11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good. I had to change some ingredients and substitute for what we had on hand but turned out great - now if I try it with the right ingredients would probably be even better:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boat_girl July 26, 2012

This was very good with some alterations. First, I seasoned the ground beef with onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and paprika before forming meatballs and browning them. Second, I served this over egg noodles. Next time I will add some crushed red pepper to the sauce mixture. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adria82 November 21, 2010

Yum! wonderful flavor, thick and creamy sauce. I used tofuti sour cream and ground bison since that was what I had around :-). I also used baby portabello mushrooms because they're supposed to be more flavorful than buttons. Definitely will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theodwyn October 06, 2009

Yummy tasting meatballs, and we really loved the sauce! I served the meatballs and sauce over whole wheat noodles. I used Fat Free sour cream, and Chardonnay for the wine. Very very good! Thanks for sharing this with us BlueMoon! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game. Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen October 09, 2008

We enjoyed this for dinner last night the only things that I did differently was to omit the onion due to allergy issues and baked the meatballs in the oven in a alfoil lined tray sprayed with cooking oil, poured the pan juices into the frypan and proceeded as per recipe. Thank you bluemoon downunder, made for ZAAR STARS TAG GAME.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 19, 2008

Wonderful easy stroganoff. Great flavor, i cut it in half and used ground bison. Just terrific.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba August 21, 2008

Great dish. It was easy to do especially when you get everything ready and chopped before you start cooking. I found that the sour cream separated when added. I think letting the dish cool a bit before adding the sour cream might help that. It's great the next day as well! I left out the white wine (didn't have any at the time) and it still tasted great. I just increased the amount of beef stock to make up for lack of wine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Superallu September 05, 2007

Wonderful, just wonderful. This is a great way to use minced beef (I used extra lean beef) I made as directed except I doubled the sauce ingredients and upped the mushrooms (sliced mine) to 375gm. This time I served over wide egg noodles, next time I'll serve over creamy mashed spuds and veg for something a bit diff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie September 05, 2006

Absolutely yummy - bowl lickin' good! I used cornflour to cover the meatballs so they turned out slightly crunchy. Every flavour came through in this. Like Jan I added 2 chopped up dill pickles which complimented the dish fabulously and since Dave bought too many mushrooms I doubled the sauce (and I'd do that again). Cheap to make and very filling. Definitely one for my favourites cookbook and will be made often. Thank you for posting Bluemoon downunder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies September 04, 2006
Meatball Stroganoff