10 Reviews

This is a very good recipe plus very easy to make and in 30 minutes soups on. I made it almost as directed with exception of not having a 15 oz can of tomato sauce so put small one in and also a can of diced tomatoes. I also added a bit of garlic (have to as LOVE garlic LOL). And was out of thyme so used some italian herbs. It was pronouced a keeper by all and the recipe sent home with both daughters. Thanks so much for posting this tasty soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Modmom50 May 03, 2009

Made exactly a directed, we all loved it, served it with some cornbread, so yummy on a cold winter night, Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crimper January 17, 2009

Simple and yummy soup! I made this as directed by using beef broth and added some sliced baby carrots and a can of diced tomatoes. Thanks Lainey for another keeper. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme November 14, 2008

We really enjoyed this fast and easy soup...I used beef broth instead of water, and added some frozen mixed vegetables....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc April 01, 2008

I'm so ashamed,I've had this recipe printed out since 1/27/07 and finally made it on 12/10/07.But "WOW" it was so good, now I wish it was made sooner.I did however have to take a couple of liberties with the recipe,and here they are.I had all the ingredients for the meatballs,but as for the soup base this is what was done.I used 2 8 ounce cans of tomato sauce that was already seasoned with the herbs that were listed in the recipe,used pinto beans instead of the kidney,since that's what I had on hand.I also used 4 beef bouillon cubes with 3 cups of water and it worked great. And just as a personal preferance I left out the celery.This was a very good tasting and tummy filling soup.This will be made again.Thank you for posting,and "Keep Smiling:)"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � December 14, 2007

We really enjoyed this but I wish I would have read the reviews first. I would have added beef broth instead of water. I did use frozen meatballs. I thought it tasted even better warmed up the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol October 22, 2007

I really loved this!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 April 22, 2007

I used everyone's suggestions--I started with frozen meatballs, used beef broth instead of water and used some extra beef broth and tomato sauce. I also doubled the macaroni and added some frozen green beans and corn. We all really enjoyed this. A definite keeper! Only next time I'll add even more macaroni per the kids' request.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy March 09, 2007

Very nice! I usually make minestrone without any meat and this was delicious. Like Nick's Mom, I used a bit more tomato sauce and beef stock instead of water. Thanks for sharing a good soup for a chilly night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. January 11, 2007

I cheated and used frozen meatballs. I used beef broth vs water and added 3 3/4 cups of beef broth and a both a 15 ounce can and an 8 ounce can of tomato sauce, as I wanted more juice. This was super simple and tastes wonderful. Maybe in the future I will add some cannellini beans as well. Thanks for sharing an easy, yummy recipe. Nick's Mom

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. January 01, 2007
Meatball Minestrone