9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent. I had to make a few subsitutions. Used frozen Italian meatballs in place of making my own. Couldn't find Italian bread in our rural area, so substituted French bread. Marinara sauce now comes in 24 oz. jars, so we used that. Also didn't use 2 lbs. of meat ball. I used 1 lb. or less, and cut the meatballs in half. HOWEVER --- it tasted wonderful. I took it to a church potluck, and they scraped the dish. We're adding it to our "fix often" file.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keejan May 17, 2010

This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sambini December 28, 2008

This was really yummy. I cheated and used frozen meatballs and leftover bulkie rolls. After reading other reviews, I cut out the water and used 2 T red wine instead. I also cut the recipe in half and used a 8x8 pan. Delicious and easy week night meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel February 27, 2008

Okay recipe...will add less water next time as the bread was really soggy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nochefhere November 19, 2007

Good recipe...will make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KLC March 04, 2007

We liked this but thought that the white sauce was too tangy. Maybe next time I'll half the white sauce. Will make again though. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydesigirl May 24, 2005

This is a superb casserole! It was a HUGE hit at our house. I had no mozzerella, so I used cheddar instead...still great but I think Mozza would have been even better. DH went crazy...he had 3 huge helpings. No left-overs here! I used Kitten's Kittencal's Italian Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meatballs Parmesan Meatballs....fantastic!Thanks Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ May 20, 2005

Made this tonite for my daughter's birthday party. Big hit. Only change I made was added less water. Probably only a half a cup. Very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CYNDAM September 14, 2003
Meatball Casserole