegetarian version with homemade pasta sauce with mushrooms in it. This was also delicious. Just leave out the meatballs and you have a great appetizer for your non meat eating friends.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pclairday November 10, 2008

I have made this a few times now and just realised I hadn't reviewed it yet. I was a bit scared going in to making this as a lot of reviewers had commented that the bread turned soggy. Before assembling it all I toasted the garlic bread I was using and followed a review that said to completely cover the bread with mayo and cream cheese before adding the pasta sauce. The flavour in this is very yummy and as I bake the meatballs on a wire rack over a baking dish a lot of the fat comes out. I will definately continue to make this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacey Q July 25, 2008
Meatball Sub Casserole